We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sumer cider cycle crash pad!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bryncelyn Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sumer cider cycle crash pad!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in Aug 2014 with 3 mountain biking friends for the summer cider cycle.
Brilliant service Lil, the owner was friendly, engaging and accommodating without being over bearing. Couldn't have been better. Really clean rooms with sumptuous beds, and en suite. Brilliant shower ( very important after a day in the saddle getting muddy!)
Lil made room for our bikes in a safe place where we could lock them up, Murphy and dog was on guard!
Breakfast, plenty of it and very tasty local produce, served with smile.
Have already booked again for later in the year. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PedroBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Enjoyed meeting your group and always find there's a great atmosphere in the house when we have this type of activity weekend. We'll see you all again in November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
44
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

the owner is nice lady from Ireland, very welcoming and genuinely taking care of her guests. After spending all rainy day outside we didn't want to go anywhere once arrived to the hotel. We were offered to use lounge area for the rest of the evening, we also brought some food and the lady kindly warmed it in microwave and provided plates for our dinner and anything else we needed. She also found some toys for our little one to play, very nice gesture.
The room was in good condition, spacious bathroom, all shower amenities provided. Guests can help themselves with extra teabags, coffee, milk and sugar in case ran out of supplies in the room, small detail but very convenient.
There was a fridge in lounge area filled with beer, small bottles of wine and soft drinks, all very reasonably priced.
Breakfast was cooked individually for each guest as standard to all B&B.
Internet did not work well and also there is no Three network coverage in the area. It wasn't a major issue for us, just something to advise other travelers.
Overall very good stay, will definitely stay there again if visiting the same area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank egle k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you Egle for posting this lovely review. Glad you liked our 'Honesty Bar' as we know it's not always easy to go out when you have a child with you. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead Bristol
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

All the nice things said by other reviewers about Lil and this B&B I have found to be true. But I think an additional reason people enjoy staying here is that Lil is not only good at her job, but loves it, and this happy atmosphere affects everyone. Apart from being a good manager, Lil's special gift is flexibility. If you have any out-of-the-ordinary requirements, and have had problems elsewhere, this could be a good place to try - Lil goes out of her way to make her guests happy. This was our first visit to Bryncelyn and to LLanwrtyd, and we enjoyed both. There is magnificent country all round, and there are two good pubs and two excellent restaurants within a few seconds of Lil's door. It's a friendly little town. Our three nights at Lil's were a really relaxing break.

Room Tip: The rooms are more cheerful and lighter than they appear in the website photos. Discuss your choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkOoQPICI6S9DGlc5Ewu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
What a lovely review! Thank you, I do enjoy meeting people and love my job. I'm delighted you enjoyed your 3 night break. I hope to see you both again in the future. Kind regards, Lil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This is a fantastic place to stay. Lil is a superb hostess, with the warmest of welcomes and a 'nothing is too much' attitude. The rooms are clean and fresh, and the breakfasts are legendary. Cannot recommend this accommodation highly enough.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RedAlertPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you Peter, for this lovely review. Glad you enjoy staying with us. It's a pleasure to have you both and we look forward to meeting your family and friends later in the year. Kind regards, Lil & Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

With a warm welcome from Lil when you arrive and comfort during your stay with genuine concern for one's safe onward journey, this is my b&b of choice in the town.
Others are available of course, but this one gets my vote.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi Steve, thank you so much for your excellent review. It means a lot to us when busy people like yourself take the time to post a review. Hope to see you again in the near future. Lil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Due to unexpected traffic delays we telephoned guest house to say that we would be arriving later that the 22hrs arrival time. We were pleasantly surprised to be told that this was no problem and without no anticipated time for our arrival the owners volunteered to await for us at whatever time we arrived. When we arrived at 22.35hrs and were even offered food.

Rooms were very clean, comfortable with excellent facilities.

Breakfast out of this world. Couldn't have done enough for us.

Will definitely use this friendly excellent hotel if we come to the area again.

Thank you very much.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AberyIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for posting this lovely review. It was no problem waiting for your arrival - in fact it was very good of you to keep us informed of your journey's progress - as the delay was no fault of yours. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Very nice, clean guest house. I've been 7 times and I will go again. We've slept in the all rooms , it was very comfortable. Lil a fantastic landlady, she helpful. I highly recommend!!! We're looking forward the next staying time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for posting this great review. This is a particularly lovely time of the year in Mid Wales with the Spring flowers, especially the daffodils. The lambs are just arriving too. We look forward to you staying again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
4.4 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ardwyn House
Ardwyn House
#1 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast
Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cerdyn Villa B&B
Cerdyn Villa B&B
#9 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryncelyn Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryncelyn Guesthouse

Property: Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Address: Dolecoed Road, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryncelyn Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryncelyn Guesthouse, in beautiful Llanwrtyd Wells, is a 4 star family run guest house providing ideal accommodation while attending one of the local festivals either here in Llanwrtyd Wells or in the nearby towns of Builth Wells and Llandovery. All rooms are either ensuite or have private bathrooms. Guest rooms have TV, DVD player and tea & coffee making facilities. We are in the heart of the smallest town in Britain (with a population of 600) with restaurants, pubs and shops on the doorstep. We have offroad parking for our guests. Price includes full breakfast, either Welsh or the option of a Continental. The town is surrounded by beautiful countryside with rolling hills and it's famous for wacky events such as World Championship Bog Snorkeling and Man versus Horse Marathon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bryncelyn Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryncelyn Guesthouse Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing