We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay.”
Review of Glen Usk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glen Usk Hotel
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay.”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Myself and a friend stayed at the Glen Usk on a National holidays five day trip. The hotel is well situated in Llandrindod Wells and is large and well staffed. The rooms are light and airy with tea and coffee making facilties, tv and wifi access. We had a twin room and it was large enough for two. (We were in room 216). The meals were excellent with a good choice at both breakfast and evening meal. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definatley stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. It is nice to get complementary comments along with the constructive comments and it was pleasing to read you had enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    100
    56
    30
    32
See reviews for
19
97
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here for just one night on our way home. Very welcoming hotel with friendly and helpful staff. We didn't eat here in the evening but other people gave a good report, we had breakfast and that was fine. This hotel is was it is , quite large and very old, it must be a difficult job just keeping the pace with all the maintenance that needs doing. However for the price it was fine. I think it is used by a number of coach companies and certainly the other residents seem to be having a good time. Very centrally located looking over the park, there was a Victorian event going on while we there which added to the atmosphere.
Llandrindod Wells is like some other places that have seen better days , there where a lot of shops that had closed which gave a rather dispirited air, but of course this area has a lot to offer in other ways.
My only comment on the room which was a good size , was that it was a little tired decoratively speaking with some pealing wallpaper. These days even more modest hotels provide shampoo and shower gel, but hey it didn't ruin our stay.
If you are in the area stay there you will get a good welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKHud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Helen and her team who will be pleased to read them.

We certainly agree that there are rooms and areas within the Glen Usk which need attention and as such have an ongoing maintenance programme, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

Thank you once again for your custom and we certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

helen and her staff are a really friendly,helpful and committed group of workers who are trying to turn the fortunes of the glen usk around, they have a three year plan of refurbishment which they admit is needed for this lovely hotel.
the outside is adorned with the most beautiful hanging baskets which only add to the victorian facade and as the hotel overlooks a small park the surroundings are green and fragrant,
my bedroom was huge, a little old-fashioned, but CLEAN! with the softest whitest sheets on the bed and plenty of towels in the large bathroom (take your own shampoo they don't supply), i ate in the hotel for breakfast and dinner and had no complaints, it was nice to see the manageress,helen, mucking in clearing tables and ensuring all our needs were being met, wine was a reasonable £12.95 a bottle and the bar was well stacked,
if i was in the area again i would certainly visit the hotel, when it is fully refurbed it will be restored to its victorian spleandour with all the modern comforts travellers require ,
good luck to helen and her staff

Room Tip: i was at the back overlooking the car park but it was so quiet i didnt hear a thing, rooms to the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ingysingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Helen and her team who will be pleased to read them.

As you say and we agreer that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and we have a rolling maintenance plan for this. However we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I went to the Glen Usk on a National Holiday weekend, visiting Hereford and then staying overnight at the Glen Usk before coming back via Llangollen.

The Glen Usk is in the centre of Llandrindod Wells overlooking the park, which is an ideal location and it is also not too far from the railway station. I liked the Glen Usk, the bedrooms are a little tired and need updating, but they are clean. The courtesy tray is the best stocked I have ever come across in a hotel. I could not get either the radio or television to work, which I think is poor. On the evening of our overnight the lift wasn't working.

The dining room is a delight. The food was excellent both for the evening meal and breakfast. However besides the food what really does lift this hotel are the staff, they are friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. I would sooner stay in a hotel like the Glen Usk than one that is clinical and has staff that match the décor.

I would certainly visit the Glen Usk again and may be go independently using the train.

Unfortunately Llandrindod Wells seems to have been hit during the recession and there are a number of closed shops - I suspect that this has not been helped by the large Tesco and Aldi on the edge of the town. However the scenery is fantastic and I would highly recommend visiting this part of mid-Wales.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Helen and her team as I know how much these will be appreciated.

We agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and we have an ongoing maintenance programme for this, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

We did have some issues with television sets and I am pleased to say that we have now replaced all sets in all rooms, I am sorry that you did not get the benefit of this during your stay.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I paid so little for my 3-night room-only stay that I feel rather churlish submitting a negative report. But I'm afraid this hotel has slipped down past the 'faded grandeur' category to a level that I personally don't find acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IanCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I really was very sorry to read your comments, we agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling maintenance programme. Your comments have been noted and a review of what more immediate improvements can be made is currently being discussed.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandrindod Wells hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Firstly we were charged £100 per room due to late rooms. This wasn't resolvable. The room was beyond dated, head board stained from 1000's of sweaty back from years of use, the bathroom was clean, but very poor indeed, the windows had to be propped with what ever was to hand, such as bathroom bin, tv (that didn't work anyway) remote as all the sash cords were broken. This was a mini heatwave, thus really needed fresh air. The bathroom towel rail was on and very hot, but you can't switch off!! This is a very very tired hotel, feels like you'd imagine a DSS hotel.
Now breakfast, given the look and feel of the hotel you can imagine the quality of food, so scrambled egg on toast & coffee felt safe, no, I was wrong. The scrambled egg was cut from a tray, tasted horrible and the coffee was undrinkable.
Never ever again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevethehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I really was very sorry to read your comments, we agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling maintenance programme. Your comments have been noted and a review of what more immediate improvements can be made is currently being discussed.

Whilst we know we have improvements to make around the hotel, we really do pride ourselves on our quality of food and hospitality so I was very sorry to learn that the food quality did not meet your expectations on this occasion. This was particularly surprising as we have continued to receive good comments about the food provided. Again I am sorry that you did not feel this was the case.

Please be assured that all of your comments have been taken on board and we are sorry that you do not feel able to return to us again in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Just returned from a great weekend at the Glen Usk. It may be a budget hotel but it does not lack that special bit of attention that makes your stay enjoyable. The hotel may be a little worn but clean rooms, good food, great staff and a nice little terrace to enjoy your drinks on mke up for worn carpets and furniture. Overall we had a great weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Helen and her team at the hotel who will be pleased to read them.

We agreed that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling programme, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

We do hope that you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
236 reviews
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
60 reviews
7.0 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
#14 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Usk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Usk Hotel

Property: Glen Usk Hotel
Address: South Crescent, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Glen Usk Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Llandrindod Wells, overlooking Temple Gardens the Glen Usk Hotel offers a warm welcome for all visitors, whether the group or coach visitor, conference delegate, independent or family holiday makers and business visitors. The hotel boasts a restaurant overlooking the gardens with a fine table d'hote menu and a spacious lounge bar with access onto the ornate veranda. Entertainment for residents is held on a regular basis. There is a lift to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Glen Usk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Usk Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing