We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Hall Guest House
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

All 4 people in the party thought this was a wonderful B&B. The welcome was warm, the rooms were beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were delicious. It is situated on the edge of the town which means there is practically no noise at night. The walk into town takes only 3 minutes, maybe 5 if you stroll slowly. Here you will find several places to eat. We are planning on returning next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owi666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
88
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed two nights end of September with two friends from Canada, I had stayed before (x6) & everything was just as one would have hoped for in a warm, friendly, extremely comfortable stay.
Breakfast was a feast of almost anything you would like and cooked to order, so hot.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We only stayed at New Hall for one night but I would happily have stayed longer. There are usually a few things that cause slight irritation when you stay at a B&B but that was not the case this time. Everything has clearly been thought through very carefully because everything that you could realistically expect was provided.

The en suite room was immaculate and the bed very comfortable. We received a very warm welcome from June and she went out of her way to help us with information about the area. We left very happy after an excellent and comprehensive breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauljc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

So much fun at the New Hall guesthouse. We we're welcomed bij June while she was baking something, it smells lovely! We had an wonderfull stay. The room was very clean en cosy. Excellent bathroom and beds. June spoilt us with homemade cake en chocolate snacks. Her breakfast was very nice and healthy, made with some loving.
We had dinner in the town of LLanwyrtd Wells. The meals in the pub were very good and the people vwhre friendly. At the recommanded restaurant by the AA of being the best of Wales in 2009, ( I believe the name was something like By the riverside) was a disception, the fish was old and had a bad smell , the rest of the food was very common for a high price.
We enjoyed visiting the Dam and the red kites. The very little roads now and then were a real adventure. We love Wales and June.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Had a very warm welcome on arrival, despite everyone turning up en-mass late afternoon, and we were very pleased with the room. Breakfast was lovely both days, and having chatted to June and Eugene on arrival about our Saturday plans to climb Pen y Fan, we were sent off with some home made flapjack to get us to the top. Service excellent and would definitely stay again and recommend to friends and family.

And extra kudos for the home-baked scones and jam!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We recieved a lovely warm welcome from hosts June and Eugene who showed us to a very comfortable room with everything we could need for a most pleasant stay, the bed was huge and extremely comfy the bathroom was well appointed and spotlessly clean. we slept wonderfully well as the New Hall is situated along a very quiet little lane and there is almost no passing traffic. The Quirky town of LLanwyrtd Wells is a two minute walk away and although small in size has plenty of places to eat, we ate in the Stonecutter and the Neuadd and the food and welcome were first class even if they decor and some of the locals were a little rough around the edges. All in all Llanwyrtd is a great little place to relax for a while and the New Hall is a fabulous place to stay when you go.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireJellybelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woolcraft, Owner at New Hall Guest House, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Hello :) Thank you so very much for all your nice comments and for recommending both New Hall and Llanwrtyd Wells. These reviews take time and effort but they make such a difference so thank you for your input. June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Just returned from a weekend break at New Hall. June, our host, could not have been more accommodating, from cooking an excellent breakfast to planning our day out on Saturday. Nothing was too much trouble for her. The room was large and clean and the bed was one of the largest and most comfortable we have ever had in a B&B. We went to Llanwrtyd Wells because it was an area we had never visited before, and we were very pleasantly suprised witth the variety and beauty of the surrounding countryside.
PS the flapjacks waiting for us after our day out on Saturday were very much appreciated - Thanks June!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woolcraft, Owner at New Hall Guest House, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
hello D and V
Thank you for making the effort to review us on Trip Advisor. So pleased you enjoyed your stay especially as you took good advantage of the weather to explore the lovely countryside in Mid Wales. Llanwrtyd Wells has a warm welcome waiting for you any time you would like to return - rain or shine :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llanwrtyd Wells hotels
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ardwyn House
Ardwyn House
#1 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cerdyn Villa B&B
Cerdyn Villa B&B
#9 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hall Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hall Guest House

Property: New Hall Guest House
Address: New Hall Victoria Road, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4SU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hall Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style. Comfort. Privacy. Perfect for walking, touring and exploring. Near the Brecon Beacons, Builth Wells and Llandovery. Big beds. Spacious rooms. Proper en-suites. Modern decor. Full cooked breakfast. Fresh fruit salad. Vegetarian options and daily specials. Peace and quiet on the edge of Llanwrtyd Wells, the Smallest Town in Britain and Home of Bog Snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your New Hall Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Guest House Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing