We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Welcoming cottage in Wales”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage
Stained Glass Bedroom window The Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
The Cottage
Stained Glass Bedroom window
The Cottage
A Bedroom with Arched Stone window
View of the Arched door from the porch
Bedroom with view over the castle
The Dining room
The Porch With part of the castle mound
View from the Garden
Back of the chapel
Part of the Garden
Stone arch taken from the castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Builth Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison G
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Welcoming cottage in Wales”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is a really lovely cottage. The view from the front windows wasn't quite how we'd pictured it but it was quiet with a pretty, private garden and an easy walk into the town centre. Inside it's bright, well furnished and equipped, and spotlessly clean. We appreciated the wine and Welsh cakes on arrival as well as the garden flowers on the table and tea, coffee, milk, etc. We didn't meet the owner in person but he was friendly and helpful on the phone / email. It was an excellent location for exploring mid-Wales - we wished we could have stayed longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suelyn55
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous old converted church”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

A fabulous spacious converted church. Great living and dining area. Lovely extras like open fire to light, a bottle of red wine provided and lots of tea and coffee provided. Lovely touch was the fresh daffodils. Comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms. Perfectly situated for Breccon Beacons, the coast and the lovely Hay on the Wye. Hosts extremely helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2017
Thank you and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole739...
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage, great amenities, perfect location”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Five of us stayed in the cottage, so we were at maximum occupancy. Plenty of room for everyone - I'm sure the place was bigger than it looked in the photos on the website! Pleny of kitchen bits and pieces, also a dishwasher and washing machine. The location was great as we could walk a few minutes into town for ffood, drinks and even a cinema ( which we visited). Parking worked fine for both our vehicles and the little outdoor patio was perfect for the one smoker in our party. Booked this as an alternative to a hotel or B&B and ended up bringing our three pensioner parents - excellent value for money. Super clean on arrival and the owners had even left us some wine, tea, coffee and biscuits. Lovely to feel so welcome. Many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space in the cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Carole, really glad you enjoyed yourself, hopefully we will see you again
cheers

adrian & Lorna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona M
Beauly, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage, full of character and well kitted out. Very clean and welcoming. Will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccie C
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed as a treat for my husbands birthday over new year with our 12 year old son. Adrian was so welcoming. The chapel inside was perfect. It was very clean and had every thing you require for a self catering break. The fire was laid ready and a complementary bottle of wine and biscuits provided. Lovely little touches that make it 5 star accommodation . We will be back!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAMSA Finland
Reviewed 30 April 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: The privacy, the decor furnishings, space, kitchen
Liked least: If I have pick one thing: the yard was quite small for so many c
Travelling group: Business colleagues
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham
Reviewed 4 February 2011 for a stay in December 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing