We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theres a reason this guest house has such a high rating!”
Review of Ardwyn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ardwyn House
Certificate of Excellence
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Theres a reason this guest house has such a high rating!”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Booked Ardwyn House whilst at the WRC rally Wales and it was just the nicest place we've stayed at yet. I was dubious about booking a guest house for this event but Roger and Katie were beyond accommodating! The house itself is stunning, clean, beautifully furnished, in an amazing location and very comfortable. The breakfast was amazing. I wish we had stayed for more than the one night, we will hopefully be back next year!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chjloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
71
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We have stayed here, and at Roger and Katie's cottage 'Bronfelen' (a mile out of town) many many times over the last few years. They are the most welcoming, helpful hosts, and both Ardwyn and Bronfelen are extremely comfortable. Being welcomed with lemon drizzle cake, and going home full of macaroons and chocolate brownies is the cherry, on the icing, on the cake, so to say! If you bring your dog, stay at Bronfelen, if not, stay at Ardwyn and enjoy the delicious breakfast. BTW, have the lasagne and chips at the Neuadd Arms for supper, and watch the rugby or enjoy the beer garden at the Stonecroft. You can keep your wellies on and slump, rather than sit up straight in other more refined places. Llanwrtyd is a wonderful place to return to.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarniaCherie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Back yet again for another welcome stay and still our favourite ever B&B by far, still a fabulous place and Roger and Katie still make the most scrumptious breakfasts as well as cakes for afternoon tea. They even baked us some extra brownies to take out to our poor friends who were slumming it on a nearby campsite in the rain...they went down very well with all of us. We will of course be back !

Room Tip: Room with a lovely roll top bath or big shower - your choice, just ask they have both
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beemerbikerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We always have a restful, happy time at Ardwyn House. This year was special because we had sunny days as well as the usual superb friendly hospitality from Katie and Roger. Room and breakfast are excellent. We both love this part of mid-Wales, we've been holidaying in the area for over 30 years.
John and Judith Nelson

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Very welcoming and pleasant. We enjoyed our stay very much. It is a lovely property - really special.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCaesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We have stayed here a number of times.Roger and Katie are very welcoming. we really look forward to our pot of tea and homemade cake when we arrive!
We love out door activities and so Ardwyn is well placed for all the activities that we like to do.
The rooms are great, a good size and well decorated and maintained. Some rooms have baths other showers so if you have a preference it is worth checking - we don't mind either.
Breakfast is really special:- the full english is made from local produce and is delicious and will truly set you up for the day, however we have had all of the following at different times that we have stayed here:- Kippers, porridge(home made) pancakes (again home made) with bacon and maple syrup all are fab.
We love staying here they are really great hosts and nothing is too much trouble.
They have a comfortable lounge available and also in another room is a small snooker table which is good fun, apart from the fact that I lost last time we played.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snobhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Roger and Katie make you feel so at home and provide a very welcoming cake upon arrival. The house is in a lovely location and is beautiful inside, a real treat. We have been coming here for a number of years and are already booked in for next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
4.1 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
907 reviews
9.5 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
799 reviews
14.3 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
42 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardwyn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardwyn House

Property: Ardwyn House
Address: Ardwyn Station Road | Llanwrtd, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardwyn House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardwyn House is a fully restored Art Nouveau style Guest House on the edge of Britain's smallest town. Gorgeous period features following Mackintosh, Morris, etc. All rooms have large bathrooms with either roll-top bath or huge shower, Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries, TV and DVD. The bed linen and towels are of the finest quality Egyptian cotton. And the breakfast? Delicious! Fresh fruit salad, Pancakes, Kippers and locally sourced traditional Welsh breakfast. Every afternoon we make homemade cakes or biscuits all included in the price. So when you return from your day trip you can relax in the garden or in front of the wood burning stove and recharge your batteries. Come and discover Llanwrtyd and the surrounding area. We have walking and cycling routes for you to use. Secure bike storage and bike wash down available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ardwyn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardwyn House Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing