We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderwool Wales Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Four knitting ladies shared a family attic room for the week end while visiting the Wondewool exebition.
We found the landlady Lil and her husbandvery welcoming and charming and everything possible was done to make our stay a pleasant one. The breakfast was delisious with a good variety of fresh fruits and youghurts which we particulary enjoyed. The coffee was nice and strong and the service efficient. The whole place is spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable.
Our stay at the Bryncelyn made up for the lack of sun this week end. Go and see for yourselves ..a real gem in the smallest town in Wales.....Highly recomended by the spinners and knitters from Berkshire.....

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to meet all you ladies and there was a lovely air of friendliness in the dining room on the two mornings you were with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

Lovely weekend. Helpful friendly host. Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review. I hope you had a good trip home in spite of the weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here this weekend and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We couldnt have asked for anymore, beautiful room, comfy bed and most importantly a fabulous breakfast with friendly faces(superb host) all around. Would love to stay here again soon and would most definately recommend :) Cassie and Mike

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for your lovely review and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Bryncelyn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Had a lovely stay. Host Lil was fantastic nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely stay here again. Thoroughly recommend. Vanessa and Craig

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V_C_Hodgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Excellent in all ways, spotlessly clean, great breakfast, friendly hosts. Will stay again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Lil gave us a very warm welcome and was very accommodating during our stay. Great breakfast (which was kindly served at 7am as requested!), useful storage area for bikes and even a daily paper to read. Many thanks - we would definitely recommend the Guesthouse to others.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 which was on the second floor so had good views across the town and a brand new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Spent two nights here in a room at the top of the house. The host explained that the room she wanted to give us was being refurbished. The breakfast was adequate but the cereal tasted stale. A couple of yoghurts were thrown on the table ..nothing that you could not pick up in your local supermarket. There was not much choice beyond the cooked breakfast but the coffee was acceptable. We were the only guests staying and we expected more given the photos and the ratings. For the cost we would try somewhere different next time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mascanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

It is so kind of you to take the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at Bryncelyn Guesthouse. Whilst we were happy with your comments on our cooked breakfast, we were dissappointed with some of your comments which were hurtful and not in keeping with the opinions of our previous reviewers.

However, your opinion really matters to us.

We do take great pride in our family run guesthouse. We have breakfast menus in the guest information folders in the bedrooms and also in the dining room showng our breakfast choices. We cook breakfast to order and use locally sourced produce wher possible. We cater for guests wishing to order a Contential breakfast , if given prior notice. We also cater for early risers, vegetarians and endeavour to provide for guests with particular dietary needs.

We serve cereals (except Muesli) in individual portion packets to ensure freshness. These are always stored carefully and are well within their 'use by' dates. Yogurts are served in individual pots for the same reason.

It was unfortunate that the builders arrived to refurbish the bedroom that originally was allocated for you but as you will appreciate we do not always have a choice in the arrival dates of builders.

We would have been happy to discuss any issues that you had whilst you were with us and we would have done all in our power to rectify them. It is our priority to ensure that the guests who stay with us enjoy themselves and will return, as many do, time and time again. We sincerely hope we can welcome you back to Bryncelyn in the future.


Lil & Malcolm (owners)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llanwrtyd Wells hotels
0.3 mi away
Ardwyn House
Ardwyn House
#1 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#2 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage
#5 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Really Cool Studios and Accommod...
#10 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryncelyn Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryncelyn Guesthouse

Address: Dolecoed Road, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range: £61 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryncelyn Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryncelyn Guesthouse, in beautiful Llanwrtyd Wells, is a 4 star family run guest house providing ideal accommodation while attending one of the local festivals either here in Llanwrtyd Wells or in the nearby towns of Builth Wells and Llandovery. All rooms are either ensuite or have private bathrooms. Guest rooms have TV, DVD player and tea & coffee making facilities. We are in the heart of the smallest town in Britain (with a population of 600) with restaurants, pubs and shops on the doorstep. We have offroad parking for our guests. Price includes full breakfast, either Welsh or the option of a Continental. The town is surrounded by beautiful countryside with rolling hills and it's famous for wacky events such as World Championship Bog Snorkeling and Man versus Horse Marathon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your Bryncelyn Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryncelyn Guesthouse Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing