We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, convenient, welcoming and good value.”
Review of The Trout Inn

The Trout Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanwrtyd Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Trout Inn
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stayed for a few days a couple of months ago. It was, above all, excellent value, with friendly, helpful and welcoming hosts. My room was spotlessly clean, with en-suite bath and shower for relief after several long days cycling in the Cambrian Mountains. Food was perfectly adequate for a hungry cyclist. An honest pub with a warm welcome and good rooms. The best value around.

Room Tip: The rooms are comprehensively described on the pub's website. I chose Room 2, which at £35 b&...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

Customer Service 0
Sarcasm 10.
Food 0

Disgracful way to treat & talk to customers in the way the couple do. If I had not already paid at the bar for the so called home made food, that was burnt & warm, I would have walked out.
However after a long haul drive I did not have the energy to complain !!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank OldFashioned883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Called in at this pub/bed and breakfast last night for a meal. The meal was great and very fresh and hot. Have seen previous comments but we can only speak as we find. The gent behind the bar was very friendly, his wife does the cooking and they are both lovely people. Not expensive to eat there.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank ChristineM717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Inn with rooms. Handy for nearby garage and shop. I was a lone angler and was charged a single rate for a double room/en-suite.

Friendly proprietors. Clean room. Good value food. Great packed lunch with flask fill-up. Set me up for a good day's fishing on the Upper Wye.

Not the Ritz but so was the price - all very good value. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room at the back - although road noise was not a problem for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mugrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Popped in for dinner with some friends. From the limited choice of starters (prawn cocktail, soup & garlic mushrooms) 2 had the prawns and me and a friend had the mushrooms. The prawns were ok looking but the mushrooms were absolutely vile. Tasted like canned mushrooms cooked in vinegar or gone off butter. Couldn't even taste the mushroom. Despite the fact that me and my friend had barely touched them they were taken away without comment. 3 people had the steak which in all fairness was cooked according to their order. 1 ordered peas but it came with salad instead. I had the seafood selection which was barely average. For 4 people, 2 courses each, 6 alcoholic drinks and 2 soft drinks it came to just under £80 which to me felt like a rip off. The review would have been terrible were it not for the positive feedback on the steak. Won't be returning.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Tyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

What a relief to find the Trout Inn after a challenging day riding across the cambrian mountains, excellent food and drink and a very warm welcome despite our muddy and wet exteriors. The hospitably we received was exceptional and made us feel very comfortable indeed.
In our hour of need the over generous and kind owner offered to drive us back to our vans (miles away in Ryhader) what can I say - Top chap, Top pub!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UckfieldMaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

The Trout Inn was a very welcome site after a bunch of nearly broken bikers heading off the hills on a dark, wet and snowy winters night. The owner/barman was very welcoming, and friendly going considerably beyond the call of duty and out of his way to act as taxi (taking a lot of his time) to take some members of the party 30km up the road to collect our van. A heater was provided for the three of us who were lucky enough to stay behind, not only to dry our selves out but some of out gear as well. Hot tea and chocolate were the order of the day as well as a few well earned locally brewed pints.

The Inn was semi busy with local land owners enjoying a Saturday an ale or two!! The bar staff tried to help accommodate our plan on recovering a broken bike by hiring/asking the local farmer to use their tractor the next day to recover our broken bike.

All in all a very friendly welcoming family run Inn. Well worth a visit if passing by or planning a route around the local area. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward101Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llanwrtyd Wells hotels
3.9 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
55 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#3 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
48 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ardwyn House
Ardwyn House
#1 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
133 reviews
3.7 mi away
No photo provided
Really Cool Studios and Accommod...
#10 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
7 reviews
3.8 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trout Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trout Inn

Address: The Trout Inn, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4UU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range: £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Trout Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of wales, the trout inn is a stone's throw away from the little explored Cambrian mountains, whose hidden delights include the devil's staircase track and the Llyn Brianne reservoir, with scenery rivaling that of the Elan Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Trout Inn Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing