We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Short Break”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Short Break”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for a short break (2 days) in a family room. The room was clean,spacious and facilities good. Evening meal was excellent value for money. The breakfast was also good. The only minor gripes were many of the catering folk spoke little English and front of house staff were helpful but not well informed. The Spa facilities were brilliant!!
Would definitely stay there again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Jane

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us and I was very pleased you enjoyed the Spa facilities and would return to the hotel. I will of course investigate the staffing issues you mentioned.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    433
    111
    35
    19
See reviews for
131
687
24
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I had booked a Valentines deal via the website for the taster menu, champagne and stay. Unfortunately we broke down on the way, and because of the awful weather there was a huge wait on the breakdown recovery. What was worse was the fact the problem couldn't be resolved and we needed to be towed to a garage and a different car arranged. We'd phoned ahead just to confirm we were coming but of our troubles. Unfortunately by the time we'd got there the restraint had stopped serving - but to our delight they honoured our deal and because we'd missed the 6 course taster menu, let us have food in the bistro instead - along with the champagne! But in a wonderfully nice touch, the diners who we sat next to turned around and introduced themselves. It was Justin, the owner/manager! He not only knew who we were but offered his sympathies and made us feel so welcome - it was a truly fantastic touch.

We've stayed a number of times before and will continue to keep coming! A wonderful hotel, top class food and fantastic staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Jonni,

How very kind of you to add such nice comments on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. I am delighted we were able to look after you so well and I hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Metropole again soon.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We visited this hotel for two nights and was slightly disappointed as this has been graded a four star hotel. The overall impression was the hotel was very tired looking and needed a bit of a make over. It was like stepping back in time. However we were greeted by friendly staff. We ate in the bistro twice. The food was very good and the service was excellent. The room was ok but again very tired. I was woken up both mornings by the emptying of the bottles into the bin. I would expect this to be done later in the day so at least everyone is awake not at 8am!.

Room Tip: Dont have a room at the back of the hotel near the bins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Nicki,

I am pleased that you found the staff friendly and dinner in the Brasserie excellent. It is difficult to comment with some of your reflections on the state of the hotel as it is very personal to me as the owner. We are continually investing in the hotel and I think that given the nature of our location and building we do pretty well to keep the hotel in such good order. I agree with your comments about the bottle emptying and will speak to Jeff the cellar man.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chorley
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We spent two nights here at the end of our holiday to break up the journey,and was not disappointed! The hotel is superb,a little quirky,but it is an old building,well renovated.The room is of very good quality,the staff helpful,but not intrusive and the food excellent.We arrived on the same day as a wedding reception was being held,and were concerned it would be noisy,but we didn't hear any noise in our room at all.Would definitely stay again and would budget for the spa too!

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter,but be advised if you are a little disabled,to ask for help from the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Anne,

Thank you for your very kind feedback following your recent stay with us. I hope that on your next visit you will find the opportunity to make use of our wonderful Spa facilities.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
341 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last Saturday night with a group of fellow car enthusiast , although we booked separately. As on previous stays, the hotel is very comfortable. However I do agree with a previous review regarding air con. Our room was also on front of hotel- lovely view over park but with the window open there was a surprising amount of noise even during the night when I thought all would be quiet. Meal in brasserie very enjoyable. Bar area lots of atmosphere. Good breakfast and the porridge was delicious. We will be staying here agian

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Brickie

I am very pleased that you have returned again and enjoyed your stay with us. I don't believe we have actually meet so please do introduce your self on your next visit.

Look forward to meeting with you,

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Gorgeous building inside compared to outside. Staff helpful. Beautiful and clean bedroom. Swimming pool complex spotlessly clean. Not much in the town but a good base for exploring or just chilling in the pool etc. wedding party on the first night but caused no problems as we were the other end of the hotel. Food in the restaurant was amazing! will definitely return! And will recommend!

Room Tip: Luxury room 138 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amycerys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Amycerys,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback following your recent stay with us at The Metropole. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We booked this hotel as part of a two night golf stay and play package(not booked with the hotel direct). Room good, food good, service excellent, staff very helpful, dining room staff particularly good.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danflyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Danflyers

I hope that you also enjoyed your golf when you were staying with us. The weather this summer has certainly encouraged plenty of golfing visitors although I should imagine the greens must be pretty hard. I shall try and get out and have a round in Llandrindod myself soon.

I am very lucky to have fantastic friendly staff, thank you for your kind comments about them.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
254 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
787 reviews
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Montpellier Hotel
The Montpellier Hotel
#27 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing