We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a pity, a problem that could have been resolved”

Spencer s Bar & Brasserie
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
wales
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Such a pity, a problem that could have been resolved”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Having visited on many occasions privately and for business lunches, with groups varying from three to eight, I can`t criticise in general as previously we have found it good.I agree with some other comments that a little expensive, but fortunately cost was not a great consideration. It was therefore unfortunate that after having a bad experience with both service and presentation we made a complaint to management.The reply from the owner of hotel, basically said sometimes there are problems but the majority of customers are happy. This could and should have been handled better and we would still be customers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank welshgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    25
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Yes it is more expensive than other places in town, but the food is excellent, I visit on average monthly and enjoy myself every time. We love sitting in the "goldfish bowl" at the front and watching the world go by. It is very clean and tidy and the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keigcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing food considering it's the best hotel in town”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We've lunched here a couple of times recently, both times on a Saturday. The menu seems interesting and varied with lots of talk about locally sourced ingredients but sadly although the food is OK it isn't anything special. It's also a bit pricey considering the quality of the food.

The brasserie itself is a nice place to eat and has a pleasant airy modern atmosphere with comfortable sitting areas but the service was very slow. It appeared to be understaffed for the number of people eating there on a busy Saturday lunchtime.

Having tried it twice and come away feeling slightly disappointed we probably won't go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SLH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandrindod Wells, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place in town to treat yourself!”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We always meet here for a girl's lunch and catch-up, good food, nice people and friendly staff. Little bit pricey but well worth it - you get what you pay for. Spa is heavenly too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good service and excellent value for money”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We chose this on the recommendation of the B&B we were staying at. There is easy parking at the back of the hotel. The Bar and Brasserie have been nicely decorated and there is a pleasant atmosphere. The bar staff are friendly and helpful and the bar prices are good for a hotel. The food menu can be found online http://www.metropole.co.uk/dining/spencers-bar-brasserie/
The Welsh lamb was extremely good as was the grilled cod (special that day) and the service was attentive and timely. The biggest surprise was how cheap the bill was. It was the price of a pub meal for 2 with drinks yet much better quality.
I would definitely drop in and eat here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merlin_de_Manaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spencer s Bar & Brasserie also viewed

 
Llandrindod Wells, Powys
 

Been to Spencer s Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing