We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming and friendly Bed & Breakfast in a great location”
Review of Ty Carreg

Ty Carreg
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty Carreg
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We recently spent a lovely two night stay at Ty Carreg, where we were made to feel very welcome and at home. Iain and Pip are excellent hosts and we really enjoyed our stay. Located in a quiet residential area, just five minutes walk from the town, Ty Carreg is quiet and peaceful. The absolute icing on the cake for us were the surprise chocolate Easter Bunnies at breakfast on Easter Sunday!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We arrived after a stunning drive along the Wye and up through the hills to Llanwrtyd Wells to a very warm welcome with tea and Welsh cakes. The room and shower room might have been slightly on the small side but were scrupulously clean and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was a real treat and utterly delicious; don't hold back since calories are easily burnt off walking in the beautiful countryside!

Pip and Iain couldn't have made us feel more at home.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed at Ty Carreg a few months ago when working in the area. Iain made sure I had all I needed and cooked a superb breakfast. The property was easy enough to find with directions, and very comfortable; very much a home from home. This was another fantastic B&B in Llanwrtyd Wells, having stayed at another place earlier in the year, and I would happily return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idleauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Myself and a friend stayed in the twin room while taking part in the 'Real Ale Ramble' weekend in November. Pippa and Ian couldn't have been more accommodating. The breakfast that was prepared was exactly when and what we wanted and Pippa even made us some butties for lunch! The room was small, and the shower a little temperamental, but those were minor points when we had such friendly hosts and wonderfully comfy beds!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vetmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed in Llanwrtyd Wells last year but Ty Carreg was far less formal. Pip and Iain were incredible hosts who made us feel more like friends than guests. A very good quiet location, 5 minute walk from town but up a short hill, which didn't bother us but may be more difficult for some. We were instantly made to feel at home and they have a beautiful garden that we spent some time in. Excellent facilities, clean room, fantastic comfortable beds with an amazing view over the mountain. We wanted for nothing and will certainly return as there are some wonderful places to explore. We wanted to stay longer than our two nights, which went far too quick.

Room Tip: We had the twin (French blue) room, which had the en suite, really bright and airy, amazing views an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Ty Carreg is a lovely home and Pip and Iain could not have made us more welcome. It was a privilege to stay with them. They have provided everything one could need and even added extras such as fresh ground coffee and a cafetiere in our room. We also appreciated having a jug of fresh milk on our tray. Our en suite, twin bedded, room had comfy beds and lovely pillows. The breakfasts were excellent with local items and home-made bread and jams.
There were good 'eateries' in the area and our hosts provided helpful information to guide us. Llanwrtyd Wells is a good centre for so many interests.
For so many reasons we shall return.

Room Tip: We would advise having the en suite, twin-bedded room - comfy with lovely hill views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

A wonderful place to stay. The accommodation was excellent, very comfortable bed. Pippa and Iain are superb hosts. We felt like old friends , rather than guests. We will return just to visit them! The breakfast was fit for a king,the smell of freshly made bread, divine. Ty Carreg is in a good location if you wish to explore Mid Wales, the roads are good and the scenery is spectacular.
An excellent B&B, will be recommending to my friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrish1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
55 reviews
4 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
334 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Carreg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Carreg

Address: Erw Haf, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range: £74 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 259
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ty Carreg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Carreg Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing