We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend away”
Review of Hotel Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Commodore
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great weekend away”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Shared a lovely weekend with family at the hotel commodre again, The staff are friendly and the rooms are spacious clean and well equipped . We all enjoyed a lovely evening with an enjoyable meal followed by a disco which was fun..I look forward to staying at the hotel again and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting llandrindod wells..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    69
    35
    25
    40
See reviews for
33
58
3
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Mangeress was not only openly rude to her staff but her rude unhelpful manner extended to all guests as well. Totally uninterested in problems in the rooms. Totally unhelpful in every single aspect. This lady is totally unsuited to a position which involves the general public as she is lacking social skills.
Hotel is run down, cold and the service staff seem to be in habit of tipping food over people. A gentleman sat behind me had gravy tipped over his dress shirt, another lady had gravy tipped over her jacket, mangeresses response was to rub it in with a dirty tea towel. My son had gravy tipped over his chair, dirty tea towel to the rescue again!
Meat was served and vegetable served a good ten minutes later! Dirty glasses on the tables.
Beware of this hotel and certainly beware of the mangeresses sharpe tongue.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mac8490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandrindod Wells hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The staff were unhelpful, manageress positively rude can't believe she wants customers she does nothing to encourage them.
Ordered just one portion of chips at lunch time to eat in our room. Room service price £2.00, bar price £2.95p. Told room service was off so had to pay the extra to take them to the room ourselves. Had a 1hr 20mins wait for the chips!!!!
Our was a well attended function 90% of which were sorry they had booked to stay the night.
Breakfast dreadful. Lift has a definite problem with strong smell of gas. Grotty rooms no heat and no hot water. An extra £15 per night if you have your dog to stay in the room!!! Cheaper to use a boarding kennel and they get fed as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 86Ciaran22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We were offered this hotel as the one we wanted only had us so suggested this one, but we were the only ones there as well. The first room was awful, tiny and drawer front missing, scruffy, so we moved to a better room but it was cold.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea_Murdock, Owner at Hotel Commodore, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your comments however I am a little disappointing that you did not speak to us directly before posting this review as your overall score is not reflective of your scores in every category? I would like to point out that we can not keep all radiators on full in every room when they are empty therefore we turn them on high prior to the guests arrival and on this occasion as you moved room the radiator did take a few minutes to get hot as we had not expected any arrivals for this room on that night. I would also like to point out that there were twelve other guests staying that night in twelve different room and not one of them complained about the heating as it was working fine. I am terribly sorry that we did not meet your expectations and if we had been made aware of your concerns we would have gladly offered additional heating and quilts to you and ensured your stay with us had been more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This would have been a grand hotel in its day. Now it just seems somewhat out-dated and tired looking. Room was a fair size, had a nice view but a rather musty smell. Water in the bath ran very slowly and wasn’t very hot. The hotel lacked life – 2 diners when we went for dinner and rather quiet at breakfast. Room had small TV, tea/coffee, phone but no hairdryer. On the plus side: staff were friendly and helpful. As there was no refrigerator in the rooms, they stored some food for us that we had carried. The lift is tiny (but at least there is a lift!). Good value for a one night stay, and much cheaper than other hotels nearby. There is ample private parking available under security lighting. Got the impression that changes are slowly underway, hopefully it will be restored to its full glory.

Room Tip: There is a nightclub/pub next to the hotel, so there can be a bit of noise late at night if your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussy_traveller_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I have just had my wedding party in the hotel commodore and all I can say its wow food was amazing venue was decorated to an extremely hi standard and looked stunning staff are so helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for us . Our overnight accommodation was lovely with an amazing bed overal our experience was put of this world and would definitely recommoend the hotel to everyone thanks u guys xxxx

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leannbrown2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhayader, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have just celebrated my Wedding at the Hotel Commodore on the 26th of October 2013. I was rendered speechless by the whole weekend! The Hotel gave me my fairy tale wedding and I was the Princess. I couldn't have had a more fabulous time and the staff could not have done anymore for me! My Guests all extremely enjoyed themselves and I did not want the weekend to end!!!! The decoration was beautiful and amazing and my cake........ well it was out of this world! Candy bar was a huge success with the kids and the adults too and everything I had and enjoyed was provided by the hotel! The went to extreme lengths to make me very happy! I would 100% recommend them as a Wedding venue as every girl deserves a fairy tale wedding and this is definitely what you receive with the Hotel Commodore! Thank you sooo much guys and I think its time to get on an arrange my anniversary party! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
263 reviews
6.7 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
904 reviews
1.5 mi away
Three Wells Hotel
Three Wells Hotel
#2 of 5 in Howey
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Montpellier Hotel
The Montpellier Hotel
#27 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commodore

Property: Hotel Commodore
Address: Spa Road, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5ER, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Commodore 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Llandrindod Wells
Hotel Commodore Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing