We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family weekend in Wales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilsby Country House
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Kilsby Country House was a perfect place to get together with family (coming from all over the world: Paris, London and Lagos) to relax and enjoy the beautiful hills of Wales. We went jogging, hiking and horse riding, among others, benefiting from Sue's helpful and honest recommendations.

We loved the location and the beautiful view on the hills, and the comfortable, tastefully furnished rooms. On the pictures the interior had seemed a bit dated to us, but it was a pleasant surprise to find the house so prettily decorated with great eye for detail, harmony and personal touches (Sue's beautiful collection of china, pictures of their out-door travels and fishing, books, cozy living room with a lovely fire place and an amazing collection of video's and DVD's, for young and old!).

Breakfast was great indeed, full English with great home-made bread, and so well adapted to our preferences (thank you, Sue!), and we took back home her delicious cake after tasting the complimentary slices in our rooms.

With their private bedrooms being on the same floor, we still had great privacy (shower, toilet and big bathroom with bath and toilet) while occupying both B&B rooms. Next time, we would love to try out the cottages as well.

All in all, Sue & Chris made us feel very much at home and with them waving us goodbye while we drove away, it really felt like we were parting with an uncle and aunt.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginigio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

Brilliant hosts, brilliant location, brilliant weekend. Booked again for next year. Chris and Sue could not have done more. When Chris says take a torch for the walk home, listen to him and take a torch.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raynewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here for business and was so perfect I found it hard to leave to do my job!
Sue, the host, was very welcoming. The room was clean tidy and very comfy!
The b+b which was once a school house is heated by a biomass boiler for those concerned with keeping their carbon footprint down.
In the morning the host had prepared a large and tasty cooked breakfast with homemade bread which was wonderful to eat overlooking an idyllic part of the country.
Will definitely be staying there again anytime i have to work anywhere near mid Wales!
One of Wales best kept secrets!
nick

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n_irish_nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Really difficult to find anything original to say about the accommodation and the hosts - it's all been said before and everyone can't be wrong. Thoroughtly recommend staying here, without reservation - oh, just thought of something original - the 'house' is within walking distance of a hotel that has its own micro brewery and the other local pub (also real ales) will give you a lift back at closing time!! We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKGHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We recently chose Kilsby Country House as we were looking for somewhere that was "pet friendly" to take our dog as we were attending a show in Builth Wells. Having never stayed here before we did not know what to expect. We were not disappointed, Chris & Sue were absolutely charming hosts and when we left we felt like we had known them for years. There are lots of little touches that makes this B&B stand out, not least the Bara Brith left in the room each day and the homemade bread baked fresh each day...delicious. The gardens are delightful, the views absolutely stunning and the Kilsby breakfast scrummy! It leaves us only to say that if you want to stay somewhere where they personally care about their guests and attention to detail is evident, then book to stay at Kilsby our dog Alfie loved it too. We will definitely be going back and have no hesitation in recommending this delightful B&B to future guests. Utterly charming.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Last weekend we had a fantastic 2 night break at Kilsby Country House we could not fault it from
the welcome to the goodbye,We were attending a horse event at Builth Wells which is only
12 miles away,the peace and quite after a busy day was very welcome and the Bara Brith which
was left in the room each day when we returned

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We went again; just as wonderful. Lots of little touches in the rooms (my own corkscrew!) add to the experience, and Kilsby Breakfast goes from strength to strength. Forgot to buy any Bara Brith (again) but then that was our fault

Room Tip: If you're numerous, the two-bedroom cottage is a better option - separate access and a porch are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdwUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llanwrtyd Wells hotels
1.3 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
54 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#2 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
48 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ardwyn House
Ardwyn House
#1 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
133 reviews
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Really Cool Studios and Accommod...
#10 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
7 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilsby Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilsby Country House

Address: Kilsby Kilsby | Kilsby, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4TL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range: £30 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilsby Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilsby is a very special place and Kilsby Country House provides fine bed & breakfast accommodation for up to 6 guests in 2 rooms. The 5 star Kilsby Breakfast is legendary. Kilsby offers spacious rooms with private bathroom facilities and free wi-fi. There is an open plan living room and a breakfast room with stunning views. Off-road free parking is available. Llanwrtyd Wells with it's local pubs and restaurants is just 1 mile away. Kilsby is an ideal place to stay if you're interested in walking, mountain biking, fishing and bird watching/ bird photography or if you just want to relax and do very little. We don't allow dogs in the guest rooms in the house but we do allow dogs in our self catering cottage adjacent to the main house. Breakfast is an optional extra for guests staying in the cottage. Please ask for details and special rates for B&B in the cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kilsby Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilsby Country House Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing