We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved every minute” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bronwye Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bronwye Guest House
Ranked #3 of 15 Builth Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weybridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loved every minute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We have just returned home after spending the weekend in Builth and stayed at Bronwye Guest House. We were very impressed with our room....very clean with all the necessary requirements of a hotel room. We had a lovely view of the rugby field, river and bridge. We slept very well indeed and enjoyed a 3 mile run around the area on both mornings. After our run, we were met with a wonderful breakfast which left us full for the rest of the day! The owners are lovely....very friendly and helpful. We will certainly stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
50
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Criccieth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

A one night stay as a break on a long journey. We were given a lovely large room with a bay window overlooking the rugby field, river and bridge. After a walk around the town we enjoyed a relaxing time in the comfortable lounge. Shower room adequate and a nice hot shower, easily operated. Super breakfast a shame we could only manage the "girlie" one rather than the "full monty". Hope to be back

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbibeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Had to book an extra night for a wedding in the nearby Caer beris manor. Having stayed at both the guest house was by far the most pleasurable. Adrian and Lorna were very warm and friendly. The rooms are clean and have very comfortable beds. If coming back to the area I would definately stay here over the Manor.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceriamdsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

After reading the reviews on here we were expecting great things from Bronwye but it really was lacking in a few ways.
Our room was very small and cramped and we couldn't really get round the bed without bumping into each other. Bathroom was also small. And although efforts had been made with the decoration and it certainly wasn't awful, the doors were very old-fashioned 70's style dark wood which really weren't great.
Breakfast was very nice with fresh fruit and well cooked eggs, bacon etc.
The owners were also friendly and welcoming but didn't really offer us any advice about the area and we didn't really see them after our initial check in so couldn't ask for dinner recommendations or directions.
Overall it certainly wasn't awful and we had a pleasant enough stay, but there is definitely room for improvement.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLC113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalesAdrian, Owner at Bronwye Guest House, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
As a business we are really sorry you do not feel Bronwye lived up to your expectations. We are extremely proud of our number one ranking in tripadvisor and visit wales and we work hard to maintain it, as can be seen by the vast majority of our reviews. As such, I will try and address your points as best I can.

Firstly, your room size. As a beautiful victorian building, and not a modern purpose built travel lodge type accommodation, our rooms do vary in size, from large suite size to regular hotel bedroom size and all are en-suite. As you stayed over 2 months ago and haven't given a name I do not which room you stayed in, but feel the size of our rooms vary from good sized to very, very large sized. If you had raised your concerns with with us during your stay we would gladly have tried to move you to a room you found more acceptable.

The room doors are fire doors, and are there as a legal necessity and for your protection. An awful lot of guest houses, bed and breakfasts, small hotels etc place their guests in danger, and break the law, by not having them fitted. We prefer our guests to be safe.

When guests check in, as part of introducing our guests to Bronwye, we show them the guest lounge, dining room and entrance hall, where, we point out, there is a bell for guests to press which calls my wife or myself if they need anything, or if they have any questions, at anytime, 24 hours a day. In addition, each guest room has an information folder in it, which, amongst other things, lists all the local restaurants etc, with our own personnel recommendations. We are a guest house, not a five star hotel, so can not sit at a 24 hour reception/concierge desk, but we are available 24 hours a day at the press of the bell.

We strive to give all our guests the best experience possible, and are truely sorry we didn't meet your expectations on this occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangefni, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

we had a very comfortable stay in Bronwye. We were very much last minute booking and were a little bit nervous but there was no need at all. Our hosts were very friendly and most helpful. our room in the front overlooked the rugby training pitch - Wales should look to the youth of Builth for a future team!! A delicious breakfast.. would definitely stay there again and good value for money!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
117 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Over the years I have stayed in lots of hotels and guest houses but if I have ever stayed in one that was better value than Bronwye, I can’t remember when it was. Our room was good and very clean, the hosts were very welcoming and helpful and breakfast was good too. It is centrally located close to the town centre, but also quiet. It is easy to see why it gets good reviews

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rover54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

This was a lovely place to stay, friendly, pleasant, well equipped, warm, good information about the area. We arrived on bicycles and they put themselves out to store the bikes safely and there was a hose we could use to clean them . The breakfast was excellent, varied nicely presented and cooked

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank martinbrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Builth Wells
0.4 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
8.5 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Everlook Guest House and B&B
0.0 mi away
Rhedyn Guesthouse
Rhedyn Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Cilmeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bronwye Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bronwye Guest House

Property: Bronwye Guest House
Address: Church Street, Builth Wells LD2 3BS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Builth Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bronwye Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Victorian Guest house overlooking the River Wye located close to the town and Royal Welsh showground. All rooms en-suite and free wifi access. This property will exceed your expectations! The best value in Builth Wells and Mid Wales. And now,for longer stays of 2 or more nights, we have a beautiful 200 year old holiday cottage too called Dan-y-Castell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Bronwye Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bronwye Guest House Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing