We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming, excellent food and nothing is too much trouble!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Builth Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodlands Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed twice in the Woodlands and will keep coming back.

A warm welcome and excellent breakfasts. The house and grounds are fabulous and you are made to feel like a home from home. We were even allowed an extra late check out so we could squeeze in one last bike ride in the surrounding hills. Reccomend!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidC1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Woodlands Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2011

Stayed here while taking part in a Charity Cycle ride from St David's to Lowestoft. The owner couldn't have been more helpful. Lovely character turn of the centry countrymans house that still has most of it's original features. Beds and room very comfortable, and very reasonably priced. Top marks all around in fact.
Plenty of grounds and space for parking (anything!). Situated just as you enter the town from the South. 10 minutes walk to the centre of town.
The best breakfast of our entire trip across the country!
We even had a donation to the Charity we were fundrasing for. Would certainly return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PadiDiverDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We had a wonderful welcome from Eileen and her family - nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were fabulous and food locally sourced where possible. The bedrooms had lovely views of the garden and were spotless. The residents Lounge was lovely - large TV with sky sports (for the rugby!), lots of magazines/books and a couple of rocking horses - but we stuck to the comfy leather settees! When a friend joined us there for coffee - Eileen supplied us with fresh coffee etc - thank you Eileen - we will definitely be back!
Dianne & Andrew Wood and friends

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DianneStokeonTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Booked this guest house in May 2010 for a stay over the August bank holiday.

They could not have been more obliging or helpful. both when we booked the room, and nearer the time when we had a late change in bookings.

Breakfast, whichever one you choose, was superb. Choose from the buffet table first of cereal, fresh fruit, and yogurt. Orange juice, apple juice, or even just milk.

Tea or coffee is offered when you arrive for breakfast - traditional english or fruit tea if liked.

Cooked breakfast can be chosen from the Woodlands Special, which was 2 eggs, two thick rashers of welsh bacon, two sausages, mushrooms, beans, hash browns and fresh tomatoes, or if you have a smaller appetite, choose the traditional breakfast which was one of each of the above items.

Eggs can be poached, fried scrambled or boiled. In fact, whatever you fancied or wanted, you could have cooked. One of our friends had bacon butties, and another decided to have bacon and egg sarnies!

Sunday they very kindly got up and cooked an early breakfast at 6.30 am - No hotel will offer that kind of wonderful service. All beautifully presented, and copious amounts of tea and toast as well.

Well recommended for any kind of holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AFoxyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Stayed at Woodlands for one night going to a family wedding in Builth Wells, three couples and two children. Our only gripe was that we didn't book for longer. The house and grounds were beautiful, our little four year old had a ball playing in the front lawns. The rooms were spotlessly clean, the breakfast superb and the welcome was brilliant, nothing was too much trouble. Thank you. Would definitely recommend Woodlands to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowjoLlanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Stayed here with friends for get together break. Owners were very welcoming and served up very good breakfast.
The room we were in was a bit small and we had to rummage about to find plug for kettle which was rather awkward. Shower was a bit disappointing.
However the bed was very comfortable and our friend who stayed in different room had loads of space and no plug problem. All in all it was very good value for money.
The house is situated just on the outskirts of the town - but this is fine. It has a fabulously large garden where guests can sit.
They also provide a guests lounge with telly, DVD and fridge. Also they are happy for guests to bring back takeaway. Very accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CazzerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

We stayed at Woodlands Guesthouse for two nights and we throughly enjoyed our stay. The Guesthouse is in excellent location with only a short walk into the town. Our room, although furniture a little dated the room was spacious, clean with a very comfy bed. The breakfast was superb! One person on a previous review commented the breakfast room was dirty, i'm not sure if she was staying in the same guesthouse, as we were very pleased with out stay. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deblisious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Builth Wells
0.0 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
814 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
912 reviews
6.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,340 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guesthouse

Address: Woodlands Hay Road, Builth Wells LD2 3YL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Builth Wells
Woodlands Guesthouse Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing