We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanwrtyd Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trallwm Forest Cottages
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We are booked to return for the third time this year. We normally stay in Tawny Owl and absolutely love this place. If it's peace and quiet that you are looking for, with no phone signal or access to the outside world, then this is the place for you!

The walks are breathtaking and the dog thinks he's in heaven every time we go!

Room Tip: Tawny Owl is fantastically isolated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 335Catherine335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at Tawney Owl Cottage with our daughter, her partner and our Border Collie for a 4 night break mid November and had the most lovely time, no phone signal, no television signal, just pure peace and quiet.
The cottage was well equipt, warm and cozy -surprisingly so. The shower was excellent, water hot and plentiful, bedrooms were spacious and comfortable, all in all we couldn't have wished for more.
We would recommend a stay in one of these cottages to anyone wanting to get away from it all and will defiantly be visiting again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kodapops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed at the Magpie cottage for 2 nights via a Groupon.

The cottage was spotless and very well equipt with everything you could possibly needed. The cottage is located in a working forest, but apart from seeing the JCB moved down the path once we were not disturbed by any noise at all. The cottage was bigger than I expected, and very romantic. Although it is situated near another cottage, due to the placement of windows it feels very secluded. The kitchen is fully stocked with pots and utensils, and I loved the Cath Kidston items! The kitchen even has tupperware and flasks to take out on picnics. There is a selection of board games and jigsaws, plus books. The tv gets basic freeview channels and there is a DVD/CD player.

The owner Mary came and introduced herself and checked we had settled in okay. And the gentleman in the trail cafe was very informative about the local area.

The nearby area is visually stunning, we stopped the car often to take in the views! The forest itself is pretty and has nice walks. There is absolutely no mobile signal at the cottage (which was bliss!) but there is a payphone on site. It is very secluded so make sure you take all that you need, as the nearest shop/petrol station is a good 20mins away.

The only very slight negatives I have for this trip is that there is no shower in the cottage (which is mentioned on the website), there is a shower attachement provided but this did leak a little. Also check out is 10am, which is a trifle early, especially on a short break.

I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Layla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We just had a really lovely weekend in Trawsgyrch. I would highly recommend this cottage for a group of friends or family. Six adults, four young children, and a baby, spent the late may bank holiday weekend taking in the beautiful surroundings during the day, and relaxing in the comfort of a very well equipped, cosy by the fire, but spacious throughout, cottage. On arrival the cottage was very clean. It has a great shower and very comfortable beds.
The children had great fun on the trampoline, which kept them entertained for hours, and playing outside. We had fantastic weather, so we were able to enjoy picnics, and had a brilliant day on Sunday at Elan Valley, which is well worth a visit. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyholidaymaker30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We spend the bank holiday weekend in Trawsgyrch cottage, with a group of friends to celebrate a special birthday.
The cottage was immaculate, comfy and fully equipped with everything that you would need, including towels, games, books. There was plenty of space for the 10 of us.
This cottage is set on its own, so there is know one around to bother you which was a real highlight. The kids had an amzing time riding their bikes, playing in the ponds and dens (bring plenty of spare clothes for muddy wet kids!) We had lovely walks, usually ending up in the cafe for coffee and cake, yum, yum.
Evenings were spent by the fire, perfect!
Highly reccommend this beautiful cottage
Knowbody wanted to leave at the end of the weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

the cottages are very clean and everything you need for a total get away from the fast pace of life. We just love it you can just switch off and relax and enjoy the wildlife or just chill out and read or play games with the family. We are long term family/ couple who just love going back for peace.Even our daughter who now is 23 just loves going there to chill out. We now have returned over 6 times at different times of the year, even when the roads are full of snow. We would recommend any of the cottages to any one who needs a real break ,and to relax. Great if you have dogs too there is so many places to walk and visit

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Having stayed in Magpie the first time as a couple we have returned to stay in Nant Garreg with friends on two occasions now. The cottage is well equipped and has everything (bar a fish slice for turning fried eggs!) you could need for a long weekend. Being 33 weeks pregnant I didn't take part in any mountain biking but my husband and friends went out a few times each day. The trails are difficult enough to keep my other half entertained but our friend commented that the long climbs didn't always warrant the downhill but he would be more than happy to use the cottages as an idyllic base for exploring the wider area. Mary usually comes and says hi but we didn't see her this time round, maybe she was busy? Christine who bakes all the delicious cakes and bread in the cafe was unusually surly and short when we popped in for lunch one day but was far friendlier the next day.
We found the mattress on the double bed uncomfortable and our friends commented that the twin bed mattresses were equally uncomfortable which put a slight dampener on things but not too much.
All in all it's an ideal base for people looking for a quiet get away and we will be returning with baby in tow in the future!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Tyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llanwrtyd Wells hotels
5.1 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
54 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#3 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
47 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Ardwyn House
Ardwyn House
#1 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
131 reviews
5.1 mi away
No photo provided
Really Cool Studios and Accommod...
#10 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
7 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cerdyn Villa B&B
Cerdyn Villa B&B
#9 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trallwm Forest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trallwm Forest Cottages

Address: Abergwesyn | Trallwm Forest Lodge, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4TS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Llanwrtyd Wells
Hotel Class:3 star — Trallwm Forest Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Trallwm Forest Cottages Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing