We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen Usk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glen Usk Hotel
East Linton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here for four nights from 23/07 .nice clean rooms great food and friendly staff would def stay here again and do great packed lunches...the entertainment was not all that great.went on Glenton bus tour

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julie1969w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    92
    45
    29
    30
See reviews for
18
85
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Good points.. clean, beds very comfortab/e, plenty of hot water, service good.
Bad points - "distressed" rather than "tired". I have never seen such a shabby hotel in need of a make over from peeling wallpaper to threadbare headboards and chipped furniture. No hairdryer. Food clearly done on the cheap -even though not expecting a really high standard on a cheap week end what was concering was that this was the regular menu. Very strange. I hate knocking hotels and making poor comments but i was rather disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pelupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandrindod Wells hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed at the Glen Usk for a weekend when visiting family and friends. Good cotton sheets and soft towels. Clean room and bathroom. Freeview television in room. Superb breakfast and good choice dinner menu. Special mention, multi tasking Sonny. A great asset to the hotel.
Overall a great stay in a hotel that gives great warmth to guests and real value for money.. What more does anyone need for a weekend away. Spent a wonderful day at Elan Valley and visited the Red Kite Centre, a great experience. Will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed four nights while on a coach trip to attend Hay Festival, this hotel is ideally located just a 30-45 minute ride by coach, my room was tired but spotlessly clean, with a very comfortable bed, bathroom also spotlessly clean and provided endless hot water, management extremely helpful, all other staff friendly and welcoming. Breakfast offered variety and plenty of choices, the three course dinner proved a little too much for me personally. I only attended one of the evening entertainments provided, that was a ladies choir which was wonderful. Overall a great experience, I would be happy recommend the hotel, pity the owners dont invest some money on upgrading this lovely property. My thanks to Helen the manager and her staff for all their hard work.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharsent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Cumbria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night with friends. Reception friendly & helpful. Advised us were the local eating houses were &what was available. Rooms ample size,clean & comfortable. Bar area comfortable & bar person was efficient & pleasant. Came &informed when the bar was closing so we could get another drink. Breakfast was ample with a good variety on offer & very quick service. Will stay again here when in the area

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Steele-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I recently went to the Hay on Wye festival and left it last minute to find anywhere close by so stayed at the Glen Usk which was about 40 minutes away from the event. On the positive front that allowed me to enjoy even more of the fabulous scenery in the area. The hotel is a grand Victorian affair - I can imagine back in its hey day it was gorgeous and now its more comfortable and practical than beautiful. So if you are after a boutique hotel with a lavender sprig on your pillow and chai latte on the menu , this is not the place for you! My room was large & clean with a good size bathroom and big window with a bit of a view. The decor was circa 1980s complete with a shag pile carpet even in the bathroom! The corridors were a bit dark and lack lustre but as I said I was on a budget and I wanted a cheap clean room and thats what I got. Think of it as a traditional ploughman's lunch versus a plate of confit of duck leg with a salad of kale and quinuoa - personally I prefer the basic to pretentious ! The breakfast was waitered service and fast and friendly - cereals some fresh fruit and cooked brekkie or kippers - I had the latter and it was delicious. They may have other nicer looking rooms available I can only speak from my experience and it suited me and my needs just fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank larissadrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staff very helpful, room fine, any wee problems were sorted right away, beds spotless and that's all you need on a bus tour.
ps
Food was lovely and plentiful. Great tour and we would go back. Thanks to Helen and her staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cromarty1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Three Wells Hotel
Three Wells Hotel
#1 of 5 in Howey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hampton Hotel
The Hampton Hotel
#12 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
#23 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Usk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Usk Hotel

Property: Glen Usk Hotel
Address: South Crescent, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Glen Usk Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Llandrindod Wells, overlooking Temple Gardens the Glen Usk Hotel offers a warm welcome for all visitors, whether the group or coach visitor, conference delegate, independent or family holiday makers and business visitors. The hotel boasts a restaurant overlooking the gardens with a fine table d'hote menu and a spacious lounge bar with access onto the ornate veranda. Entertainment for residents is held on a regular basis. There is a lift to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Glen Usk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Usk Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing