We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Spot In Welsh Countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilsby Country House
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Staying at the Kilsby B & B is what being in Wales is all about. Upon our arrival, from the front entrance, there were glorious views of the misty valley and hills in the distance. Our host, Sue, greeted us at the front door and was very personable, explaining things in detail as she showed us to our room.

Our room had a large King Size bed and was fairly roomy as most B & B's go. There was the added bonus of seeing an abundance of bird life outside our window. Breakfast was cooked to our specific request and the coffee was probably the best we had tasted up to that point in our UK trip.

We believe that what adds to that something extra is having a host that engages you in conversation without being intrusive and who can do an extra favour, even a small one if the occasion arises. Such was the case at Kilsby when we urgently needed something printed and could't do so from our ipad.

If you are in central Wales this is definitely a place to stay at a very reasonable price.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ely L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

Kilsby Country House is superbly located in the heart of mid Wales, amongst fantastic scenery, and with good views from the house. Sue and Chris are very welcoming, and very friendly. As a keen birdwatcher, I particularly enjoyed the garden birdlife, with nesting Pied Flycatchers and Siskins, Redpolls and Nuthatch visiting the well stocked feeders. I will definitely visit again, and would recommended Kilsby to all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Sue and Chris looked after us so well during our stay. They made good suggestions of places to go to and checked how we had enjoyed whatever we had been doing. Wonderful breakfasts and very comfortable accommodation.

There are plenty of walks available - with route guides and maps available on loan. I also took the recommendation to go for a horse trek with Kim @ Llanwrtyd wells riding & trekking - very impressed with the setup & care of all their animals .... And had a wonderful 2 hour ride in the hills above the town too.

Thanks to everyone

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris_from_Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

This is an excellent choice of B&B.Sue and Chris are very welcoming, the accomodation is very cosy & comfortable and the breakfast was outstanding. We were 2 adults and 3 kids (1 baby) and Sue made a point of learning all our names and prepared a tailored made breakfast for each of us. The kids ate more than they usually do and slept exeptionally well. Breakfast is served with freshly made bread and a superb (non greasy) fry up. The house has an interesting history and is very well placed for some great walks. Would definitely recommend the circular walk. Highly recommended. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeO368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This is my second stay at Kilsby and as last year the accommodation, breakfast and hospitality are faultless.

I hav enow stayed in both bedrooms and both are spacious, immaculate and attention to detail such as the selection of teas, coffees and the daily supply Bara brith is a must after a long day cycling in the valley or up on the hills.

The breakfast is filling with good quality ingredients, fresh bread, fruit etc. The secret is to try and not eat too much!

We stayed for 4 days and the position of Kilsby is excellent for either cycling / walking on the quiet country roads or up on the hills following various forest roads/ trails to places such as Lynn Brianne Reservoir and Llandovery.

As well as the great outdoors the wealth of bird species that visit the gardens is terrific and that is from a non "Twitcher"!

Positioned 15-20 mins walk from the local pubs / restaurants allows you to walk off the real ales and curries from the Neuadd Arms rustic but very friendly and good value!

We fully recommend Kilsby in all respects and will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We recently paid our second visit to this exceptional B and B and found it just as good as first time round. The house is in lovely surroundings and has an interesting history too. Our bedroom and bathroom were spacious and comfortable and there were various little extras to ensure that we felt at home, e.g. home-made bara brith and fresh milk, and even bath robes incase we needed them. Breakfast was excellent, including home-made bread and preserves, fruit, yogurt, fruit juices, cereals and a full range of cooked food to choose from. It's a good idea to allow plenty of time for breakfast! Above all, the proprietors were very welcoming and did all they could to make our stay special.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

A great location for peace and quiet, beautiful views, amazing breakfast. Some great day trips too from the venue.
Room was spacious, clean and homely.
The owners are very helpful in planning trips, and it is easy to park, with nice places to eat in the village.

Room Tip: It is in a remote laction- about 1.5 mile walk to the village- so if you're going off season tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llanwrtyd Wells hotels
1.1 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
42 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
55 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#3 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
22 reviews
1 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
147 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ardwyn House
Ardwyn House
#1 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilsby Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilsby Country House

Address: Abergwesyn Road | Kilsby, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4TL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range: £30 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilsby Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilsby is a very special place and Kilsby Country House provides fine bed & breakfast accommodation for up to 6 guests in 3 rooms. Kilsby offers spacious rooms with private bathroom facilities and free wi-fi. There is an open plan living room and a breakfast room with stunning views. Off-road free parking is available. Llanwrtyd Wells with it's local pubs and restaurants is just 1 mile away. Kilsby is an ideal place to stay if you're interested in walking, mountain biking, fishing and bird watching/ bird photography or if you just want to relax and do very little. We don't allow dogs in the guest rooms in the house but we do allow dogs in our self catering cottage adjacent to the main house. Breakfast is an optional extra for guests staying in the cottage. Please ask for details and special rates for B&B in the cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kilsby Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilsby Country House Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing