We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy.”
Review of Hotel Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Commodore
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed for a long weekend with a party of friends of which I thought was an accomodating hotel with nice local pubs in the surrounding area. The room was nice and the lounge area very cosy to sit and natter with friends and other people staying at the hotel. Attached to it is a nice little pub with a friendly staff and nice selection of drinks. Breakfast was nice too as im not a big eater in mornings i found myself eating eveery day. Friendly service and a weekend full of laughs would definitely go again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

The room size was a comfortable fit for my family, myself and my partner found our bed to be super comfy and our son loved having a bed of his own in the same room as his daddy's.
the staff were delightfully friendly and very accepting of our situation and needs.
The food was fantastic, and the cleanliness of the whole hotel was to a very high standard.
The location is lovely with a small pub attached to the side of the hotel where the staff and locals were so friendly and made us feel like part of a big family, the village was beautiful and perfect for a romantic evening stroll. We will be visiting again, thanx Commodore we love you xxx

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L_Marz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed here with my girlfriend for a quiet weekend away, and I have to say it was absolutely wonderful. The hotel had brilliant service and we were catered for from start to finish, all of the staff were very welcoming and professional, especially the bar manager! Our food that we had during our stay there was delightful, the menu was reasonably priced and again, service was great. We stayed in the bridal suite and it was beautifully decorated, very private and very tidy.

It was everything we could have asked for, and all for a good price. I recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is a lovely hotel in Central Wales away from it all! We were there on a busy weekend so staff were rather hectic. But the bar tender was a legend!! The rooms are comfy and homely even if the TV was from the 1960's. The bar and lounge areas were a great place to sit and have a drink and a chat! Would recommend a visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank illuJon1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

It was really good had a nice time all staff were friendly and helpful will definitely go again. The room was really nice and tidy just as I imagined. Would I recommended it to someone else???? Definitely if you want a peaceful atmosphere definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stpedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We booked at the Hotel Commodore the day before New Years Eve. The hotel is currently being refurbished area by area whilst still offering superb service. Our room was tastefully decorated and the bed very comfortable. New Years Eve dinner was very well cooked and presented. Chef Murdocks skills are obviously a cut above the norm and with enough innovation to add to the dining experience. We ended up staying another night, again excellent food and lovely log fires to compensate for the somewhat inclement weather. That's when we got involved in The Pop Up Wedding when we offered our limousine Jaguar Sovereign to be dressed up for the wedding of Linda & David.
Following the wedding and the champagne reception after we decided to stay another night and as we had already packed we were allocated another very beautifully appointed room. We met some great people and will be spending our next New Year at the Hotel Commodore with Andrea and Murdock plus their lovely and obliging staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the2smithskidder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The most fantastic warm people we have ever met , They made our last minute registary office wedding ( even decorated the office for us as plain before ) making us the most special of days.
Nothing was too much trouble found me a hair dresser and had a spraytan in there spa
we came away not only with the most amazing memories but with a real friend in Andrea...her husband Merdocks cullinary skills are above and beond the food was amazing .
...WOULD WE RECCOMEND THIS AMAZING MAGICAL FAMILY FEEL PLACE ....
YES WITH HEART AND SOUL .
Thank you again fr our Magical experiance xx Linda & Dave Beardsworth .

Room Tip: Honeymoon suit amazing all rooms clean and comfy brill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
270 reviews
6.7 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
920 reviews
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
#14 of 31 in Llandrindod Wells
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commodore

Address: Spa Road, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5ER, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range: £63 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Commodore 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Llandrindod Wells
Hotel Commodore Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing