We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome and friendly retreat.”
Review of The Trout Inn

The Trout Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Trout Inn
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcome and friendly retreat.”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

The Trout Inn was a very welcome site after a bunch of nearly broken bikers heading off the hills on a dark, wet and snowy winters night. The owner/barman was very welcoming, and friendly going considerably beyond the call of duty and out of his way to act as taxi (taking a lot of his time) to take some members of the party 30km up the road to collect our van. A heater was provided for the three of us who were lucky enough to stay behind, not only to dry our selves out but some of out gear as well. Hot tea and chocolate were the order of the day as well as a few well earned locally brewed pints.

The Inn was semi busy with local land owners enjoying a Saturday an ale or two!! The bar staff tried to help accommodate our plan on recovering a broken bike by hiring/asking the local farmer to use their tractor the next day to recover our broken bike.

All in all a very friendly welcoming family run Inn. Well worth a visit if passing by or planning a route around the local area. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward101Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    14
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
16
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Stumbled across this gem accidentally whilst out trail riding across the cambrian mountains... We had a few motorcycle issues and stopped to ask for the nearest petrol station (as the one next door was shut)... The warm reception was excellent even though we were dripping wet and caked in mud the owners rushed around getting us towels and heaters - very accommodating indeed! The beer was at perfect temperature and the food great.

In our hour of need the over generous and kind owner offered to drive us back to our vans (miles away in Ryhader) as he could see we were in a bit of a pickle - Top chap, Top pub! This will certainly be our base for our next trips out over the cambrian mountains - well worth a visit if you are in the area!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesjeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Turned up on sat evening with 4adults and 5children between the ages of 7 and 13 looking for food after a good day offloading. Barman's initial response to our request for a table was "how many hundreds of you are there?". He then rolled his eyes and shrugged as if we were asking for the earth. We assumed he would have been happy to have had a guaranteed £150 from an empty restaurant but obviously not!!!! Went to Llandovery and had an excellent meal in the castle hotel.....go there for excellent customer service and quality food (lovely steaks cooked to perfection!) or suffer the ineptness and misery in the trout inn.....the choice is yours! Recommend they re-name as "The OLD Trout", or sack the bar staff!!!!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

After a lovely day on the Brecon beacons we decided to stop at the Trout inn for a pub meal at 6pm ish on a Saturday. We consisted of 2 families with no young children. We were greeted by a middle aged grumpy man behind the bar who acted as if we had disturbed him from something, there was not a soul in the bar or restaraunt area. His attitude was shocking and before we even had a chance to ask about food he asked in a very angry voice "how bloody many of you is there" so we chose not to spend our money with him and then later found the Castle Hotel in Llandovery which was a fantastic meal and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crugiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2011

A group of us (motorcyclists) stayed at the Trout Inn for three nights in June, as a base for a tour of Wales. It turned out to be one of the wettest weekends ever. In fact, it was that bad we had no choice but to stay in all day Sunday, Pete (The owner) however, with his hospitality was excellent.
The room that we stayed in was clean & tidy, the food was excellent, as was the beer, and the rates were very reasonable too.
Apologies to Pete for the delay in writing this review.
Thank you again for making it a good weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdhog123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Stayed at the Trout Inn with a group of friends and used it as a base for touring around Wales on our motorbikes. Linda & Peter made us feel very welcome throughout out our stay and they couldn't do enough to help us. There was a good selection of food on the menu so we eat in every day and of course started the day with an excellent cooked breakfast. I would thoroughly recommend this as a great place to stay with access to great roads in every direction so all in all a really perfect base for our tour.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRPEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Stayed for 4 nights with fellow motorcyclists on Touring Holiday, great location, quite, and pleasent area.
The host of the Trout Inn, Peter, was warm and welcoming, helpful and with his wife as cook, the hospitality was excellent.
Food was very good and excellent value for money, beer was served at correct temp and bar area was always clean and tidy.
The rooms are pleasent and en-suite, however only have a bath and hand basin was a bit of a negative for me, as Showers seem to be the norm in most hotels these days.
Overall the Trout Inn is a great place to spend a few days, using it as a base to explore possibly the quitier side of Wales, although time to travel to other tourist areas was easy to do.
Only one further observation about Trout Inn, is that there is very little local entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikerboyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
2.8 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
897 reviews
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
792 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
52 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#3 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
45 reviews
3.8 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trout Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trout Inn

Property: The Trout Inn
Address: The Trout Inn, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4UU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Trout Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of wales, the trout inn is a stone's throw away from the little explored Cambrian mountains, whose hidden delights include the devil's staircase track and the Llyn Brianne reservoir, with scenery rivaling that of the Elan Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Trout Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trout Inn Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing