We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glen Usk Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Metropole Hotel(Llandrindod Wells)
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Commodore(Llandrindod Wells)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Liverpool House(Rhayader)
US$95
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Inn(Rhayader)
US$126
US$77
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Lake Country House & Spa(Llangammarch Wells)
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedars Guest House(Builth Wells)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Llangoed Hall(Llyswen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rhydspence Inn(Whitney-on-Wye)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
51
111
65
32
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
111
65
32
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand ukcoach partyevening entertainmentcoach holidayturkey and tinselmystery tourenjoyable holidayold victorianhot waterbit datedfunction roomkippersfirst floorsingle roomsense of humourroom was clean and comfortableweekend break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Room very shabby-windows/curtains dirty-I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank iggyegled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I would not recommend this hotel to enemies, much less friends. The public areas: restaurant, lobby, bar are tired and grubby. The room we stayed in was a family room and although the bed linen was clean, there were cobwebs in the bathroom that could have doubled as hammock! The carpet throughout was old and dirty, but the most shocking was the carpet in the bathroom that was at least 20 years old and a health hazard. A full english breakfast was included in the price, but completely inedible. Poached eggs and bacon were raw and the scrambled egg completely tasteless. Tea and coffee both in the rooms and the dining room is the cheapest variety and tasteless. The entertainment was (I think) for the benefit of the party of northern pensioners - most of whom were very fit and healthy in body and mind and certainly deserved better entertainment than a geriatric on an accordian! How patronising to assume that older people will be grateful for any old tosh! On the plus side, the staff were very polite and helpful and it isn't their fault that the place is so run down. However, the breakfast chef should retire! There's a small bistro called 'Jules' in the town (only place open after 5, and certainly the only place worth visiting) great food, lovely atmosphere and the waitress Esther, is fantastic - really friendly and efficient without being officious - she should get a job at the Glen Usk and shake them up a bit. All in all a good weekend because of the fantastic Welsh countryside and the warm people, but give the Glen Usk a miss until someone gives it a bit of TLC.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank julie212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

I've stayed at this hotel many times and it is often booked up with coach trips and can be full! OK it has it's bad bits, but I always look forward to coming back here, it is excellent value for money, warm and friendly. I have stayed here at least seven times and will be back during 2011. If you want somewhere thats ok, then you'll not be disappointed. The staff are really friendly and the service is good. The hotel has character. If you want modern and whizzy, go somewhere else, at least i'll be able to get a room, when I call unlike next week when it is full again (Nov 2010)!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gadgetscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

i stayed in the hotel for three nights and although the the fixtures and fittings have seen better days. i found everywhere to be very clean and the staff always helpful. the menu epecially for dinner was good as was the food.i have read other reviews for this hotel and wonder if we were talking about the same place. as i couldnt fault it and it was certainly value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank maggoo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We had checked out one hotel in town and it's rooms were appalling and as it was getting late we ended up here. The room itself was large enough but so run down. The corridoor to our room was up and downhill all the way. There was also a massive number of senior citizens staying on a bus tour, could barely get a spot for breakfast. The staff weren't interested in serving us .. it was obvious they were too busy trying to feed the horde and get rid of them. Another couple missed out on breakfast all together - as soon as the seniors left everything was cleared away. Although there was a menu for a cooked breakfast the continental selection consisted of massive bowls of bran and the cereal was spread all over the serving area. Stay here as a last resort!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katorcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews