We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“peaceful relaxing farmhouse”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Builth Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Scenic663...
1 review
“peaceful relaxing farmhouse”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

beautiful farmhouse, spacious rooms. very relaxing & quiet. The surrounding area is stunning, lovely walks to explore from the farmhouse. plenty of wood in shed for the burner.
very detailed informative guestbook as well

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
12 Jan 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review. All feedback helps. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Best regards
Steph
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: so well equipped
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Hello Alison,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave feedback on Carregywen farmhouse especially a review so positive.
Great to hear you got to see a snapshot of the farming world too, both children and adults are always curious when the big barn doors get opened!
Hope you all had a good journey home and we hope to see you all again in the not too distant future.
Best regards
Steph
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Balkrishn...
1 review
“Wonderful to stay with large family.”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Very clean and in quiet place. All amenities and all facilities provided that you'll need on a family holiday. Will definately come back and stay, should we plan holiday in wales in near future.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Carregywen Farmhouse and had everything you needed during your stay.
Thank you for taking the time to review and we hopefully look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcw182
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for what we needed”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Wonderful spot, Cut off but in touch surrounded by beautiful countryside and sheep! Easy to get to Builth for basics and great par 4 golf course. Lovely walks from house which was very well equipped - even we couldn't use all those towels! And the bottle of wine that greeted us was much appreciated. Went with friends who also loved our stay though one comment was that my husband's snoring was audible. Walls fairly thin but really not a problem for us. We were visited by lots of flies but it's in the countryside and they clearly liked our cooking! Thanks to the fly busting machine supplied plus fly papers we soon solved the problem. In fact, we all so loved our time there that we have already booked it again for 2017. And we're all quite fussy people. There are not many places in such wonderful surroundings, that have everything you need to keep everyone happy including 3 bathrooms!
A great stay. Thank you.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Flies
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review Carregywen Farmhouse and for your kind words. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and your 2017 booking is already in the calendar - See you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean M
sapcote
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spacious and charming accommodation, amazing location, highly recommended.”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Carregywen is a fantastic place for large groups or families where you can completely unwind. There were 8 of us and 4 dogs and there was plenty of room in spacious charming rooms and garden.
The views are stunning, the remoteness so peaceful. There are many red kites soaring past and there are beautiful river Wye walks within 20 minutes of the door via footpaths with its own numerous animal life on offer.
Facilities are all very clean and new, and recently decorated.
Our kids are already planning the next trip.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property layout (open plan)
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
12 May 2016
Thank you Sean for the positive feedback - always good! Good to hear the little people had a great time too especially on a first visit, they have no filter and are always the first to spot potential improvements, so even if they mentioned them and you want to advise directly please do. The more info we get, the better we can be. Thanks again for staying, thanks also for reviewing, it really does help future guests and we hope we'll see again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Date of stay: March 2016
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thank you for your review - It's always good to know guests enjoy the house and the views over the Epynt mountain range.
Glad you found the photo's helpful.
Hope to see you again in the not too distant future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jemalexa
Albrighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“An Amazing Christmas Break”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Me and my family stayed here for Christmas, 5 adults, 3 children and a dog. House was lovely and large. Great wood burner which soon warmed the whole house. Kitchen well equipped for our Christmas dinner. Everything you could possibly need. All bedrooms spacious and clean. In a great area near enough to shops but rural enough that the kids could make noise without having to worry about the neighbours. Overall Made our Christmas very special and will definitely be returning. Thanks so much

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.