We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Sugar and Spice

Sugar and Spice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Daytime cafe / coffee house and evening weekend Mediterranean bistro, relaxed atmosphere with excellent barista coffee served all day. Weekly changing menu themed on Mediterranean countries. Bistro currently open Friday and Saturday nights, extended opening from april. Booking highly recommended, well in advance. Sunday lunches - delivered locally between 12.30 And 3pm opening hours MOnday - Thursday 9am - 5pm, Friday 9am - midnight, Saturday 10am - Midnight. We offer outside catering with varied menus of fresh homemade hot and cold options. Venue available for private parties.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Small restaurant for lunch mainly. Open for some nights with Medetarinian couzine. Difficult to find but you must try.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank greglary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    23
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely laid back dinner”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I have been told about this place for some time, pleasant cafe by day and cool bistro by night, so this weekend we decided to book in for dinner and we were no disappointed!

The food is simple but has an authentic home cooked. It was a Greek night when we went and there was plenty of choice including a few non-Greek options such as steak, venison and pasta.

We opted for a meze which came as two boards loaded with breads, dips, stuffed vine leaves and little sausages. All lovely. For mains I had a lovely chicken souvlaki served with Greek salad, crispy little fried potatoes and more dip, gorgeous. My partner had a tangy lamb dish served with sweet potato mash and okra, again this was lovely.

This place is unlicensed so you bring your own wine.

The service is exceptional, friendly and laid back, all the food is explained and options are offered and this just adds to a very pleasant if low key atmosphere. I will definitely be coming back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friday night dinner”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I visited on an early Friday evening and what can I say, it's the friendliest, tastiest restaurant in Wales by far!!!!

I liked the casual style of the restaurant and relaxing background music, it really made it seem a friendly homely place to eat. We ordered a sweet chilli burger and the 'hot one' burger. The food arrived in good time and both with salad, coleslaw, pasta and sautéed potatoes and tasted awesome!!!
Would definitely recommend and eat here again.

Helpful?
5 Thank Im_howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspatria, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great value, great food, deserves to do well :o)”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I came to this friendly little restaurant for lunch on the recommendation of a family member who lives in the area. The place obviously has a loyal local clientele and it's easy to see why. Pleasant atmosphere, no-nonsense menu that offers plenty of choice without any sense that the kitchen might be overstretched, quick and cheerful service, very good food presented in generous quantities, decent coffee, and a range of teas, coffees, shakes and soft drinks.

If we lived in Llandrindod Wells, we'd be regular customers. We'll certainly come back next time we visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Technosaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Special Place”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Recently visited Sugar & Spice for a solitary lunch which is becoming a bit of a habit. The food choice is excellent with different specials every day. The food is served quickly and tastes and looks fabulous.

This is a true gem in Llandrindod Wells and Paul, Jess and family should be very proud!!!

Back next week.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaceyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugar and Spice also viewed

Llandrindod Wells, Powys
Llandrindod Wells, Powys
 
Llandrindod Wells, Powys
Llandrindod Wells, Powys
 
Llandrindod Wells, Powys
 

Been to Sugar and Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing