We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belle Vue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Belle Vue Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We thought this B&B was fantastic value. The room was immaculate and the shower piping hot. The food was also good; we ate there in the evening and that was good value with 2 meals for £15 and the breakfast kept us going all day - there was a good choice of cereal, pastries, fruit and cooked breakfasts. The accommodation is next to the pub which we were pleased to see is a proper pub and not a trendy, 'heritage' painted, gastro bar! The locals were really friendly and there was plenty of banter - I haven't laughed so much in a very long time.

Llanwrtyd is apparently the smallest town in Great Britain, but with a couple of pubs and a Spar there was everything there that we needed. It hosts the World Bog Snorkelling competition and other Alternative Games, so it's worth checking to see what's on before you go. We also noticed plenty of signs for activity centres and riding stables, so it would be a great base for an active holiday and perfect for keen walkers. It is also within easy reach of Builth - we stayed here because we were going to a dog show the next day.

Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueandsam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    12
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

2 of us stayed here as we were working close by. All staff we encountered were friendly and very helpful. My room was nice, clean, the bed was comfortable, but I had a water pipe in the corner that made noise constantly. In the morning my shower was only slightly warm.

We ate in the restaurant twice - dinner, starters were nice but steak for main was inedible, it was definitely off. Vegetatable lasagne was nice. Breakfast the next morning was ok. A selection of cereal, toast, crossiants, hot food cooked to order, tea, coffee and juice. Would have liked filter coffee as opposed to instant.

Location was good for us, approx 3 miles from our worksite.

Overall this hotel was ok for us, our company paid for the accommodation and the food. I probably wouldn't stay here if I was paying myself.

Overall good friendly service though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hay1ey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Group of twelve freinds from Bedworth Warwickshire stayed at the Belle Vue. The staff and owners could not do enough to please all in the group. The food was first class and well presented. The rooms were warm and comfortable, very clean and easy to relax in. The location is excellent for short walks or for the more energetic the hills are calling. I have no hesitationn in recommending this Hotel and venue to anyone . Our group thank the owners and staff for excellent and memorable weekend away.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

People would not believe this is my favourite local. Why, because I live 30 miles away the other end of the 'devils staircase'. The reason this is my favourite 'local' is because on every occassion that I have been there the satisfaction has been the same. The barman/owner is very friendly and helpful as are all of the staff and also the local customers. There is the good atmosphere of a well run pub/hotel and the selection/ availability of meals is very good as is the service. I have not used the hotel side of this establishment but the pub side is a very pleasant experience and I would recommend it to anyone. The whole point of a pub is enjoyment and this place has the formulae just right. As I have said about some other places when the staff are willing everything else falls into place.Well Done.!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

We stayed 2 nights arriving on the Friday and going home on the Sunday. When we arrived the open fire in the main bar was a real welcome as were the owners and we quickly settled down with a pint of guinness. The next day we went walking in the hills after eating a fabulous English breakfast. On request packed lunches were made for us and our flasks were filled with tea. We had a lovely day and our return we sat in the bar and had a chicken Jalfrazi curry, which I would highly recommend. On Sunday morning we went walking again after another great breakfast of crossiants and coffee. When we came back we had a 3 course Sunday lunch in the main restaurant, which was delicious. Overall the hotel was very comfortable and clean and the owners were very friendly and worked hard make our stay enjoyable. We will definitely be going back and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stayed for 2 nights so I could do the Real Ale Wobble. The room was very well appointed, clean and with one the most comfy hotel beds we've had. The breakfast was just right with plenty to choose from and the evening meal was equally tasty. The staff were very friendly and helpful and there was somewhere to safely lock up my mountain bike. They also allow dogs although we didn't take ours on this occasion. Really good value for money and we would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent , England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed 3 nights and couldnt have asked for any more, the welcome from the owners was very warm and friendly, they couldnt do enough to ensure our stay was comfortable. The breakfast was great as was the choice, value, quality of the food we had during the evening in the restaurant. This is definately value for money in a quiet place with attractions and towns not to far away, The rooms have just been upgraded with a really comfy bed with a good thick quilt very clean and tidy. We would definately return

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
0.2 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#3 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ardwyn House
Ardwyn House
#1 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Vue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Vue Hotel

Property: Belle Vue Hotel
Address: Belle Vue Terrace, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Belle Vue Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Belle Vue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Vue Hotel Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing