We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIRTY, DISGUSTING & DREADFUL”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Glen Usk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glen Usk Hotel
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“DIRTY, DISGUSTING & DREADFUL”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights and it is without a doubt the worst hotel i have ever seen in my life, dirty miserable rooms with a nasty smell, old sheets, thin old towels, dirty cold shower, THE LIST IS ENDLESS, this place either needs a small fortune spent for a complete refurb or just close it down. I wouldn't make my worst enemy spend a night in there. AVOID - you would be better off sleeping outside than sleeping in one of them bedrooms.

Room Tip: avoid all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anthonyisdead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    95
    48
    29
    31
See reviews for
18
88
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warboys Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is in a good position to visit many places of interest within 50 miles. The hotel is in a very good place to walk to the shops and is opposite the town park.
There is a pretty lake a short walk away where many birds can be seen and there is a fun dragon in the water.
The hotel is showing it's age but the beds are comfortable and the bedding clean. The towels and pillows were new. Really hot water at all times in the bathroom.
The meals were well cooked and nicely presented, different vegetables each night.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park are good though there is a smell of smoke from the outside verandah. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here during the royal Welsh show, I'd rather of stayed in a barn. Blood stained blankets pubic hair in the bath. And all over the floor... mildue and mould Around it, dirty towels never once changed the whole time I was there. Disgusting attitude from staff, the cleaners upstairs their mouths were like sewers front desk was not
helpful at all, too busy stuffing their face and laughing and joking. Although I did not pay alot to stay I did expect the basics but this hotel should not be in business, there's a whole lot wrong here I could go on and on but my advice to all you Lovley people is to stay away at all costs

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lewisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Llandrindod Wells hotels

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed at the Glen Usk for two nights at the weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. Helen, the General Manager, and all of her staff are very friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. I had a lovely spacious single room with a very comfortable bed and a nice bathroom and everything was immaculately clean. The food was delicious - plenty of choice on the menu and cooked and presented to a high standard with very generous portions - in fact on my second morning I asked for a child's portion of the cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

On a 5 day holiday with National Coaches Glen Usk Hotel very friendly staff nothing tomuch
trouble. Beds very comfortable and spotless clean instant hot water never had a cold shower.
Food was good and plenty of choice. Two of the ladies in our group had single rooms and
said they were vary spacious and both rooms had new showers. We would diffinately stay
here again. Rooms are being upgraded but with 72 rooms it does take time the Manageress
told us. All four of us enjoyed our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cah02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel may be 'dated', but it is very clean and the food is superb. ALL the staff were very,very good, and if every hotel was like this we wound't need trip advisor. The drawers and wardrobe were old style,say chic or retro !!
They still did there job and the bedroom/bathrooms were clean. We were on a coach trip with 37 other people and one still managed to complain about the food!!. We re with my sister and her husband and saw their room too.
Everybody else said the hotel and food were great,but how many bother to go online and and say so. The one comment from this guy about the food and the friendliness of the staff wanted me to go on here and tell it like it is

Room Tip: Some have been upgraded,but it dont matter as all still clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johnkeith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Linton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here for four nights from 23/07 .nice clean rooms great food and friendly staff would def stay here again and do great packed lunches...the entertainment was not all that great.went on Glenton bus tour

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julie1969w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Montpellier Hotel
The Montpellier Hotel
#25 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.5 mi away
Three Wells Hotel
Three Wells Hotel
#1 of 5 in Howey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
#20 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Usk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Usk Hotel

Property: Glen Usk Hotel
Address: South Crescent, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Glen Usk Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Llandrindod Wells, overlooking Temple Gardens the Glen Usk Hotel offers a warm welcome for all visitors, whether the group or coach visitor, conference delegate, independent or family holiday makers and business visitors. The hotel boasts a restaurant overlooking the gardens with a fine table d'hote menu and a spacious lounge bar with access onto the ornate veranda. Entertainment for residents is held on a regular basis. There is a lift to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Glen Usk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Usk Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing