We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hosts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley, Lancs
Level Contributor
162 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Excellent Hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Mary and Alan are excellent hosts, nothing too much trouble, room good, food excellent, what more could you ask for. Three years since we last visited and just as good. The view from the restaurant besides the Irfon river is lovely. Good choice on the menu and also on the wine list, especially enjoyed the Goats cheese souffle as a starter plus the Sea Bass for the main course.
I am sure we will visit again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldenwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    33
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
8
117
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brecon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We read great reviews of this place but cannot reconcile these with our experience, its almost as if we went to the wrong place, except sadly we didn't. Food was generic, slow to arrive and abysmal. The mushroom soup tasted as if from a tin, my steak was tough and poor and my partners munkfish was clearly off and the sauce tasted like a dishcloth and came with out of season ( and therefore not local) asparagus. Its perplexing and frankly should be avoided.

Jeremy from Brecon

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JeremyBrecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathcarron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

I stayed at this Hotel for 4 nights in July '12 while working in Central Wales. Llanwrtyd Wells is actually in the middle of nowhere.. however this hotel was a little gem in the middle of it.

I was in a single room - however this wasnt your average single room - the bedding, and style of the bedroom where very nice and the bathroom with lovely deep bath & power shower was amazing.

I was suplied with freebie shampoo & showeer gel every day as well as clean towels.

I met the manager/owner of the hotel on a couple of occasions (due to my long hours). He seemed like a nice fella, however i wasnt able to eat in the hotels restaurant as the costs of most meals was over my works expenses allow.

I did use the bar (in the basement) and was delighted to manage to grab two beers for under a fiver...

Room Tip: The Single room is 100% not your standard grotty single room, it was very very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nightfireuk2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
206 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Rather old fashioned and has not moved with the times. Food good but not worth 3 AA Rosettes (more like 2 Rosettes). However probably highest quality in the area. Appears to have some guests who return year on year which must say something. Perhaps the absence of chef Mary Gilchrist who has been recovering from surgery did not help

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnualOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We booked a meal for the 5 May,on the advice of our hosts at the B and B we were staying at. I also read good reviews on the internet.

Without going into too much detail the food was very poor, even when it was prepared for the second time round! When we expressed our concerns and disappointment there was little interest. We were offered a bottle of wine, but we had already drunk some wine and had no food to drink it with!

We asked to see the chef, who we assumed to be Mary Gilchrist (but would a previous Michelin staff chef serve such poor food?) We were told she would not come out. That was the last straw.
Six of us walked out without paying.

I expected a phone call to apologise for our poor experience, but the call did not come.

I wrote a letter to Mary Gilchrist on the 12 May registering our complaint and today is the 8 July and I have not even received an acknowledgement of my letter.

RR - London

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012 via mobile

Read the excellent reviews and found that the bedroom was nothing special and the location very disappointing. Wait for food after ordering was too long and quality only average

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Domojacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

This couple have obviously years of experience- there were elements of the traditional without being old-fashioned, elements of the modern without being cold, a totally unique place, as are the hosts, in all the right ways. An exceptional food, wine and brandy selection topped off with an attitude that made us feel totally welcome and relaxed. Will be back next time for a longer stay! P.S. Wonderful Breakfast!

Room Tip: We stayed in the oriental room 3 which was huge and really comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
0.0 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Golden Fleece Inn
The Golden Fleece Inn
#2 of 5 in Tremadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Borderers Guest House
Borderers Guest House
#7 of 44 in Brecon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Riverside

Property: Carlton Riverside
Address: Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4ST, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well appointed restaurant with rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Carlton Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Riverside Hotel Llanwrtyd Wells
Carlton Riverside Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing