We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They go the extra mile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed for a weekend at Bryncelyn and it has to be one of the friendliest and most helpful guesthouse ever. Lil was even good enough to drive me to A&E when I had a cycling crash on the Saturday! I can't rate the service highly enough, Outstanding!

Breakfasts were top notch, beds very comfy and cleanliness was perfect. Book with confidence.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Hi Simon,

Thank you for posting this lovely review. I enjoyed meeting your family and your friend.
I hope you've recovered from your accident and were able to travel on your planned trip. Hopefully, you'll come back to tackle the hills again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed with Lil at the Bryncelyn whilst visiting family in Llanwrtyd, the guesthouse is fabulous, definitely one of the best that we've experienced. The room was large and very comfortable, everything was "as it should be" or better - the breakfasts were perfect and Lil understands what "gluten-free" means (many others don't seem to understand what foods contain gluten).
The highlight was however meeting Lil herself - she is lovely and a perfect host.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yenrab666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you for leaving this great review. I enjoyed meeting you both and it was no trouble catering for your requirements. I hope to see you both again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Bryncelyn is a lovely place, as nice on the inside as the charming patio area outside. It was my first visit to Llanwrtyd Wells for the Man v Horse event and I was delighted with how beautiful the area is. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with plenty of tea bags & lots of biscuits. Our bathroom came with plenty of hot water (which friends staying elsewhere in the village were envious of!). Breakfast was delicious; fresh fruit & yoghurt, cereal and toast and the fried breakfast lovely. Lil and her team were friendly and helpful. The whole experience was great and I have already re-booked for next year. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

It's lovely when guests book for next year on their departure as we know they've enjoyed their stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave this excellent review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

A lovely, clean ,friendly and comfortable guest house.It was my second stay at Bryncelyn and hope to saty again next year. Lil is lovely, friendly and an excellent host. I stayed with my friend and we shared room 1 which had a double bed and a single bed and an ensuite bathroom. There was always plenty of hot water which is a must after doing the Man v Horse race.Very comfy beds with crisp clean bedding.Breakfast is always freshly prepared when you go down stairs in the morning.Excellent position for the start of the race and the pubs and restaurants. Cant wait for next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoltonUs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. It was a fantastic weekend all round. It was lovely to see you again and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Lovely B&B, friendly atmosphere. Lil was so kind, open and helpful! The Attic Flat has lots of character and is perfect for families... but surely will be appreciated by anyone! Spotless, warm, cosy... a breakfast that will take you out of bed easily. Great overall experience! Will be back for sure! :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vladishylock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thanks for this excellent review. I'm glad you had a good weekend. It was a pleasure to meet you both and look forward to your returning in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Very comfortable, clean and welcoming guest house. Great place to stay to explore surrounding areas. Lil does a fantastic breakfast to start your day. We will definitely stay again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you. We appreciate your great comments - it makes our job so worthwhile. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, to be close by to Builth wells for a show the next day. We had a great welcome, and got shown to our rooms. The rooms were spotlessly clean, and stocked up with water tea, coffee etc, and more of the sachets on the landing so that you can help your self, which I thought was a great idea. There's little to do in the town itself, however it's a great place to go for a walk and there's also a few places to go for a bite to eat. The next morning after a good nights sleep, we woke up to yet another lovely welcome and sat for breakfast, with more than enough of a choice from yogurt, cereal, juice etc and of course the deliciously cooked breakfast. Thank you for your great hospitality. We may see you next year!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank West-wales1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. A lot of guests come and stay with us when visiting the Royal Welsh Showground in Builth Wells as it's a scenic 15 minute drive from us here Llanwrtyd Wells. Hope your family had a good day at the Spring Festival. The weather was beautiful. Hope to see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llanwrtyd Wells hotels
0.3 mi away
Ardwyn House
Ardwyn House
#1 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#3 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Really Cool Studios and Accommod...
#10 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
7 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage
#5 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryncelyn Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryncelyn Guesthouse

Address: Dolecoed Road, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range: £61 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryncelyn Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryncelyn Guesthouse, in beautiful Llanwrtyd Wells, is a 4 star family run guest house providing ideal accommodation while attending one of the local festivals either here in Llanwrtyd Wells or in the nearby towns of Builth Wells and Llandovery. All rooms are either ensuite or have private bathrooms. Guest rooms have TV, DVD player and tea & coffee making facilities. We are in the heart of the smallest town in Britain (with a population of 600) with restaurants, pubs and shops on the doorstep. We have offroad parking for our guests. Price includes full breakfast, either Welsh or the option of a Continental. The town is surrounded by beautiful countryside with rolling hills and it's famous for wacky events such as World Championship Bog Snorkeling and Man versus Horse Marathon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bryncelyn Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryncelyn Guesthouse Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing