We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast
swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 12 November 2007

you will find a wonderfull welcome here and are made to feel right at home. the hotel is very clean and well presented.the decor is very nice and not to fussy. the food is excellent and well presented with fairly local ingredients and a very good choice on the menu. the hostess is very friendly and has provided plenty of information on the area and it was a pleasure talking to her
we would recommend everybody to stay there we could not find any fault with the place also local area has many wonderful walks through beautiful countryside
a wonderful holiday and will go again
Richard and Abby
Swindon

  • Liked — the brilliant service/welcome and hospitality from shirly
  • Disliked — liked everything
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank babsrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
82
41
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
west yorks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2007

A backwater in the very best sense, that is, peace ful, pretty, no traffic roaring past all night[it's on a "no through road"] yet an easy stroll to pub and restaurant food. Though traditional in style, the accommodation is to a very high standard and the welcome relaxed.
I f you are reading this sheila and Norman, thanks again.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank hondowyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2007

Plasnewydd is a well kept, clean and comfortable B & B. It is very conveniently situated in the center of Llanwrtyd wells.There is off street parking ,which is unusual for the town.
The establishment is well run by and has pleasant little touches eg tea and coffee facilities are augmented by welsh cakes or fruit cake each day. There is an extensive selection for breakfast , the pre-ordered menu ensures every thing is presented freshly cooked and promptly.I enjoyed a very pleasant ,relaxing,stay with my daughter and family over the August Bank Holiday Week-end

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glastonbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2007

I found a warm and friendly welcome in this hospitable B&B in Wales' smallest town near brecon beacons.
Prices were reasonable, breakfasts excellent,and the area has some incredibly stunning scenery - a walker 's and birdwatcher's paradise.
The drive around Llyn Brianne and south (past Cilycwm / Rhandirmwyn) is v. beautiful.

  • Liked — friendliness and location
  • Disliked — some bedrooms not en-suite
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2007

Although I was travelling solo and only staying the one night I was made very welcome and given a spacious and very comfortable room. The cost was very reasonable with NO single supplement, which makes a nice change. I was visiting the area to ride in a Vintage Motorcycle event so had the bike on a trailer behind the car. The proprietress went out of her way to ensure the trailer could be parked safely and securely. She was also very obliging with my request for an early breakfast which was excellent. A brief but enjoyable stay - I shall go there again!

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — A little tricky to find
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dickhobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton,england
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2007

Dont bother to stay anywhere else. Shirley the proprietor caters for your every need. Spotlessly clean, very quiet and what a breakfast, even welsh cakes for our pleasure on our return from a day out. You wont be disappointed.

  • Liked — off road parking and home comforts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chalkes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2006

A gem of a B & B easily accessible by train (the Mid-Wales line). Set in the verdant rolling hills of mid-Wales i found this homey B & B with its sincere and lovely owner, Shirley Allen to offer me relief from busy city B & B's.
The location is an easy walk from the quaint train station and Shirley will gladly pop down to meet you and assist you with your luggage. I was treated like a member of the family--included on a shopping foray so I could see some sights and warmly welcomed into the household.
Shirley has won awards for her floral displays--there are hanging baskets everywhere and it is pleasant to sit in the back garden for a cuppa and admire the blossoms and the surrrounding hills.
Having had plenty of English Breakfasts in my travels, Shirley's was up there at the top with really high quality jams and preserves (which she also sells if you want to take some home).
This is also a great B & B to stay in if you want to take in the famous Royal Welsh Show--or if you are like me and want an out-of-the-way bit of peace and quiet with a truly accomodating hostess.

  • Liked — clean friendly homey
  • Disliked — limited bus service
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank goatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
4.2 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#3 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardwyn House
Ardwyn House
#1 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
145 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kilsby Country House
Kilsby Country House
#6 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast

Property: Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast
Address: Plasnewydd Irfon Terrace, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overall Winner of Llanwrtyd Wells in Bloom. Food Hygiene Rating 5/5. Tripadvisor Number one in Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales 100% rating. Located within easy walking distance of all amenities and the Heart of Wales Railway Line in Llanwrtyd Wells, Powys, Wales, United Kingdom, Plasnewydd Guest House is a recently refurbished, family run, Visit Wales 4 Star Bed and Breakfast with Welcome Host Gold Award July 2014. A highly rated B&B (see guest reviews) Plasnewydd was built as a Guest House for our welsh family in 1911. Our family are the longest serving welsh accommodation providers in Llanwrtyd Wells, Mid Wales. Our accommodation comprises of refurbished, stylish bedrooms with airy and bright double and single bedrooms providing comfortable beds and modern en-suite and private bathroom facilities. Our business provides guests with our legendary hearty, five star, welsh breakfast chosen from the menu. We provide high quality food which is cooked with pride and use locally produced ingredients. Shirley's vegetarian homemade sausages are not to be missed which makes them a treat for your breakfast and are available daily at Plasnewydd accommodation. A cosy lounge and dining room are provided for guests only, together with friendly staff. Helping clients to relax and enjoy their home from home break is Plasnewydd B&B's priority. Parking is no problem as there is a private, off road car park. Also storage shed and outside washing facilities for bikes etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plasnewydd Bed And Breakfast Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing