We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people warm and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Lovely people warm and friendly”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I stayed here during the royal welsh show and the location was brilliant
Clean and friendly and the breakfast was amazing
The bedrooms were sizeable with a good selection if condiments avalible
I got the feeling of home and have booked up for next year already
Shirley and Norman are lovely people would definatly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelrws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanwrtyd, Owner at Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
It's fantastic to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast with praise for what we had to offer, thank you. You were such a lovely guest and we look forward to meeting you again next year. Best Wishes, Shirley and Norman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
82
41
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

As always this is a very special place to stay - small but very cosy, Shirley always gives us a warm welcome - we have been back year after year and have booked in again for the next 3 years :) The cooked breakfasts are wonderful and Shirley will cook it fresh to what ever time suits you. Lovely for a weekend away with friends or as a romantic getaway as its extremely peaceful ( except on Man vs horse weekend - when its organised chaos!!)

Room Tip: Rooms are clean, bright and comfortable, excellent cooked breakfast, all rooms quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanwrtyd, Owner at Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
What a fantastic review. Your party returning year after year says all, it doesn't get any better, thank you. We really look forward to meeting you all again in the coming years. Best Wishes to you all. Norman and Shirley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

From the moment I called to enquire about a room for the night Shirley was absolutely fantastic. She arranged my stay and was so polite, friendly and welcoming during my time here.
My room was very comfortable and the B&B is a very pleasant place to be as well as the local area in general.

Thank you very much Shirley for everything.

I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanwrtyd, Owner at Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
It's great that you had a nice, comfortable stay with us at Plasnewydd B&B and it seems that you were impressed with all that we had to offer. Hopefully there will be a next time and that you will be able to stay longer. Thank you for your nice review. Best Wishes, Shirley and Norman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

3 of us spent 2 nights at Plasnewydd; it's a lovely B&B - the warm welcome from Shirley, comfortable spotless bedrooms, and a great breakfast set us up for a weekend of walking and wild swimming in this beautiful part of Wales. No hesitation in recommending this great but very reasonably priced B&B

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniefrombristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanwrtyd, Owner at Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us here at Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast. It was a pleasure for us meeting you all and that lovely weather was beyond our expectations for you considering what we had earlier in the year. Do hope that we will be able to welcome you all back sometime in the future. Best Wishes, Shirley and Norman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Shirley and Norman made us very welcome and we really felt at home in the relaxed atmosphere. We had a lovely room and great breakfasts with plenty of choice, so of course we ate far more than we normally would. This B & B is in a really convenient place in the heart of Llanwrtyd Wells with a choice of pubs/eating places a short walk just down the road. No hesitation in recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanwrtyd, Owner at Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you for taking up some of your time to write a great review also for emailing to say what a lovely time you had with us and that you are hopeing to return next year, What a coincidence it was that you had met Norman before, what a small world we live in!! We really are looking forward to meeting you both again. Take Care, Shirley and Norman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed at Plasnewydd sadly for only one night during a bike ride through mid Wales.
On arrival I was welcomed by Shirley and Norman and shown to a beautiful bedroom (en suite) after my bike was locked away.
I had a peaceful night's sleep and an enormous and delicious breakfast.
Without doubt this is one of the very best b&b's I have stayed in and I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.
What a gem!

Room Tip: Book asap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinHeswall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanwrtyd, Owner at Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
It's great to hear that you found Plasnewydd a great little bed and breakfast and that you seemed to enjoy all that it has to offer. We were thinking of you cycling in this very hot weather. It is too hot for us at present. We do hope that you will decide to visit us again in the future and thanks for the 100% review. Best Wishes, Shirley and Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

A well run, comfortable B&B. Lovely breakfast which lasted me all day. Would definitely stay here again when in the area.
Plasnewydd B&B is situated in the most charming town of Llanwrtyd Wells. A great part of the world for lovers of the outdoors.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethRugeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanwrtyd, Owner at Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
We were delighted at your wonderful review on your stay at Plasnewydd. 100% GREAT! that is what we like to hear. We do appreciate feedback. Hopefully we will meet up again sometime in the future. Why not take advantage of our Septemebr and October offers.

Best Wishes, Shirley and Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
4.2 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#3 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ardwyn House
Ardwyn House
#1 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cerdyn Villa B&B
Cerdyn Villa B&B
#9 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast

Property: Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast
Address: Plasnewydd Irfon Terrace, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overall Winner of Llanwrtyd Wells in Bloom. Food Hygiene Rating 5/5. Tripadvisor Number one in Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales 100% rating. Located within easy walking distance of all amenities and the Heart of Wales Railway Line in Llanwrtyd Wells, Powys, Wales, United Kingdom, Plasnewydd Guest House is a recently refurbished, family run, Visit Wales 4 Star Bed and Breakfast with Welcome Host Gold Award July 2014. A highly rated B&B (see guest reviews) Plasnewydd was built as a Guest House for our welsh family in 1911. Our family are the longest serving welsh accommodation providers in Llanwrtyd Wells, Mid Wales. Our accommodation comprises of refurbished, stylish bedrooms with airy and bright double and single bedrooms providing comfortable beds and modern en-suite and private bathroom facilities. Our business provides guests with our legendary hearty, five star, welsh breakfast chosen from the menu. We provide high quality food which is cooked with pride and use locally produced ingredients. Shirley's vegetarian homemade sausages are not to be missed which makes them a treat for your breakfast and are available daily at Plasnewydd accommodation. A cosy lounge and dining room are provided for guests only, together with friendly staff. Helping clients to relax and enjoy their home from home break is Plasnewydd B&B's priority. Parking is no problem as there is a private, off road car park. Also storage shed and outside washing facilities for bikes etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plasnewydd Bed And Breakfast Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing