We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The start of many a great weekend”
Review of Neuadd Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Neuadd Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The start of many a great weekend”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Wide range of very good beer including their own. Reasonable pub food and a log fire. Good starting point for lots of walks and events

Helpful?
Thank GeoffJacque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    38
    3
    8
    7
See reviews for
8
26
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I was recommended to stay here by friends, and wasn't disappointed. We used it as a base for walking in the Welsh hills, so tucked into a Neuadd hearty Welsh Breakfast beforehand! The rooms are comfy, clean and warm, Both bars have real log fires and there is a brewery 'out-back' so the beer is just right!
Car park tucked round the back, The hotel is easy to find and rates are very reasonable for a weekender away from it all..

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid the rooms above the bar if you want an early night!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoppy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I have been visiting the Neuadd Arms for over 10 years, using it as a base for mountian biking weekends. It is one of the friendliest places I have ever stayed in, and an ideal place to relax after a good ride. Everybody, including the locals, make you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble, just ask if you want anything. If you like good beer then this is the place for you as Lindsey brews an excellent selection in the microbrewery next door - trips around it available on request. The food is excellent and plentiful, with a good choice of restaurant and bar meals.
On the downside, it's fair to say that if you are looking for a 5 star experience then this is probably not the place for you, the rooms are a little on the small side, but they are clean and the beds are comfortable. I have just tries to book in for a weekend in Nov. 2012, but it is already fully booked, need I say more!!

Room Tip: There is a room with a 4 poster bed available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powys, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We had lunch in the Neuadd Arms on the last day of our holiday in the area. The service was friendly, the atmosphere homely. Food was very good value; and my husband really enjoyed the beer - they are the Heart of Wales Brewery. Highly recommended if you want value for money, informal surroundings and friendly owners. Newspapers to read, comfy seating, would love to visit when the fire is lit

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiggysmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The place was crawling with dogs, walkers, hikers, us and our Lurcher - Basil, was made exceptionally welcome. A lovely old hotel which brought back memories of staying in the King's Arms in Kingsbridge Devon, where each year we'd sneak the Dachunds in under a blanket in the 1970's, now everywhere has gone Euro Nazi!

It was just amazing to place to remember the past the way things really used to be, "Heartbeat" if you must, but a visit will definitley revive your own "Heartbeat" moments. The Welsh locals were extremelty hospitable, I just couldn't work out which was Greengrass!

If you like Premier Inn's and plastic clinical living - don't blindly book in.

If you on the other hand want good value for money (the food was good as well) and a warm welcome, it's the place for you.

When I was a sales rep I always wanted to stay at places like this, because you actually get a decent night's sleep on a decent bed, not next to a familly of six in a Premier ..........

We'll be back!!!!!!

Room Tip: We were at the back vert quiet but it was a allocated dog room which was incredibly clean could not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkCross1486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I will start with the negative - just to get it out of the way. the general decor is best described as care worn, and dated in some cases.

now for the rest of the review, check in was painless, the room was very comfortable, especially the 4 poster bed, and spotlessly clean. the staff are extremely helpful and polite, service is also prompt.

The location is fantastic, as is the food (and the portions). The beer is spectacular as it should be with a brewery on site.

we had no problems getting served here at any time of the day, and had a great afternoon in the lounge (due to rain) with some of the locals, whom are just as polite and pleasant as the staff.

Saturaday night was a lot busier, with geusts from other hotlels in the village coming to sample the food and beer, they all seemed abit upset that they had chosen other establishments, as the Neuadd Arms is very good value for money.

A lot of renovations have been carried out since some of the previous reviews, with more works planned. After all, this is a 150 year old building, it is open all year round, and gets very busy, especially for the activity weekends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonegrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

After arriving after a long journey , the staff were more intent onserving the locals at the bar than checking us in and this was the vane for the rest of our stay , almost if we were second class citizens. The room was far from clean and the shower in the room was mouldy and had a weird smell emulating from the curtian. It appears that dogs are welcome but no choice given if a non dog room is required as the odour of dog was present along with an abundance of hair. We decided to move onto the Belle Vue public house, which we discovered had rooms, for a drink as seemed impossible to get served in the Neaudd bar. Two different establishmants that were so close but totally worlds apart in attitude and service.
Not the most enjoyable stay in Wales we have experienced and will stay in Brecon when next in that part.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Bazzer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
0.0 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#3 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
42 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
897 reviews
15.5 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
235 reviews
14.4 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,318 reviews
14.4 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neuadd Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neuadd Arms Hotel

Property: Neuadd Arms Hotel
Address: The Square, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Neuadd Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian Grade II listed building offering comfortable, family run accommodation, good home cooked food, log fires, real ale bars and a games room. Facilities include tea/coffee making facilities in all rooms, two Bars, Residents’ TV lounge, Restaurant and a Launderette available for guests use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Neuadd Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neuadd Arms Hotel Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing