We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smithfield Farm B&B

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Smithfield Farm B&B
Ranked #4 of 15 Builth Wells B&B and Inns
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Smithfield Farm is situated a few miles outside Builth Wells, off a side road (now by-passed) and down a farm track. As such, it is well hidden, but really is "hidden treasure". With bedroom views over the Welsh hills, unbelievably spacious and well equipped bedrooms (comfy chairs, Sky TV, table and chairs, huge choice of coffee and tea, fresh homemake cake, biscuits and toffee jar, luxurious shower room and HUGE bed) this hotel really has the wow factor that many aim for (and many more fail). The breakfast is made to order, delivered to your time requirements and matches the quality of the room. AND, all at a very reasonable price. Although travelling solo on this occasion, would have no hesitation taking a partner there for a very impressive impact.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteDavies_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
31
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We booked as a last minute get away. From booking to leaving, the whole process, and stay was fantastic. We cannot recommend this B&B enough. We received a warm welcome from Glen and Nev. Chocolate cake, chocolates, and because it was Easter the added bonus of Easter Chics and chocolate eggs, beautifully presented in little baskets, were a real thoughtful treat. Well we are all kids at heart when it comes to chocolate aren't we! Beautiful tulips in the Bathroom with an Eater display really added the extra finishing touches to our room. Breakfast served in our room was lovely. The room exceptionally clean and all what girl could ask for. Facilities were outstanding, even having a CD player in your room with CD's or books to read. We are going to book again soon as it was the best weekend we have had and just what we needed... a relaxing break with beautiful surroundings and wonderful hosts. You will not be disappointed :0)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grantham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We arrived in the evening and had a very warm welcome from the owners, the room overlooked fields, the views were fantastic, as it was getting dark when we arrived the room was lit up with candles, there were fresh flowers, good selection of beverages, muffins, and sweets. The room was very clean the bed was so comfy had a great nights sleep. The freshly cooked breakfast was brought to our room in a basket, it was delicious. We intend to return in the summer months and enjoy an evening sitting outside on the patio taking in the great views.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoppingen, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

My daughter, Harriet, and I stayed here for a couple of nights whilst visiting my other daughter in Aber. We had the garden room, which was totally delightful. Harriet enjoyed the Sky television, the comfy bed and the sweets in the room. She was especially delighted when we got back from our day out to discover a packet of mini eggs on her pillow.

The room was very well equipped, with books to read, CDs to listen to, fresh flowers in the bathroom to sniff, just a few of the personal touches which made this even better than a home from home. Everything was spotlessly clean, the cat and the dog were both very friendly, and the breakfast was delicious.

Would we stay there again? Absolutely!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nibbles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Smithfield Farm.

Until last December I had only stayed at hotels and so the B & B experience is quite new. In December I stayed for five nights at Jericho Farm while my son was at the university on a vet medlink course. I really was very impressed by Jericho Farm and came to the conclusion that it would take a lot of beating. So, how does Smithfield Farm compare? Well ... if both farms were side by side the only way I could decide where to stay would be by tossing a coin!

When we arrived we were shown to our room by Glen who also carried my bag. The room was very clean, the bed comfortable and all very well equipped. There was a little fridge to keep things cool, delicious home made cakes, biscuits and sweets. Fresh flowers in the bathroom, books, wine glasses, CDs and a player, a skybox, extra heater, French windows to the garden and an excellent breakfast, brought to our room by Nev, the next morning. It was also very quiet with no noise to disturb a good night's sleep!

We stayed for two nights and I can recommend Smithfield Farm 100%

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 911euf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

What a magical place,everything you thought you would ever need and more,the meadow suite was wonderful,the care and attention fantastic,when we arrived the room was lit up with candles and fairy light,with fresh flowers and chocolate....the hosts were genuinely so helpful,breakfast delivered in baskets at a time to suit you,brilliant...xthey went out of their way to find us another night accommodation near by as they were full for the second night as we were visiting the winter fair in Builth Wells.

Room Tip: Any accommodation if fantastic,the meadow suite was special,phoning them direct might get you a bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tywysogesteithio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

After our (sadly) only one night spent here I wrote one word in the guest book...Perfect!

Is it possible to provide a perfect stay? I guess it depends on ones requirements and realistic expectations. Here is a purpose built guest room (we had the Meadow suite) which caters for the most discerning guests. A 6ft wide King size comfortable bed with sumptuous linen, lovely and tastefully decorated spotless room and en-suite. Flat screen TV and free wi fi, extra touches of fresh fruit and a selection of chocs.
Breakfast, beautufully prepared to order and delivered fresh to your room where you eat before a fabulous view. As a coffee officianardo I welcomed the french press and quality ground coffee, but for those others who prefer instant or tea, there is a grand selection of both; fresh milk is in the fridge. My praise for our hosts Nev and Glen is unbounded as this is the best experience we have had from any bed and breakfast internationally!! It does not get better than this!! Hotelliers take note. It can be done well; it just needs this level of passion and professionalism. Maybe Glen and Nev should start a training school! Malcolm S Stott

Room Tip: It does not matter, take your pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ybpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Builth Wells
0.7 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
8.4 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Everlook Guest House and B&B
0.0 mi away
Rhedyn Guesthouse
Rhedyn Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Cilmeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bronwye Guest House
Bronwye Guest House
#3 of 15 in Builth Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithfield Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithfield Farm B&B

Property: Smithfield Farm B&B
Address: Smithfield Farm Cwmbach, Builth Wells LD2 3RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Builth Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A scenic working farm, 2 miles from Builth Wells. The Meadow Suite & The Garden Room, all extras including breakfast served to your room in the morning. Ground floor rooms,own access door & patio area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smithfield Farm B&B Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing