We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We walked out without paying!”
Review of Carlton Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Riverside
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We walked out without paying!”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We booked a meal for the 5 May,on the advice of our hosts at the B and B we were staying at. I also read good reviews on the internet.

Without going into too much detail the food was very poor, even when it was prepared for the second time round! When we expressed our concerns and disappointment there was little interest. We were offered a bottle of wine, but we had already drunk some wine and had no food to drink it with!

We asked to see the chef, who we assumed to be Mary Gilchrist (but would a previous Michelin staff chef serve such poor food?) We were told she would not come out. That was the last straw.
Six of us walked out without paying.

I expected a phone call to apologise for our poor experience, but the call did not come.

I wrote a letter to Mary Gilchrist on the 12 May registering our complaint and today is the 8 July and I have not even received an acknowledgement of my letter.

RR - London

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    34
    13
    11
    8
See reviews for
8
123
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012 via mobile

Read the excellent reviews and found that the bedroom was nothing special and the location very disappointing. Wait for food after ordering was too long and quality only average

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Domojacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This couple have obviously years of experience- there were elements of the traditional without being old-fashioned, elements of the modern without being cold, a totally unique place, as are the hosts, in all the right ways. An exceptional food, wine and brandy selection topped off with an attitude that made us feel totally welcome and relaxed. Will be back next time for a longer stay! P.S. Wonderful Breakfast!

Room Tip: We stayed in the oriental room 3 which was huge and really comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Friendly,warm,good company,exceptional food and wine and malt whisky made in Wales! The only down side was the fact that we were the only ones there;a shame.
Absolutely terrific value for money;would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leefisher456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at the Carlton Riverside for a one night stopover. We found the room extremely comfortable and clean. The breakfast was wonderful and all freshly cooked. Mary Anne, Alan and their team were all very friendly and made you feel very welcome. We will definately stay again when we are visiting family.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We were traveling through Wales for a couple of weeks when we found the "restaurant with rooms" as the Carlton Riverside advertises itself. Boy they weren't kidding. The food was unbelievable. I wasn't aware that they earned a Michelin star, and once I found out, that certainly explained the fine meals we were eating. When the chef realised we were foodies she offered to prepare a meal for us the following evening. Needless to say we were not disappointed, and the wine list was to die for. We stayed in the "Oriental Room" while we were there and had a lovely sleep. Thank you again, we certainly hope to return someday.

Room Tip: The Oriental room was very cool, but have a look at their website for more choices and photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjg846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed here October 2010, and hope to return again at some point. The rooms were clean and cosy, and we were very pleasantly surprised to find a caffetierre & ground coffee on the tray, a lovely alternative from the usual instant sachets!
The breakfasts were lovely & filling to keep you going for the day and we also stayed to have dinner in the restaurant one night which was an absolute treat!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-SteveKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
0.0 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.0 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Borderers Guest House
Borderers Guest House
#10 of 43 in Brecon
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
The Golden Fleece Inn
The Golden Fleece Inn
#2 of 5 in Tremadog
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Riverside

Property: Carlton Riverside
Address: Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4ST, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well appointed restaurant with rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Carlton Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Riverside Hotel Llanwrtyd Wells
Carlton Riverside Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing