We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded Quality”
Review of Neuadd Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Neuadd Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Faded Quality”
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Stayed at this hotel over a Saturday night in October 2010. It was my second visit as I had previously patronised this venue 2-years ago. In the intervening period of my 2 visits I could only note one difference. The price. It had increased significantly.

First the positive points:
The hotel is large and spacious and is situated in a true gem of a town in the beautiful mid-Wales countryside. The food in the hotel is home-made and very tasty. The staff are accomodating and very homely in ther manner and demeanour.

Sadly, now the negatives:
The room was on the grubby side and the furnishings looked decidedly jaded and old fashioned. The oversink-light in the bathroom was defective and the TV did not work (it would not show anything other than fuzz). The bed was without any meaningful support and I suffered a terrible night, which was similar to sleeping on a haystack.

In this age, when it is possible to obtain a room in a Travel Lodge for about £30 (allbeit without breakfast), I was saddened to see that the bill for our room was a very hefty £75.

There is a good feel about this location, and the locally brewed beer served in the bar is first class. However, the rooms are certainly more hostel than hotel and are grossly overpriced and more importantly, less than clean.

If you are looking for accomodation in Llanwertyd Wells I would suggest that you visit this hotel. Have a beer in the bar and even enjoy some of the good food. But for the love of Elvis do not take a room without at least asking to see the room and check the standard of the hygiene of the room on offer. There are many hotels and guest houses in the town which would offer a better, and cheaper option.

In summery ~ sadly I could not recommend this venue to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank AshJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    38
    3
    8
    7
See reviews for
8
26
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2010

This hotel was ideal for the rambling group. Lots of good homely food, including afternoon tea and cakes on return from walks. Extra helpful staff. The hotel is quirky but comfortable and clean. Only problem was that the hot water ran out when 30+ walkers all wanted baths at the same time in spite of new boilers being fitted recently.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outdoorfan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2010

What a great little find. Has its own brewery - the beers are very nice, the food is great - good hearty home cooked stuff.

A very friendly little hotel, I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dostoy1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flinders, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

This place was great!!! The staff were so happy and friendly, the food was really good and reasonably priced. The room was a little dated but was clean and comfortable. We did have some trouble getting our heavy suitcases up the narrow staircase but its all part of the experience. We had a few pints in the bar with the locals and they were all very welcoming " even the bear wrestler".
The staff gave us some great tips on places to visit and things to do," bog snorkling was out of the question".
We made use of the laundromat outside which only cost us about 4 pounds for a weeks worth of washing which i thought was great value.
The only negative is, i was politely pushed from a seat by the fire by one of the locals dogs.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

First things first. If your particular thing is the clean lines and sanitised conformity of your regular Ibis, Premier Inn etc then this may not be the place for you. Be maybe it is...if you'd just open your mind......

This place is fantastic. In your regular hotel, the bar and restaurant is usually a stale environment. At country Inns, the bar is usually good, but the accomodation normally leaves something to be desired. The Neuadd strikes a balance perfectly. Lounge and bar area with roaring log fires and a pleasant and well lit dinning area. You can just as easily hide in a nook or cranny somewhere as talk to the locals about the state of the nation or which was the best beer on tap - whatever takes your fancy. I went for the latter and got to sample 6 different varieties of beer brewed on the premises - I'd recommend one but I have no recollection.

I stayed in a double (upgraded from a single) - watch out some websites only offer dual occupancy double rates and it's cheaper if you're on your own so ring the hotel direct. The room was clean, comfortable and had a quirky non-conformist edginess, like the mad-as-hell shower curtain that did a better job of waking me up than the Berocca. Bed was really comfy and despite facing the street there was no noise in the night (it's a quiet town!) and I haven't slept that well since 1972.

To top it all Llanwrtyd Wells is an awesome place! Great views of the Cambrians and loads going on - I just missed the Saturnalia (although I think Bacchus was still in the bar) and I'm determined to return for the Bike Race Wobble - a volatile combination of drinking beer and mountain cycling......which is probably the only way to ride on two wheels....although I was assured that the drinking only took place after the cycling....

All in all...a fantastic place to stay if you're in this neck of the woods. And if you're not....go there and try it out.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetSetMiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Just returned from the Neuadd Arms Hotel ramblers take note if you want a comfortable hotel with 5 star food then look no further. Out host Lindsay even guided our walks. Having spent many years on rambling weekends this comes out as the best for food. The walks were excellent and on returning to the hotel we had lovely afternoon tea with delicious cakes. The rooms were not grand but very comfortable and very affordable.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friendshipSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2009

When we arrived after a 3 hour journey we were met with a very friendly and warm welcome, my partner and I checked in along with our little puppy and went off to the room. The room was pleasant and as we had expected, the bathroom had no shower however there was a private shower room next door (we stayed in room 17). There is a Tourist information office opposite the hotel, we brought a map and went off to view the area, on the night the three of us eat in the back bar, we found all three courses most enjoyable and the service was friendly and efficient.
Breakfast the next day continued in the same fashion, we were the last to come down for breakfast (shattered form our walking) the level of service just continued to impress me. I work for an international 4 and 5 star group of hotel and I found the Neyadd arms inspiring. Well done to the team that runs the hotel (including Charlie). We look forward to coming back for one of the meny events

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maverick8520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
0.2 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
42 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#3 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
45 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neuadd Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neuadd Arms Hotel

Property: Neuadd Arms Hotel
Address: The Square, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Neuadd Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian Grade II listed building offering comfortable, family run accommodation, good home cooked food, log fires, real ale bars and a games room. Facilities include tea/coffee making facilities in all rooms, two Bars, Residents’ TV lounge, Restaurant and a Launderette available for guests use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Neuadd Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neuadd Arms Hotel Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing