We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Straw Cottage

The Straw Cottage from the meadow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Straw Cottage from the meadow
Light and airy sitting room The Living area with wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
The Straw Cottage from the meadow
Light and airy sitting room
The Living area with wood burning stove
Double bedroom
Dining area with candelabra
The view from the veranda
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Spend a lazy afternoon in the hammock
Kitchen with Welsh dresser and gas cooker
Paddling in the stream
Walking the dogs at the back of the cottage
The path to the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llandrindod Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrsHomer
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

My husband, our baby daughter, dog and I have just returned from two nights here. The cottage itself is charmingly furnished and very comfortable whilst allowing you to switch off from the world, quite literally, no electricity and no phone signal - bliss.
The candlelit evenings, the roaring fire and the abundance of natural beauty are sure to calm your busy mind as it did for us. We haven't fallen asleep so quickly in years.
Can't wait to go back in the summer as I can only imagine how incredible the views will be then.
Thank you to Margot and Anthony, most welcoming and friendly hosts, we felt right at home.
A gem in the heart of Wales!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2018
Hi Caroline. Thank you so much for your great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that it was cosy enough for baby Ava. Do hope to see you in the summer, best wishes Margot
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newt13
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Perfect Retreat in a Perfect Location”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

No electricity I hear you say,

Well who needs it when you have all the facilities available to you at this beautiful cottage, a lovely Wood Burner to heat up the cottage a gas oven to do some cooking and a gas shower to wash.

A refreshing change from TV's, Mobile Phones, Laptops etc. just a radio and some quality family time playing board games, cards and taking advantage of the great outdoors, the kids (5 & 9) loved playing in the fields, climbing trees, making dens and even doing a spot of fishing, the only time I seen them was when they were hungry.

The candles of an evening are the only lighting available but this adds to the feel and makes it that bit more special.

A big thank you to Margot & Anthony who were always available to deal with any issues, nothing was to much for them.

We enjoyed it that much were already planning on returning in the summer and seeing how different it is, hopefully this time there wont be a storm, not that this dampened the stay in anyway.

Great family memories to keep. Thank You

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
Thanks Rob for your kind review, so glad you enjoyed your stay. It would be lovely to see you all again in better weather and when Storm Doris is just a far memory! Just to mention we do have gas lanterns, wind up torches and a solar light in addition to the candles - but the candles are so atmostpheric!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jorgievic...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage and location”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at the straw cottage for 4 nights in July and it was beautiful, the owners were lovely and very accommodating and the location was wonderful, would highly recommend. The only down side was no electricity although lighting wasn't a problem as the candles gave ample light during the evenings. Would certainly stay again :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Hi Jorgie. Thank you so much for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It's a glamping type cottage, hence no electricity! So pleased that the candles lit up your evenings though! Hope to see you again. Best wishes Margot
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajd2007
Dunstable
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect escape”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We abandoned our plans to go camping since our youngest was recovering from a chest cold and booked The Straw Cottage instead after a lucky internet search. It offered a perfect solution somewhere in-between glamping and a traditional holiday cottage stay. The cottage was extremely comfortable with big squishy sofas, very comfortable beds, hot shower and gas cooker, but escapes modern life with no electricity, no internet, and a wood burner stove for heat (with a generous stock of kindling and firewood to cover our stay). The cottage is in a secluded farmland setting with a stream flowing nearby and a stunning view to nearby hills.

We stayed with our two boys of 4 and 7 and it was lovely to see how content they were there. With natures playground on the doorstep, they were happy just playing in the stream, exploring the grounds or playing on the swing. It is clear the owners enjoy having children to stay and even provide a nature themed treasure hunt with a prize at the end. In the evenings we played board games (lots of games provided) by candle and lamp light with the wood burner adding warmth and atmosphere.

We were greeted by Margot and shown to the cottage and provided with all the information we needed for our stay. We were only there for a couple of days and had no problems, but we felt that we could speak to Margot anytime if we'd had any questions. The cottage was clean and well equipped with a good information pack of local walks and attractions.

There is plenty to do within easy reach of the cottage, and whether you travel by foot or by car you are treated to some stunning scenery. Elan Valley reservoirs and dams are a must see. We were lucky enough with the weather that we could spend our time outdoors walking in the local area (Llandrindod Wells is within easy walking distance) or visiting waterfalls, but there seemed to be plenty in the local area in case of bad weather. However on a warm day I could imagine not wanting to stray far from the cottage and to wile the day away by the stream.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The escape from modern life
Liked least: Only a net curtain in the loo - could benefit from a blind
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad the boys enjoyed themselves - it's always great to hear that children enjoy the treasure hunt, swing and stream - that's what we always hoped for when we built the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigJa7
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Totally refreshing....”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We were greeted by our host who showed us to the Straw Cottage. Margot was delightful and very welcoming with great local knowledge. The short walk between the cottage and parking area was quite steepbut manageable. We settled in quickly and started relaxing immediately. No electricity, tv, Internet, mobile signal, but plenty of logs for the wood burner, which Margot had already lit for us, and loads of candles, gas lights and torches. There was lots to do within a one hour drive, but we spent loads of time just relaxing in the cottage and on the decking. Fantastic location to get away from it all, would love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy K
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“This gorgeous, cosy little hideaway surpassed our expectations and was the perfect place to see in the New Year.”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We've just got back from spending four days over new year walking in the frosty sunshine, getting toasted by the fire, filling the cottage with the delicious smells of local produce, cycling through the softest of landscapes and reading by candle light. There was nowhere I'd have rather been. No Internet, no phone, no electricity, just a lot of peace.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed at the straw cottage with my boyfriend and our two friends. as soon as we got there we fell in love. Margot was so lovely and helpful, thank you. . . you are literally in the middle of your own paradise, its so peaceful and is actually really nice not being with electricity. It was very clean, shower was powerful and really hot and the beds were super comfy, there were also lots of candles and a lovely log fire.what more could you want? would recommend and will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how cosy it was at night
Liked least: quite cold when we would wake up
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing