We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent B&B in the heart of Wales”
Review of Ardwyn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ardwyn House
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent B&B in the heart of Wales”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Customer service, comfort and attention to detail make this a fantastic B&B to stay in the heart of Wales. A beautiful house, which you are made immediately to feel at ease in, and lovely light rooms. Quality food and bedding plus generous and friendly hosts make this a treat as well as a throughly pleasant experience. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I had a room with a bath which gave me a MASSIVE bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
71
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here as a family last weekend. Our hosts could have not been more obliging. We felt like house guests rather than residents. Our children were well catered for with toys and even were allowed to interact with their own children which made for an excellent relaxing break. We would recommend very highly for all ages. Nothing was too much trouble. Absolutely excellent in every way.

Room Tip: State your preference as whether you prefer shower or bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We initially picked this B&B as we were travelling by train and it's only around 100 yards from the station. As soon as I saw the website I wanted to stay there. The house is beautiful being completely furnished in Art Nouveau style. The owners Roger and Katie are lovely and such good hosts. Roger seems to love making cakes and they are available each day with a good pot of tea or coffee on your return from your walk or exploration. We are vegetarian and Roger had also made vegetarian sausages for our breakfast. They were very tasty. The rooms are very comfortable. A nice touch was the duvet. It was one of those double layer three season types, which Roger split down for us so we could just have the lighter one on the bed. We've stayed at some great B&Bs in our time, but this one is definitely the best!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! Just decide whether you prefer a roll top bath or a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

what a great place to stay,, wonderful people in a lovely house.. loved it and would go again.. breakfast good and afternoon cakes wonderful,, stayed un a room with roll top bath but make sure no one has taken all the hot water filling theirs....dvd player in room a first for us. and a library of dvds too

Room Tip: deep bath in room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanette62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Great house with evening relaxing rooms, double room was well equipped, very comfortable bed, nice shower, and lovely views. Breakfast excellent, and a very welcoming family.
Our only regret is we couldn't stay for longer.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loose85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

What a lovely B&B! I have totally enjoyed my stay at this very well looked after property. Was made extremely welcome by its owner Roger. Homemade cookies and a pot of coffee was made for me on my arrival.

My room was spacious and lovely. Huge free-standing bath. Plenty of hot water. Nice toiletries.

This place is amazing and spotlessly clean. Great value.

Fantastic sleep at night. Ever so dark and quiet. Just as I like it.

My breakfast was better than in some five star hotels. Cooked on order by Roger. Best poached eggs ever!

I would recommend this place to anyone without any hesitation.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good. Great views. Excellent bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izzysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

A warm welcome at this family home. Interesting property with some period features. Snooker room with log fire and honesty bar, a real nice touch. A small library with lots of books. This property is within walking distance of the village pubs for drink and meals out. Comfortable stay with Very good quality breakfast. The tea and homemade cakes on return from a long day out, was a real treat.
Thankyou Roger, Katie, & Family. ( not forgetting Molly the dog & Family chickens }
Barry & Karen
Nottingham
29/10/12 4 day stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have countryside views. Photos are accurate on the Website
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
4.1 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
907 reviews
9.5 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
799 reviews
14.3 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
42 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardwyn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardwyn House

Property: Ardwyn House
Address: Ardwyn Station Road | Llanwrtd, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardwyn House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardwyn House is a fully restored Art Nouveau style Guest House on the edge of Britain's smallest town. Gorgeous period features following Mackintosh, Morris, etc. All rooms have large bathrooms with either roll-top bath or huge shower, Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries, TV and DVD. The bed linen and towels are of the finest quality Egyptian cotton. And the breakfast? Delicious! Fresh fruit salad, Pancakes, Kippers and locally sourced traditional Welsh breakfast. Every afternoon we make homemade cakes or biscuits all included in the price. So when you return from your day trip you can relax in the garden or in front of the wood burning stove and recharge your batteries. Come and discover Llanwrtyd and the surrounding area. We have walking and cycling routes for you to use. Secure bike storage and bike wash down available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Ardwyn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardwyn House Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing