We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money”
Review of The Hampton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hampton Hotel
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed on a business trip last. Rooms immaculately clean and generous size and very comfortable bed. Staff very friendly. Breakfast was basic but nice.

Only negative thing is that the bedroom doors were all very heavy/loud and so my sleep was disturbed by people leaving and entering their rooms.

I would recommend to anyone looking for a budget hotel, its clean and comfortable but definitely not for anyone wanting a bit of luxury- absolutely great for a business trip but would not choose it for a holiday! Also, although it does not affect me, I would imagine it is not a great place in terms of access for the disabled - lots of narrow stairs and no lift.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank mynamebeginswithN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had an overnight stay in the Hampton Hotel before going to the Builth Wells Antique Fair and found it extremely convenient. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. the bedroom was a little small but perfectly adequate for our one night stay. There were one or two things which could have been improved. The plug for the kettle didn't reach the socket and the socket was also too far away from the mirror to be able to use the hairdryer. However, the beds were comfortable and the room, beds and bathroom were extremely clean. It would have been nice to have had more than two channels on the tv but not really a problem. The buffet breakfast in the morning was excellent with plenty of choice. We would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a group for a wedding nearby. The rooms were all clean but basic. It was very conveniently placed for us. The shower rooms were a little small. The staff were all friendly and approachable. And the breakfast was again basic but good. There was no time constraint on getting back at night as there is a key code door for latecomers. This was really handy. Overall very good for the price.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Rosiebums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Room and bed were comfortable enough, booked for two nights but stayed only one due to noise from other guests and their barking dog, the noise of someone vomiting at outside the window and being woken at 1am by a fire alarm. The windows rattled whenever a vehicle passed, there was no ventilation in the ensuite and the room did not lock from the inside a fact we discovered too late to report, a chair in front of the door overnight acted as our security. We cannot comment on the breakfast as we chose to leave. This may have been a one off and the lady on breakfast duty who checked us out was very apologetic, however we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here for 2 nts. I booked it on laterooms asked for a single. But it was nice when I arrived too have been told I was having a double rm which was really nice. The rm was lovely nice size very clean and the shower rm. 2 nts for £60. Really nice staff. I Will be staying again seen as my daughters live near the village

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank dawnriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

If you are looking for a budget stay then the Hampton will meet your needs. We booked in here recently when visiting the Royal Welsh Show. On the positive side the rooms are spotlessly clean and the shower works well. On arrival we discovered that the door to the room didn't lock from inside, when we mentioned this we were immediately moved to another room. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was good. On the negative side the public rooms are very 'barn-like' and stark, some decor on the walls would have helped. There is no residents-only area so the only confortable seats were in the bar, a couple of comfortable chairs to relax in in the room would have been good. If you are looking for a budget stay then this fits the bill but it isn't a hotel; we arrived on a sunday, the attached cafe (which serves breakfast) was closed and there is no food service in the pub itself.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Staff were nice. Hotel is an old building right in the centre of town. Probably best described as a local pub with bedrooms. Small car park but on road parking available. All central town hotels situated on the main roads have traffic noise. I'm always surprised that Llandod has so much through traffic and this hotel has single glazed sash windows which let in all the noise and rattle when a large vehicle passes.
Rooms have been upgraded to en-suite, mine had a small shower, wc, sink area. Description states hairdryer, iron but that maybe something you have to ask for at reception. Bed was a double and probably the hardest mattress I've experienced for a long time. This hotel meets the basic needs and I'm sure that given time the owners are committed to improving the facilities.
Breakfast is served in the Hotel's café and is freshly cooked to order and really good quality.
Overall not too bad.

Room Tip: Try one at the back as on the front you'll have loads of traffic passing, stopping and starting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whatahol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.2 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
#14 of 31 in Llandrindod Wells
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greylands Guest House
Greylands Guest House
#3 of 31 in Llandrindod Wells
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hampton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hampton Hotel

Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5HF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range: £49 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hampton Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Hotel is a no frills budget hotel, where a warm welcome will always await you. At The Hampton Hotel, we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of all our rooms and in the morning you can enjoy one of our substantial breakfasts to set you up for the day ahead.All rooms within the The Hampton Hotel have en-suite bathrooms, TV, tea and coffee facilities and iron, Ironing board and hairdryer upon request. Well behaved dogs are also welcome at The Hampton Hotel by prior arrangement (additional charges may also apply). The Hampton Hotel makes an ideal base for business or pleasure. The Hampton Hotel is centrally located within the historic town of Llandrindod Wells with the hotel being within easy walking/driving distance of many local attractions e.g. Llandrindod Wells Golf Club, Bowling Club, Pump Room and Rock Park, The Royal Welsh Showground in Builth Wells and The Brecon Beacons National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Hampton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hampton Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing