We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in a perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Emma and Roger are perfect hosts and could not be more welcoming. The house and room was very clean and comfortable, the food was outstanding. The house is located in a quiet area of Llanwrtyd Wells which is in a perfect location for touring the Cambrian Mountains. Emma and Roger's knowledge of the local and wider area is invaluable and certainly ensured that I saw the best of what this part of Wales has to offer. I will certainly be returning....

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevorPunnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2011

The Country House was situated in a quiet local with very good views of the surrounding country side. The room had all amenities and were nicely decorated. The food was very good, and the owners were very helpful and informative about the surrounding area and recommended places to visit. Eveything was done to make our stay pleasurable and we were made very welcome by the owners.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanboil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

This is the 5th or 6th time I have stayed at Lasswade and would recommend it to anyone who wants an active break or one of doing little- whichever you choose, you must eat here!!!. I have always found Emma and Roger to be good hosts and will always go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. The guesthouse is in a small village with little to do, but in a great location for walking routes. On our last trip, we travelled to the Brecons which was some distance away,but the bath and fantastic food at the end of the 40 minutes journey back from the hills was very welcome! Definitely be back

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan_Hampshire88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Lasswade Hotel has proven to be a lovely place for me and my family (including teenagers and younger children!), to stay. Emma and Roger Stevens, the owners and managers are a wonderful and friendly couple with masses of interesting information about the area and life in Wales. They are warm, friendly, accommodating and fun to be with. Roger is an excellent cook and all meals were of a very high standard - a real treat! The rooms are clean, modern, comfortable, with fab ensuites and stunning views. What more can you ask for? Thank you, Emma and Roger, for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyp0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Our stay was to pay a visit to the local beer (and cycling - not that we partake in cycling) festival, with several friends. Hotel was clean and comfortable with great breakfasts (we didn't try dinner - saving that for another visit).
Found our hosts to be very pleasant (and Roger shared a common interest in various forms of motorsport and Land Rovers).
Good location in a lovely part of Wales.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham-G4FUJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2006

This is a gem of a B&B, in a class a cut above most other B&Bs. Its very well decorated, and extremely clean and comfortable, both in the rooms and the common areas.
The food in the restaurant and at breakfast is top notch - the best in town, and the welcome couldn't be friendlier.
Location is in countryside but still central (although in the smallest town in GB everything is central), and very peaceful.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank themantheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2006

We have stayed in the Brecon's on plenty of occasions. This hotel was pretty expensive by comparison to other accommodation we have found locally. There are some good places in Llandovery, for example, which are almost half the cost and much nicer. The standard of accommodation at Lasswade was below what we would normally expect, but especially so in view of the cost of the room.

We declined to eat in the restaurant in view of the price, and so I can not comment about the quality, but at £25 per head I would not have expected anything less than "truly magnificent". From the general shabby state of the hotel, we decided that this was not worth the risk.

These were views we fairly formed on our arrival, and even though the later incident resulted in us being shouted at aggressively by the owner and told to leave (at 8pm on a Bank Holiday week-end ) this was actually a very satisfying outcome for us.

It made no difference that this was all a genuine mistake, because rules are clearly rules. However, a non-negotiable levy of £7.00 for opening a single bottle of wine does not display much business sense given the fully stocked bar downstairs and the unquenched thirst we all had after an afternoon walking in the surrounding hills.

The hotel was also curiously empty for a Bank Holiday week-end.

This only leads us to surmise this must be a hotel business in desperate need of cutomers with no real clue as to how to keep them happy.

Stayed: May 2005
8  Thank Alan-B-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
4.1 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
925 reviews
9.6 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#3 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
42 reviews
17.8 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
985 reviews
14.4 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lasswade Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lasswade Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range: £63 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lasswade Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a peaceful break in the heart of Wales. Enjoy our hospitality, good food and amazing views. Four star graded period country house. Restaurant & Licensed. WiFi. Off road parking, semi rural location but 2mins walk to town centre. Local places to visit are market towns, historic castles, country houses & Gardens. Stay 3 nights or more and receive a complimentary bottle of wine (this offer applies to 2 people sharing a room and dinner must be taken at least 2 evenings). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lasswade Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lasswade Country Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing