We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bronwye Guest House
Ranked #3 of 15 Builth Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in room 5, which overlooked the river. - A fantastic view, lovely to watch wildlife from the window. Adrian & Lorna are the most friendly and helpful people you could ever wish to meet. A brilliant idea to have a fridge available to chill your bottles of water for your walk the next day - thanks for that! The breakfast is so satisfying we didn't eat at lunch time and enjoyed a lovely evening meal at a local pub. Thanks to Adrian for lending us a map of the area. The towels are lovely and fluffy and smell divine. We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 222Jules222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
51
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We spent a week based here, whilst completing the second half of the Wye Valley Way with a couple of friends. Adrian and Lorna advertise it as "the best in Builth Wells" - we think it's one of the best B & Bs ever! When we arrived, Adrian helped us with our luggage, very welcome after a long walk. Our room was spacious, comfortable, well equipped and spotlessly clean, with a beautiful view of the river Wye. Our hosts recommended the best local restaurant (where they've negotiated a 10% discount), and the best local pub which also serves good food. There's a fridge exclusively for guests' use, which is really useful, plus a lounge with a selection of games. Guests are also welcome to bring in take-aways, and use the dining room. Adrian and Lorna even laid out a tray with four lovely wine glasses when we celebrated completing the WVW with a bottle of bubbly. We thoroughly recommend the Bronwye.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I arrived here for a business trip and warmly welcomed and offered help with my bags to my room. I was shattered and looking forward to a cup of tea and relax.
Just minutes from the guest house there are plenty of places for food and drink, and it was situated right next to the river Wye, and a playing field which I looked out onto whilst having a breakfast that I couldn't finish!
The room was very clean and in good decoration. The bed was comfy and the sheets smelt really clean. Just what I needed after finishing my report and sending it over the free wifi provided.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank experttravelcorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This accomodation has it all. Location, really friendly hosts, spotless rooms, luxury bedding,& a perfectly prepared breakfast tailored to your needs. Adrian & Lorna recommended a local restaurant / pub for our evening meal, which was excellent.
Perfectly placed for our visit to the showground, we fully intend to return for another stay.
I would thoroughly recommend the Bronwye, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynwen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbigh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This is the best guest house we have ever used. Spotlessly clean, warm, good quality comfortable beds and bedding, soft clean towels, shampoo shower gel and hairdryer provided, well placed TV superb breakfast and Laura and Adrian are the perfect hosts. Very understanding when we had to leave unexpectedly due to personal circumstances and didn't charge us . This guest house is exceptional in every way and would recomend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Have stayed in 3 different rooms and all were perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2011

A really nice stay with the folks at Bronwyn. I'd walked 20 miles from Hay on Wye to get there so the lovely room and nice warm shower were a much needed sight at the end of a long day. Both Adrian and Lorna were great hosts and really helpful with info on local bus services from my next stop in Rhayader and also packed me up with a great lunch for the following stomp the next day. I stayed in London a few weeks back and paid 3 times the price for about about a quarter of the charm and comfort i received here. I'd recommend it thoroughly. Thanks guys !
Tommy

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingsoke
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We had an all too brief one night stay over with Adrian and Lorna. The room was great with two comfy beds, lovely warm bathroom and well placed TV. The breakfast was great ( enormous!) and we sat eating looking over the Groe. Brilliantly positioned for walking around Builth. Easy parking. Will definitely visit again. Lorna very helpful, she even dried our boots out over night.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraint H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Builth Wells
0.7 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
56 reviews
8.5 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Everlook Guest House and B&B
0.0 mi away
Rhedyn Guesthouse
Rhedyn Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Cilmeri
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bronwye Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bronwye Guest House

Property: Bronwye Guest House
Address: Church Street, Builth Wells LD2 3BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Builth Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bronwye Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Victorian Guest house overlooking the River Wye located close to the town and Royal Welsh showground. All rooms en-suite and free wifi access. This property will exceed your expectations! The best value in Builth Wells and Mid Wales. And now,for longer stays of 2 or more nights, we have a beautiful 200 year old holiday cottage too called Dan-y-Castell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bronwye Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bronwye Guest House Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing