We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great but not horrendous”
Review of Hotel Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Commodore
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

A budget hotel that is a lot cheaper than the competition locally. Room was nice and clean and beds comfy and fresh.
It's had a makeover and for the price was ok.
Only real criticism was the lack of hot water in the morning that meant a shower was not an option.
The staff were friendly and polite.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank penrhynbayred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Commodore
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed as part of a larger group and found the hotel to be well organised considering the group size (circa 75). The twin room was small but functional and the beds were comfortable.

The food was good, the staff were very helpful and always eager to please. Parking was easy and plenty of it.

Highly recommended, a good hotel at excellent prices and very well located.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Commodore was bought by the current owners about a year ago and during this time it has seen a vast improvement over the tired, run down building it once was. Refurbishment is ongoing and still has some way to go but the staff, food and overall feeling of comfort more than made up for it. The staff did a marvellous job catering for around 70 of us over a long weekend and we left with a booking to return again in the spring of next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on a high floor on the South or West side of the main building or the rear of the annex are qu...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed over a weekend as part of a larger group. The refurbishment programme seems to be making a real difference and our room (with two double beds) was clean and functional with a bit of 'character'.

Staff were very attentive, although very busy, and took care to ensure that we were happy and getting the service we needed - waiters, bar staff and reception staff all seemed to want us to have a good time and enjoy the hotel.

Overall a great stay, and a the price very good value.... We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Tell the hotel your requirements and they'll try to accommodate it
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Techwreckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The staff and owners made our group welcome and really looked after us as we used this for our bi-annual tour of Wales. Given that it's a work in progress with the new owners having only taken over 12 months ago, the hotel is well on its way to being fully restored. I felt relaxed, loved the food, could park my bike out of sight behind the hotel and joined in with what has become a great weekend for exploring the Welsh roads and hospitality. Despite planning an additional day's tour to Snowdonia, stopping over nearby for accommodation, I returned to the Commodore again to enjoy a further night's stay. We will return to The Commodore many times for a cost effective weekend away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A big group of us stayed here recently and the Hotel was ideal.
The staff are really friendly and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
Hearty breakfast and excellent evening meals. They even got in a special beer for us upon request!
Thoroughly recommended and I am sure we will be back before too long.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apollo133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

It's difficult to know what to expect from a hotel that is over 100 years old and needs a bit of TLC (and lots of money) to bring it up to modern standards. For the price you pay and if you don't mind decor that's a bit tired, then this is a great place to stay in a wonderful part of the country. Food is good, they serve nice beer and they have the capability to cater for large groups. We were a group of 70 motorcyclists staying for 2 nights and the hotel staff did a fine job. Yes there are better hotels in the town but this one is OK if your on a budget

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigeltaylor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
266 reviews
6.7 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
#15 of 31 in Llandrindod Wells
82 reviews
1.5 mi away
Three Wells Hotel
Three Wells Hotel
#2 of 4 in Howey
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commodore

Address: Spa Road, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5ER, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range: £61 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Commodore 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Llandrindod Wells
Hotel Commodore Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing