We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Perfect Place to Relax & Enjoy Wales!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 7 July 2008

Llanwrtyd Wells, Powys! This is one of the most beautiful places to stay and visit in Wales. Clean Fresh Air, Incredible scenery & Mountains, Natural Sulphur Wells and wonderfully friendly people. This place has the title for being the smallest town in Britain too. I had stayed here as a child many years ago and was not disappointed at all when I recently returned years later with my own Son.

We stayed in a B & B called “Plasnewydd” and the owners Norman & Shirley provided us with fantastic accommodation and wonderful home cooking including home made Welsh Cakes and Bara Brith which were heavenly. They were so very friendly and made us feel completely welcome. They also both had a vast knowledge about the area. Staying there was so relaxing and peaceful. One of the best nights sleep I have had in ages.

We had a wonderful time trekking on horses up on the mountains. Our guides and horses were from Ffos Farm Trekking Stables which is only 5 minutes walk from centre of the Village of Llanwrtyd Wells. What an incredible experience for my son and I, just the two of us and two guides taking us. You can’t experience it any other way.

The local pubs were also very welcoming and friendly. They all had great atmosphere, were child friendly and served great food. You have just got to give this place a try!

2  Thank MissyPHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2008

I had one of the best holidays to be had at this b&b. Shirley Allen the owner made me right at home from the start. Nothing was to much trouble for her, all you had to do was ask .All i can say is thanks and I will see you next year.

Dai.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TRECBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2008

I booked late, and was welcomed by Shirley like an old friend. I was upgraded without asking and the room was very pleasant. Warm and quiet. Nothing was too much trouble and as I had an early start on a mountain bike marathon an early brakfast was no problem. The breakfast was excellant and the table setting faultless. I will definitely stay here again.
Tom Pooley

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTBHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2008

Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful place to stay, and is highly recommended. When we arrived, Shirley made sure we were all settled into our room and provided us with a morning breakfast menu. The selection for breakfast was excellent, and each of our breakfasts were tailor made to our requests. It was delicious!

The room was beautiful and comfortable. There was every amenity available and we were quite at home. The tea with welsh cakes, travelers guides, and good recommendations for things to do and places to eat were tremendously helpful. There was absolutely not one single thing missing or unpleasant about our stay. We plan to return again for another mini-break soon.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneofGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2007

you will find a wonderfull welcome here and are made to feel right at home. the hotel is very clean and well presented.the decor is very nice and not to fussy. the food is excellent and well presented with fairly local ingredients and a very good choice on the menu. the hostess is very friendly and has provided plenty of information on the area and it was a pleasure talking to her
we would recommend everybody to stay there we could not find any fault with the place also local area has many wonderful walks through beautiful countryside
a wonderful holiday and will go again
Richard and Abby
Swindon

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank babsrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2007

A backwater in the very best sense, that is, peace ful, pretty, no traffic roaring past all night[it's on a "no through road"] yet an easy stroll to pub and restaurant food. Though traditional in style, the accommodation is to a very high standard and the welcome relaxed.
I f you are reading this sheila and Norman, thanks again.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank hondowyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2007

Plasnewydd is a well kept, clean and comfortable B & B. It is very conveniently situated in the center of Llanwrtyd wells.There is off street parking ,which is unusual for the town.
The establishment is well run by and has pleasant little touches eg tea and coffee facilities are augmented by welsh cakes or fruit cake each day. There is an extensive selection for breakfast , the pre-ordered menu ensures every thing is presented freshly cooked and promptly.I enjoyed a very pleasant ,relaxing,stay with my daughter and family over the August Bank Holiday Week-end

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrightonZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llanwrtyd Wells hotels
0.1 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#3 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardwyn House
Ardwyn House
#1 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Really Cool Studios and Accommod...
#10 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast

Address: Plasnewydd Irfon Terrace, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range: £30 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overall Winner of Llanwrtyd Wells in Bloom. Food Hygiene Rating 5/5. Tripadvisor Number one in Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales 100% rating. Located within easy walking distance of all amenities and the Heart of Wales Railway Line in Llanwrtyd Wells, Powys, Wales, United Kingdom, Plasnewydd Guest House is a recently refurbished, family run, Visit Wales 4 Star Bed and Breakfast with Welcome Host Gold Award July 2014. A highly rated B&B (see guest reviews) Plasnewydd was built as a Guest House for our welsh family in 1911. Our family are the longest serving welsh accommodation providers in Llanwrtyd Wells, Mid Wales. Our accommodation comprises of refurbished, stylish bedrooms with airy and bright double and single bedrooms providing comfortable beds and modern en-suite and private bathroom facilities. Our business provides guests with our legendary hearty, five star, welsh breakfast chosen from the menu. We provide high quality food which is cooked with pride and use locally produced ingredients. Shirley's vegetarian homemade sausages are not to be missed which makes them a treat for your breakfast and are available daily at Plasnewydd accommodation. A cosy lounge and dining room are provided for guests only, together with friendly staff. Helping clients to relax and enjoy their home from home break is Plasnewydd B&B's priority. Parking is no problem as there is a private, off road car park. Also storage shed and outside washing facilities for bikes etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plasnewydd Bed And Breakfast Llanwrtyd Wells, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing