We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay and unbelieveable value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bronwye Guest House
Ranked #3 of 16 Builth Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good stay and unbelieveable value”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Over the years I have stayed in lots of hotels and guest houses but if I have ever stayed in one that was better value than Bronwye, I can’t remember when it was. Our room was good and very clean, the hosts were very welcoming and helpful and breakfast was good too. It is centrally located close to the town centre, but also quiet. It is easy to see why it gets good reviews

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rover54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
51
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This was a lovely place to stay, friendly, pleasant, well equipped, warm, good information about the area. We arrived on bicycles and they put themselves out to store the bikes safely and there was a hose we could use to clean them . The breakfast was excellent, varied nicely presented and cooked

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank martinbrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingsoke
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We had two fantastic nights in late August at the Bronwye almost on the spur of the moment: I only booked it the week before. Lucky I did as they were full the nights we were there whilst we did two days of fantastic walking and Geocaching in and around Builth. We even walked up Garth Hill on the Friday morning in brilliant sunshine and were treated to the most stunning views in all directions.

As previously Lorna and Adrian were exemplorary hosts. We ate fish and chips in the dining room one evening and they provided plates and cutlery, they even disposed of the wrappings! They also put a note on my car whilst we were out walking to tell me I'd left something in the firdge.

We had room 3 this time which was superb for its view over the Groe and this Mrs H came too, she was mightily impressed. Thanks again and hope to visit you soon.

Room Tip: Room3 has lovely views to the Wye over the Groe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraint H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

6 ladies on a motorbiking long weekend in Wales.
We had a lovely time. The rooms are spacious, clean, modern and homely. Adrian & Lorna are very gracious hosts. There when we wanted them around, and gave us space when we were hanging around in the evenings.
The breakfasts were very filling, the Girlie breakfast suited most of us.
Beautiful gardens and very peaceful location,.
Excellent value
I will be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Just returned from lovely three night stay here. Six of us lady motorcyclists filled the guest house exclusively, and were made to feel very welcome. The rooms were spotless, beds comfortable, the breakfast was excellent, particularly the deliciously crispy fried bread.
Having the little lounge to congregate in was the icing on the cake, there was even a fridge for our wine and soft drinks.
Hanging around unexpectedly one morning awaiting the RAC after one of the bikes played up, Lorna appeared with a tray of coffee and tea, and we whiled away a pleasant hour in the sunshine, in the garden overlooking the park and River Wye.
Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: They're all nice, but the family room on the first floor overlooking the park is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GadgetGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff / Caerdydd, WALES
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I consulted TripAdvisor when seeking an overnight stay in the Builth Wells area. Bronwye was top of the list. We've just stayed there - and now we know why it's so highly recommended. As other reviewers have reported, it's outstanding. Our en-suite room across the top of the property was very large, with a king sized, very comfortable bed. Everything was clean and exceptionally well maintained. It is very conveniently located for riverside walks (don't miss) and a local pub where the Rotary meet (i.e. good food and beers). Bronwye has free wifi, a residents' lounge, and so on.

The breakfast is indeed top class. Faultless.

And the hosts are attentive, pleasant and really welcoming.

In short, this is the standard to which all B&Bs should aspire. What a find!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D G l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

What a fabulous Guest House from the welcome to the facilities. We had a lovely room overlooking the green and wished we could have stayed longer than one night. The breakfast was superb! Would love to return one day and would defiinately recommend to anyone wishing to visit Builth Wells.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the green
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwaysway51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Builth Wells
0.4 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
792 reviews
8.5 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,318 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Everlook Guest House and B&B
0.7 mi away
Neuadd Henllan
Neuadd Henllan
#8 of 16 in Builth Wells
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bronwye Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bronwye Guest House

Property: Bronwye Guest House
Address: Church Street, Builth Wells LD2 3BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Builth Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bronwye Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Victorian Guest house overlooking the River Wye located close to the town and Royal Welsh showground. All rooms en-suite and free wifi access. This property will exceed your expectations! The best value in Builth Wells and Mid Wales. And now,for longer stays of 2 or more nights, we have a beautiful 200 year old holiday cottage too called Dan-y-Castell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bronwye Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bronwye Guest House Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing