We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PEACEFUL HOME FROM HOME IN AN EXCELLENT LOCATION”
Review of Ty Carreg

Ty Carreg
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ty Carreg
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Very warm welcome, lovely comfortable well equiped bedrooms, and a breakfast to meet every taste. Pippa and Ian leave nothing to chance. An ideal spot to explore a beutiful part of Wales.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickJTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2011

If you want to remember what stands behind the words SINCERE HOSPITALITY, come to Ty Carreg. As soon as we walked in, we felt at home - the house is an exquisite treat by itself - so many fantastic and beautiful things to look at! Pip and Iain, the owners of the B&B, have the most amazing stories to tell, and their sincere smiles will make you feel as welcomed as you've ever been.
The breakfasts are delicious, offering a wide variety of choises for anyone, the rooms are incredibly cozy, and, if you're travelling in the winter time, it's very warm! :)
Plenty of fantastic books to read - they are all over the place!
Even though we stayed only for 2 nights and were out most of the time, i feel as is Pippa Morrison is my aunt - who i want to visit again. Very much.


This is truly Home away from Home.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatherineSoloviev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

On arrival Mrs Morison made us feel very welcome, The room was nicely furnished with everything you could possibly need. Even down to the biscuits in the room and tea and coffee making facilities. The room was immaculate and very clean. A good supply of books was on hand should you not be able to sleep but the beds were so comfy we had no problem. A lovely breakfast the next morning set us on our way. Will return!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottsConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Owners were friendly and made us feel very at home. A lovely breakfast and comfortable room.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAPSLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

A very warm and welcoming stay in an out of the way home from home. The rooms were comfortable and clean witha great view of the hills. Very handy for a walk into the town (smallest in Britain) to sample real ale and good food. Especially enjoyed the freshly baked bread with the filling breakfast. Would pay a second visit when down that way again

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank rowlandsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Located in a small estate, away from the main road through town.
Arrived late (~Midnight) and the hosts were there to guide us to the property as it is tucked away behind another house and therefore difficult to locate in the dark.
Friendly hostess.
Clean and cosy room.
Bathroom is shared, although we had it to ourselves. Hot water may be an issue if more guests are staying.
Good full english breakfast in the morning, with locally sourced eggs & sausages.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danj0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

This was a gem tucked away from passing traffic a very friendly welcome and such a relaxing weekend A real pleasure to stay Room was comftable with an ensuite that was
almost better than our own bathroom and suoer cozy beds with great view out to hills
homemade bread for breakfast Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlegazelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
0.2 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
54 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
918 reviews
9.4 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
642 reviews
14.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,349 reviews
17.9 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Carreg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Carreg

Address: Erw Haf, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range: £68 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 259
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ty Carreg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Carreg Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing