We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't have been better”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cherry Tree Lodge

photo by Danny Bulmer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
photo by Danny Bulmer
photo by Danny Bulmer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
photo by Danny Bulmer
photo by Danny Bulmer
photo by Danny Bulmer
photo by Danny Bulmer
photo by Danny Bulmer
photo by Danny Bulmer
Settee that can be a single bed (there are two)
photo by Danny Bulmer
photo by Danny Bulmer
photo by Danny Bulmer
photo by Danny Bulmer
photo by Danny Bulmer
photo by Danny Bulmer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Builth Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kfish2017
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Couldn't have been better”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I did my fair share of 'shopping around' before booking the Cherry Tree. I wanted somewhere remote for my anniversary that offered privacy but had some beautiful scenery. Somewhere with that homley and cosey feel whilst also very obviously being a relaxing break away from city life. Cherry Tree was advertised as exactly that and did not dissappoint. So much so that the road leading to the lodge isn't even on the map!

Going away in January we knew that the weather would be cold, so the gas heated cabin and hot tub were a must and enjoying the cold nights in the tub with a bottle (or three) and some music couldnt have been any more relaxing.

The welcome hamper on arrival was a great 'cherry on top'. Plenty of info & leaflets on the surrounding area and suggested activities as well as some perishables to get started. The bread we had was absolutely gorgeous!

Clean and tidy throughout, a shower with power, towells provided and ample utensils for cooking. My other half managed to bake a cake from scatch using what was provided!

Not a fault I can find. Advertised perfectly for what you get, great location great host and great facilities. Gents be warned, the decor is pink throughout but that defintely should not put you off the hidden gem that this is.... we will defintely be coming back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2017
Many thanks for this great review. We do try and make it home from home so I'm glad you found that this was the case.
The bit about the pink decor did make me laugh! I must stress gents, that it is a very subtle pink, not a shocking pink :-) It goes with the name - Cherry Tree (as in the colour of the blossom). Anyway I'm thrilled you had such a lovely time, and I hope to welcome you back in the future. Bye for now
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jan 2017
Thank you for your review, yes you had some lovely clear nights to see all the stars which is a fantastic sight!

I know what you mean about your labrador and the pond, I can't keep mine out of it either - they love the water don't they!

Hope to see you again on a return trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Dec 2016
We're delighted you had a lovely stay and enjoyed your Mini-moon.

We also appreciate your comments. It's a good point you make about the towels and I will pop another one in for each person staying.

With regard to the mobile signal, it does very much depend on which network you are on, some are better than others. We are on EE and on the whole have no problems at all.

We do not have wifi in the lodge, but do not advertise that we do, so hopefully people coming to the lodge will be aware of this. However this goes with being in a very rural setting, helping people to completely get away from it all. In the past if guests have required wifi they have popped over to us and logged on to our network.

We do say that the lodge really only sleeps 2. It all depends on what sort of holiday you are looking for. Some people use the lodge as a base only and spend a lot of time exploring the surrounding area, if this is the case, then it taking more than 2 may not be so much of a problem, but if like you, you want a more secluded, cosy holiday, whereby you do not venture out far, then yes more than 2 people could potentially be an issue, unless of course it was 2 adults and 2 children.

I hope this helps.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Oct 2016
What a lovely review, thank you.

We are so glad that you had an enjoyable, relaxing break, especially as I believe you were celebrating a birthday!

You were certainly very lucky with the weather which has been beautiful for the time of year, proving that it doesn't always rain in Wales :-)

We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
countrygi...
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Amazing stay in this gorgeous cabin. On our arrival we were presented with a very generous welcome package containing eggs, butter, milk, Welsh cakes, cookies and cereal. The cabin was spotless and the hot tub all ready to use. We found everything we needed in the cabin to cook a few simple meals. A great place to explore the Brecons from, we will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelZter
Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfection in every way!”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I booked this to have as a base with my teenage son and Whippets whilst attending Welsh Kennel Club Championship Show.What a find! The lodge is crafted beautifully and kitted out to the highest standard with so many finishing touches that make it just that bit extra special. (My son decided he would happily live there.) To say it's a five star property hardly does it justice. Very clever to have the hot tub under cover to allow for the variety of Welsh weather. The setting is beautiful and there is so much outside space to call your own. The owners are friendly and welcoming and more than happy to answer any questions. To arrive to a welcome pack of essentials and treats was such a lovely surprise. I cannot praise Cherry Tree Lodge and the owners enough. If you are looking for a quality base in this area and want to get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life then look no further than here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, very much appreciated. My husband was very proud when he read it as he has put a lot of time and workmanship into building it, so for the actual building to get a mention has made his day.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing