We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for seeing mid Wales.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Builth Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maindee Holiday Cottage
Ranked #13 of 16 Builth Wells B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Great value for money, lovely location in the centre of Builth Wells. The owners were wonderful and could not do enough to make us more comfortable. The breakfast was large and hearty. This B&B is one to return to as the welcome was so good and we feel the owners were more like old friends by the time we left! If you've not visited Builth Wells before you're in for a treat of a unspoilt market town. My patrner and I we be back for sure...

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Maindee Holiday Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband & I recently spent a weekend staying in Maindee Guest House in Builth Wells. I can honestly say I found that Maindee offered exceptional value for money. The rooms were very clean and the cooked breakfast set us up for the day. The owners were so warm & welcoming & their local knowledge of the area was really good with them recommending some good places to visit during our stay. Its true when they say "there's a warm welcome in Wales" which certainly applies to Maindee Guest House

Room Tip: The rooms at the front (we stayed in room 4) was very light & sunny.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I stayed here recently with my husband and daughter for a weekend break and really liked it. The house has been recently renovated and was really comfy, perfect for our needs. The owners were very friendly too - I can recommend the cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I stayed with my Wife for one night and the Maindee B&B was absolutely perfect for our needs. We wanted a no fuss, clean & simple place to stay & with this we were very pleased.

We had a warm welcome from the owners & they could not do enough for us throughout our stay. The Maindee B&B offers everything you would need, from great local knowledge to Wi-Fi, TV lounge, tumble drier & ironing board, off road parking, etc.

Everything had a personal touch & we felt like we had made two good friends by the time we left. Well done guy's, keep up the excellent work.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

A friend and I stayed here for one night while on a cycling road trip. We arrived late and absolutely exhausted. The welcome and hospitality we received was absolutely exceptional - above and beyond what anyone could have expected. We were made very welcome and given much needed food and drink. The B&B is run by a really lovely young couple who had just taken over the business weeks earlier - they literally couldn't have done more for us. Our bikes were locked up in secure storage overnight and even our wet clothes were tumble dried for us. We needed an earlier than usual breakfast the next day - which they were happy to accommodate - quality fantastic too. Accommodation was of a very good standard - extremely clean and with a shared bathroom which again was of a high standard. I would highly recommend for anyone seeking good value accommodation in Builth Wells who wants an exceptionally friendly and personal level of service. Keep up the great work and we wish you well for the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjr999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Builth Wells hotels
0.5 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
62 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Everlook Guest House and B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bronwye Guest House
Bronwye Guest House
#4 of 16 in Builth Wells
115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Neuadd Henllan
Neuadd Henllan
#10 of 16 in Builth Wells
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Llanelwedd Arms Hotel
Llanelwedd Arms Hotel
#8 of 16 in Builth Wells
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maindee Holiday Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maindee Holiday Cottage

Address: 4 Park Road, Builth Wells LD2 3BA, Wales (Formerly Maindee Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Builth Wells
Price Range: £40 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic town of Builth Wells, on the edge of the Wye River, Maindee Guest house has free Wi-Fi, free parking, and a garden with barbecue facilities. Maindee offers rooms featuring tea and coffee making facilities and a flat-screen TV with FreeSat channels. In the morning, a full English breakfast is available, plus options of 4 different cereals, croissants, toast with jams and marmalades, yogurts, juices, and a pot of tea and coffee. There is secure storage for bikes and sports equipment. A 10-minute walk away from the guest house, guests can find The Royal Welsh showground with its many events during the year. The Brecon Beacons National Park is just over 30 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maindee Holiday Cottage Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing