We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such A shame!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neuadd Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Neuadd Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Essex
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Such A shame!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Pro's
Very friendly owners and local
Great location in a lovely village
Lovely food served by great staff

Cons
Tired building needs a facelift
Avoid any room at the front-noisy local kids on Saturday night -2am!
Room was clean but shabby old fashioned furniture - and just not that good
En suite was adequate just

Price £75 per night for a double incl breakfast considering the state of the place - overpriced

Doubtful I would stay there again - which is a shame

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank shirls115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    36
    3
    8
    7
See reviews for
8
25
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We had such a great time at the Neuadd Arms during our recent group stay. As an adult walking group the location was perfect with miles of wild countryside to explore. The hotel even brews their own beer which was a bonus after a long day out on the hills.

Best of all though was the care and attention we received from the owners and staff. The hotel is not an upmarket kind of place and they don't pretend that it is. What we really enjoyed was the homely atmosphere and that they really did make an effort to look after us. The food was great and they have lovely home made cakes for afternoon tea. Everything was just what we wanted and more than we expected.

We felt very comfortable here and would be delighted to come back again.

Room Tip: The Green Room with the four poster bed was especially nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Budget_xplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed with hiking group two nights. Good room. No 17 with bathroom. Very good food, packed lunches provided. A friendly, top value hotel. Bar has own brewed beers which they readily offer to taste. Look out for owner's entertaining shirt collection.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed at the Neuadd Arms for 5 nights with a walking group. OK the bedrooms were not to Ritz standard (ours at the back of the hotel was recently decorated but furniture was old and lacked drawer space) but any reservations on this score were more than overcome by the fantastic food (the cakes served as tiffin were to die for!), the beer produced in the microbrewery and sold at prices last seen in regular pubs about 15 years ago, and the warm and helpful service provided by the hard working owners and staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 48DelbOy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Just stayed 5 days at the Neuadd Arms on a walking holiday. Lovely location for walking - great scenery. Hotel was great - large and bright room right at the front of the hotel with both bath and shower. Stayed full board which included dinner (good menu) and a packed lunch to take when out walking. Great choice on both breakfast and dinner menus. Also included afternoon tea and cakes on our return from walking - great home baked cakes!
Walks were led by host Lindsay and his two dogs Charlie and Fynn and he included many local facts about the area.
Staff at the hotel were really great - good service and very polite. What else could we ask for - we will definitely go there again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank capple1641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Back to the Neuadd Arms for our 4th trip in 12 months, excellent organised walking events directly from the door. Beautiful country side, the Neuadd hotel is a quaint country hotel, family run with very helpful and friendly staff. It even has its own micro-brewery and excellent food. East Lancashire Long Distance Walking Association can strongly recommend a stay here for walkers of all abilities.

Room Tip: The Green room has a very nice four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

This was the second time we have stayed at The Neuadd Arms, and we hope to go back next year (and years to come) when we visit the spring fair at the Royal Welsh Showground.

There's probably a hundred hotels that are closer to the Showground but it's more than worth the 15 minute drive.

It's a great place, full of character and characters. The owners make you very welcome, and the staff and locals are lovely.

Jan who works there is a star and has gone out of her way to make us feel welcome on the two occasions we have stayed there - we were thrilled to see her again this time.

The breakfast is fabulous and our request to have it served earlier than usual was met, for which we were very grateful.

If you are expecting shiny, new Ikea-style fixtures and fittings, this might not be the place for you. The hotel's style is vintage and eclectic, but it's clean, the people are very friendly and the food is great. They have their own brewery, we must sample the beers next time.

Overall a fantastic place and we can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: The Green Room is lovely and has a four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKCoupleGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
4.2 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#3 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
9.6 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neuadd Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neuadd Arms Hotel

Property: Neuadd Arms Hotel
Address: The Square, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Neuadd Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian Grade II listed building offering comfortable, family run accommodation, good home cooked food, log fires, real ale bars and a games room. Facilities include tea/coffee making facilities in all rooms, two Bars, Residents’ TV lounge, Restaurant and a Launderette available for guests use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Neuadd Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neuadd Arms Hotel Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing