We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 days in Mid Wales”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Glen Usk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glen Usk Hotel
colchester UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“5 days in Mid Wales”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Spent 4nights at the Glen Usk. It could do with a makeover,[looking a bit tired] Nice and warm and food was quite good, the entertainment was very good especially the male voice choir.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    95
    48
    29
    31
See reviews for
18
88
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bolton
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days on a coach holiday. The hotel is a little jaded but everthing is clean and the bedroom sheets and towels are spotless. The staff are all very friendly and work extremely hard. The food in the restaurant is very good with a good selection of choice each evening. The wines are also very pleasant with a good selection.
The entertainment was the usual coach holiday selection but thank goodness there was no bingo. I would certainly go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gordann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Stayed at the Glen Usk Hotel during December and although they had a coach party in that week I was made very welcome. Some parts of the hotel are slightly dated but everything is clean and tidy. Staff and management are excellent at looking after your needs (and that includes an early breakfast when needed). I cannot fault the food eating both in the restaurant and from the bar food menu (well done chef).

Overall a very good weeks (4 days stay) and I will go back each time I am in the area as I know I will be looked after and have an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mancunion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

If you want 4 star accommodation then pay 4 star prices. But for a good homely hotel this is the placeand at attractive rates. The main shopping street is just around the corner and the park is a short stroll away.
The staff are great and the food is super.
We stayed for a weekend and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WelshTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

In May, I was at a business meeting at the Metropole Hotel in Llandrindod Wells with over a dozen colleagues. With the Metropole (even at our group rate it is £60 a night per person more expensive then the Glen Usk) fully booked we used the Glen Usk. One of my colleagues read some of the reviews on here an was concerned about the stay so I 'phoned the hotel to pass on those concerns and ask what action they were taking. I had a pleasant conversation with an intially wary member of staff who assured me that they took the comments seriously and were engaged in a rolling programme of room refurbishments to bring the hotel up to date.

The room I had was large, clean and exactly what I expected for the style of hotel and the price paid. Breakfast was good and the staff polite and helpful.

The Glen Usk is not the best hotel I've ever stayed at (not even in Llandrindod where I've stayed at the Metropole) but at £60 a night less than the Metropole it represents good value for money and I would happily stay there again. Even my colleagues who were sceptical about it appeared happy that their fears were unfounded.

Room Tip: Phone ahead to discuss the issues raised by other reviewers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Have just spent 4 nightsin this poor excuse for a hotel.Stayed in room 324,probably last decorated circa 1970's the carpet in both the bedroom and bathroom (yes carpet in the bathroom) was filthy, when I complained I was told they would clean it.I think that was meant as a joke, of course it wasn't done. There was a large crack in one of the walls that was so bad even the wallpaper was cracked. The food was o.k. and the dining room staff helpful, but this doesn't make up for the rest of the hotel. Grand Hotels should be ashamed of themselves for keeping this hotel open.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lamajor700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandrindod Wells hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

After a four hour drive to get to the hotel from Sheffield I arrived late to the hotel, only to be met with surly staff who were confused that I was able to book a room via the internet. Once my booking confirmation was found I was swiftly handed my room key and breakfast vouchers but not given any information about what was available for breakfast or when breakfast is served.

The room was very dated and the bed was hard and uncomfortable. I was alarmed by the electric heater in the room. I assumed a previous guest had requested it and it had been forgotten to be removed. The windows were draughty and staying in November the room got very cold at night. I relied on the heater to get me through the night.

I didn't sample the breakfasts as I was out early each morning (about 6am) before the breakfast room appeared to open. I would rather have experienced the adventure of camping outdoors in mid-Wales in November.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scottmallinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Montpellier Hotel
The Montpellier Hotel
#25 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.5 mi away
Three Wells Hotel
Three Wells Hotel
#1 of 5 in Howey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
#20 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Usk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Usk Hotel

Property: Glen Usk Hotel
Address: South Crescent, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Glen Usk Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Llandrindod Wells, overlooking Temple Gardens the Glen Usk Hotel offers a warm welcome for all visitors, whether the group or coach visitor, conference delegate, independent or family holiday makers and business visitors. The hotel boasts a restaurant overlooking the gardens with a fine table d'hote menu and a spacious lounge bar with access onto the ornate veranda. Entertainment for residents is held on a regular basis. There is a lift to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Glen Usk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Usk Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing