We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super time”
Review of Glen Usk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glen Usk Hotel
Reviewed 5 December 2013

this is the 3rd time that i have been . went this time with hubby and daughter, grandson ,the manager and staff are so welcoming they make you feel like family. my daughter and myself along with 2 friends are hoping to go in april . so to helen and the rest of the staff .from the ladies of leeds see you soon .so if you want good food, a warm welcome go to the glen usk.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shell66663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for your very kind review of your stay with us recently.

I was extremely pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Helen and his team who I know will appreciate the feedback. Your comments certainly reflect what we strive to achieve so thank you again.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Had a stay here recently with my family and overall our holiday was great and hotel was okay.
Hotel is aesthetically very tired and in real need of upgrading in every respect, however, staff did not tire in trying to please.

Dining Room staff were very attentive and patient however busy they were. Special mention to Brian, who was a real character and cheered us up no end. He had a fab voice! Verena behind the bar was a breath of fresh air when serving, and Helen the Manager was very appeasing no matter what was asked of her. She always had a smile for us.

Entertainment was a let down. We stayed Mon - Frid, there was no entertainment on the Monday night, we got one game of Bingo and nothing else on the Wednesday, and the Tues and Thurs had the same singer on, who was good, but started about 8pm finished about 10pm.
The entertainment room itself was a tad tired and the same dead wasp we noticed on the coffee table beside us on the first night, was still there on the last!
Had they even played a radio station (smooth radio or radio 2 usually pleases all?) or even mix CD's with volume low - just as background music, each night, we would have been very happy. Just something to cut the silence and pass the evenings better.

We did however find a very good pub just down the same road as hotel, two mins away, 'The Log Cabin' - joined onto The Commodore Hotel. Great service and absolutely fab jukebox that covered every generation and genres and kept us happy all week (there were three generations of us age-wise!).

Back to Glen Usk..... The Hotel is in a good location, and the outside of the building is a lovely red sandstone and very attractive. Rooms are a good size and kept clean and tidied each day (even though we put a do not disturb sign on door!!), however cant grumble about clean sheets. Would have much preferred a duvet though, rather than the itchy blankets provided that were a nightmare. These blankets and sheets must be a nightmare for house-keeping to make every morning too! The heating is uncontrollable too, our first bedroom given was like a hothouse and we had to ask for a move. Also the radio's in rooms did not work. Our shower was either cold or roasting too which wasnt ideal, but to be honest, overall, we actually had an enjoyable holiday (we can put up with most things!). As nice as it was though, unfortunately it's these little things that would make us choose not to return. It had it's good and it's bad issues in this hotel, ive stayed at better (however ive also stayed at worse).

Service was good, food was okay, entertainment (or even background music?) was lacking, and hotel decor was very tired. It would be a great hotel if it were completely refurbished and a few issues changed to bring up to date.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RPSCND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel and your kind comments regarding our staff.

We have an ongoing maintenance programme across our hotel group and agree there are some areas which need upgrading, however we pride ourselves on the level of service and hospitality provided and which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

Thank you once again for your review.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Have just returned from a Friday to Monday holiday at this hotel travelling with Grand UK. The hotel is extremely shabby and in need of complete urgent refurbishment. The staff at the hotel were excellent, especially Helen, the manager, considering the conditions they are working with. Arrived and was allocated room 308 on third floor, walk in and the smell hit you and took you breath away, opened the en suite door and the smell of urine was overpowering. Was given room 318, smelt OK but was small and very tatty as will be seen by the photos. On the second night was wakened in early hours of the morning by a dog (no dogs allowed says brochure) whining, howling and scratching to get out followed by people thumping up and down corridor. When I spoke to the manager next morning she had no idea the dog/s were there, was most apologetic. Apparently dogs are allowed in the hotel when dog shows are on and there was a dog show that week-end. Will never use Grand UK again, they need to get their act together. They have very good staff in this hotel, that work hard and should not be taken advantage of.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

It was disappointing to hear that the hotel did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we really do value your custom as such I offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you may have suffered during your stay.

I really was very sorry to read your comments regarding the overall décor of the Glen Usk, we agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling maintenance programme. Your comments have been noted and a review of whether any more immediate improvements can be made is currently being discussed.

Once again thank you for your comments and please be assured that I have taken them on board.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights, not nice at all.

The room cost £90.00 per night and can't see how this hotel can justify this the room was shabby large cracks on walls, dark stains on ceiling. And to top it off when you ran the hot water for the bath it came out brown not nice at all.

The only good thing about this hotel was when I left. I do hope they invest my £180 in decorating and updating my room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I was naturally most disappointed to learn that you had an unsatisfactory stay and certain aspects of the hotel failed to meet with your expectations and I would like to begin by saying that we do take all feedback seriously.

We do believe that we offer value for money compared with other hotels in the area, however, we know that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel. We have an ongoing maintenance programme for this and are always looking at aspects which could be tackled in the short term and have certainly taken your comments on board to aid this process.

Thank you once again for your review and please be assured that your comments have been taken on board.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

the Glen Usk Hotel is a lovely old hotel, certainly needs a bit of TLC, but could not fault anything about it. Staff were excellent and could not do enough for you. The room I was in (117) was big, clean and looked on to the park . The food was excellent, and the choice was exceptional. Keep up the good standard
Eddie & Cathie (Mature couple) from Rutherglen nr. Glasgow

Room Tip: not sure but I think the odd numbers especially level one are all front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brunozara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive comments.

Thank you once again for your custom and we certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

One thing about British hotels which I cannot tolerate is the anonymity of the manager. Nothing could be more different here. Helen Morgan is a star for me. Ever present either at reception or helping in the restaurant with her lovely smile and great sense of humour. All the other staff I met were equally friendly and helpful. Look beyond the peeling wall paper and scuffed paintwork and you will find a hotel with good food at dinner and breakfast and comfortable rooms. I wish Helen and her team every success in the future

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlooking Temple Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ancienttrveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.

We know there are certain areas and rooms that need upgrading but as you state, our rooms are clean, and our staff are proud to work at the Glen Usk which is reflected in their manner whilst at work, which in turn helps guests to enjoy their stay.

Thank you again for your comments and we do hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Myself and a friend stayed at the Glen Usk on a National holidays five day trip. The hotel is well situated in Llandrindod Wells and is large and well staffed. The rooms are light and airy with tea and coffee making facilties, tv and wifi access. We had a twin room and it was large enough for two. (We were in room 216). The meals were excellent with a good choice at both breakfast and evening meal. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definatley stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback. It is nice to get complementary comments along with the constructive comments and it was pleasing to read you had enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
246 reviews
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
64 reviews
7 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
96 reviews
11 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Usk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Usk Hotel

Address: South Crescent, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range: £43 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glen Usk Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Llandrindod Wells, overlooking Temple Gardens the Glen Usk Hotel offers a warm welcome for all visitors, whether the group or coach visitor, conference delegate, independent or family holiday makers and business visitors. The hotel boasts a restaurant overlooking the gardens with a fine table d'hote menu and a spacious lounge bar with access onto the ornate veranda. Entertainment for residents is held on a regular basis. There is a lift to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glen Usk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Usk Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing