We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilsby Country House
Kent
1 review
“Utterly Charming”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We recently chose Kilsby Country House as we were looking for somewhere that was "pet friendly" to take our dog as we were attending a show in Builth Wells. Having never stayed here before we did not know what to expect. We were not disappointed, Chris & Sue were absolutely charming hosts and when we left we felt like we had known them for years. There are lots of little touches that makes this B&B stand out, not least the Bara Brith left in the room each day and the homemade bread baked fresh each day...delicious. The gardens are delightful, the views absolutely stunning and the Kilsby breakfast scrummy! It leaves us only to say that if you want to stay somewhere where they personally care about their guests and attention to detail is evident, then book to stay at Kilsby our dog Alfie loved it too. We will definitely be going back and have no hesitation in recommending this delightful B&B to future guests. Utterly charming.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
83
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cullompton
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Last weekend we had a fantastic 2 night break at Kilsby Country House we could not fault it from
the welcome to the goodbye,We were attending a horse event at Builth Wells which is only
12 miles away,the peace and quite after a busy day was very welcome and the Bara Brith which
was left in the room each day when we returned

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We went again; just as wonderful. Lots of little touches in the rooms (my own corkscrew!) add to the experience, and Kilsby Breakfast goes from strength to strength. Forgot to buy any Bara Brith (again) but then that was our fault

Room Tip: If you're numerous, the two-bedroom cottage is a better option - separate access and a porch are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdwUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My wife and I booked a double room and found ourselves upgraded to the adjoining cottage. We were attracted by its high rating and we were definitely NOT disappointed. We loved the attention to detail and all needs were thoughtfully provided for. Sue and Chris have done a wonderful job with this property in its delightful rural setting. Sue is a warm, friendly and accommodating host. A former teacher, she has the "gift of the gab" and is a font of local knowledge. If you like birds this is the place to come. With 10 bird boxes on the property and woodpeckers and fly catchers in the vicinity, this is a bird watchers delight. And the breakfasts!!! Beautifully prepared and all you could eat. Sue's home-made bread, veggie sausages and lentil cutlets are scrumptious. We cannot speak highly enough of our stay and would strongly recommend Kilsby and its fascinating and inspiring history. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good (see photos). We were upgraded to the attached cottage and had the double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2012

This is our first visit to Kilsby and no doubt won't be our last. We had a great time there and we were made to feel right at home. We experienced great hospitality during our stay which you simply cannot get in a hotel. The location is truly stunning, situated in a tranquil Welsh valley. If you're looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life I cannot recommend Kilsby Country House enough, it's that good!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Srifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This a four star welsh Tourist Board rated establishment and deserves every star and more. The house and accommodation is excellent.
The attached two bedroom cottage is wonderful.
The location is out of this world and ideally placed for many outdoor activities and attractions in Wales.
Sue and Chris are a wonderful couple and can't do enough to help. Furthermore Cris is a fishing expert and gives excellent advice and help.
Go to theit website for full details.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlo_ManUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Sue and Chris were most hospitable, providing everything we could want including a superb breakfast each morning. There is a nice atmosphere in the house with freedom to come and go according to one's schedule. The bed was really comfortable and the house is in a beautiful quiet valley, well situated for touring or walking.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llanwrtyd Wells hotels
1.3 mi away
Ardwyn House
Ardwyn House
#1 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
127 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
145 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#5 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
45 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#3 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilsby Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilsby Country House

Property: Kilsby Country House
Address: Kilsby Kilsby | Kilsby, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4TL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilsby Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilsby is a very special place and Kilsby Country House provides fine bed & breakfast accommodation for up to 6 guests in 2 rooms. The 5 star Kilsby Breakfast is legendary. Kilsby offers spacious rooms with private bathroom facilities and free wi-fi. There is an open plan living room and a breakfast room with stunning views. Off-road free parking is available. Llanwrtyd Wells with it's local pubs and restaurants is just 1 mile away. Kilsby is an ideal place to stay if you're interested in walking, mountain biking, fishing and bird watching/ bird photography or if you just want to relax and do very little. We don't allow dogs in the guest rooms in the house but we do allow dogs in our self catering cottage adjacent to the main house. Breakfast is an optional extra for guests staying in the cottage. Please ask for details and special rates for B&B in the cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kilsby Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilsby Country House Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing