We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Neuadd Arms Hotel(Llanwrtyd Wells)
US$113
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lake Country House & Spa(Llangammarch Wells)
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belle Vue Hotel(Llanwrtyd Wells)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ty Carreg(Llanwrtyd Wells)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage(Llanwrtyd Wells)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
Cedars Guest House(Builth Wells)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
36
13
3
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
13
3
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hostsexcellent chefevery eveningrooms are cleanstayed one nightfantastic placefull english breakfastsurrounding countrysidereal alemid walesb bemmahospitalityhorses
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Lasswade is a "find". Emma and Roger, the proprietors, offer flawless hospitality. Nothing was too much trouble, and they gave a wonderful welcome each morning at breakfast and every evening when we returned back from our day out. Both were wonderful with my 7 and 9 year old children, who loved them and loved being at the Lasswade. The house is very comfortable and our room had a stunning view. The dining room is beautifully furnished and the food was superb, using local fresh produce and being perfectly executed. My food was at least as good as that I get at my local Michelin starred restaurant in west London. The menu has three choices per course (more for deserts) and it was all delicious. Children are well catered for too and, if they don't want to eat from the main menu, Roger is more than happy to make them whatever they want. The wine list is limited, but good. I had the Lebanese red, which Roger recommended, and it was excellent. I have stayed in this area many times, but not at the Lasswade before. And I will definitely be back (and my children are already asking!). For the comfort, quality and hospitality, the pricing is also very reasonable. Emma and Roger can make recommendations for local sporting activities (fishing, riding, etc) and points of interest (museums, farms, coastal spots, drives, festivals, etc) too. So do ask!

Room Tip: Just ask the proprietors. Depends on what is more important to you. There are larger rooms, some with views better than others, etc.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaff_22, Owner at Lasswade Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. Pleased to look after you and your family. Sorry for not responding sooner, not used to this system, cracked it now. Look forward to you all returning next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit and from arrival I was made to feel very welcome by Roger and Emma. The room was lovely and clean and the food, served late at my request due to my arrival after 9 p.m, was excellent. A lovely haven of tranquility after a hectic day at the Royal Welsh Show!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GwennoNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaff_22, Owner at Lasswade Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your kind words (apologies for delay, getting used to using this system now). Look forwad to seeing you Royal Welsh Show next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

In total agreement with the comment "way past its best". Unfortunately we did not see this review and we did stay for one night. We should not have paid for this room . The windows were rotten and would not open. The room smelt of the rotten wood. It was small claustophobic and far too hot resulting a bad migraine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Geoffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaff_22, Owner at Lasswade Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

According to our records, we have not had a family from Denbeigh (N.Wales) during the month of July. Nearest we find is a lone traveller from nr. Rhos on Sea? room described hardly claustrphobic, has a large bay window overlooking the Welshe Countryside. Leave this review up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Emma and Roger were very welcoming,warm and kind to us during our most enjoyable 2 day stay at Lasswade.All meals, without exception, were outstandingly good.The evening meals were taken in a cozy candlelit room.There were good choices for all the courses and the locally sourced ingredients were beautifully prepared and cooked by Roger to bring out all their delicate flavours. Portions were perfect so that at the end of the meal we felt very satisfied rather than stuffed.A choice of reasonably priced wines and bottled water completed a most delightful dining experience.
Our room (Valley) had a beautiful view of the rolling hills and valleys which were speckled with sheep and lambs.The king size bed was very comfortable and the large en suite bathroom was well stocked with organic toiletries.
Breakfast, taken in a conservatory with panoramic views was excellent. There were nice touches such as a wide choice of quality teas,a fruit cocktail of blueberries, raspberries and strawberries and dried fruit marinaded overnight in Earl grey tea.
We greatly enjoyed the homely cossetting we received,the fabulous food, the tranquil surroundings and the very varied local walks.
We will certainly be back and highly recommend it to discerning couples.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have the best views
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ushabenjaminsamartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaff_22, Owner at Lasswade Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts. It was a pleasure having you to stay and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Bizarre place and rather odd experience...Please note that this review is for the restaurant only.

Felt like a bit like Faulty Towers to be honest. Have not stayed there and would have not wanted to. It is totally dated - old carpets, flowery curtains, dust on the ceiling... It just felt unclean.

The chef and the owner is still riding on his past glory of being the head chef of some London establishment (won't be using any names here as I do not feel that it is worth it).

Food was very average. I can prepare better meals at home. It was also rather expensive for what it was.

The hostess was way over the top. Extremely uncomfortable in her own skin and just doesn't know when to leave guests to their own devices...

It was very bright in the dining room (could not possibly call it a restaurant). The lights were turned on even higher during the meal. Odd if you ask me!

The owner just could not stop talking about his past and all the invitations to do TV shows that he is apparently having to turn down...As if!!

This place is simply not worth it. Please do yourself a favour and spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Izzysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaff_22, Owner at Lasswade Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

The reason we have taken a while to reply to this, is that we have taken the trouble to contact, all other guests that evening. The remark posted is an opinion, from a visit lasting 60mins plus. What is very hard for us to understand is that no other persons in the Restaurant shared this view or indeed, anyone staying with us. Only just prior to this visit, we had, had our inspection from the A.A. Food/Hotel Inspector. Keeping two A.A. rosettes is not easy. He had no reservations at all and he had the same menu?
We recall these guests did not want to communicate with us or any other guests during their visit which did appear strange at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews