We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Builth Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maindee Holiday Cottage
Ranked #11 of 15 Builth Wells B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Such a lovely double room and ensuite shower room, great location and I couldn't have had a friendlier welcome (or a better breakfast!), slept better than I have in ages.
Nothing was too much trouble and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it... Will be going back to Builth and staying there for sure.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was the second time we have stayed with Lee and Jo at their B&B home and it is really just that. Homely with a genuine welcome from two really nice people who are very much focussed on making your stay a pleasant one. It really is a refreshing change to have hosts who go out of their way without being intrusive. The rooms are pleasant and spotlessly clean and the breakfasts just set you up for the day and even an early morning breakfast doesn't seem to be a problem (sorry Jo). We shall be back. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WELSHTRAVELLER46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

we stayed one night here and we received great service and a good breakfast. It is a simple place and very well priced. A good stop over. Owner was kind enough to taxi us to a restaurant. A step beyond good service. Room was OK but needs some blinds. Naked frivolity a dodgy game in our room!
Good value and really nice people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

How nice to get a real warm welcome from a pleasant young couple who deserve to get all the praise and success in their career. We arrived tired and in need of a good night's rest. Our room was most pleasant although as another reviewer mentioned could do with a mirror and a second bedside light, otherwise all was excellent. Jo offered advice regarding evening meals and was helpful in suggesting shops my wife might like. The following morning Jo offered us freshly made croissants which she had just made, a lovely touch - my wife had just ordered a light breakfast the previous evening and Jo asked if she would like to have anything additional, nothing was too much bother, I had full welsh which Lee prepared perfectly.
I just wish this couple all the success but guess we will need to book early once their reputation is established.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Quite simply a fantastic bed and breakfast. A warm welcome, plentiful information on the local area, comfortable rooms, superb breakfast and value so good we felt a bit bad. I would struggle to truly convey how much I recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ked108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Very clean rooms, excellent and flexible breakfast service. Free wi-fi that works and Freesat multi channel TV are not what you normally expect in this price range. Perfect hosts and offstreet parking too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KendalDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I stayed for a week whilst on business but will definately come back with my family!

Maindee is prefect, comfortable and clean with freesat tv, free wifi and lots of parking which is a real bonus when you are here on business.

Breakfast in the mornings was second to none, as they cook everything fresh, you have none of that terrible cold beans and rock hard eggs that you so often find on hotel buffets.

Maindee is a 2 minute walk from the river which is a lovely walk in the evening, and on the other side is the town which has plenty of evening activity and food to keep you entertained.

I managed to have an afternoon off and explored the local damns and red kit feeding centre which was so pretty and interesting i must bring my family back to see it.

Thanks to Lee and Jo for such a friendly and welcoming stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Builth Wells hotels
0.7 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
833 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages
3.1 mi away
Rhedyn Guesthouse
Rhedyn Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Cilmeri
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bronwye Guest House
Bronwye Guest House
#4 of 15 in Builth Wells
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Everlook Guest House and B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maindee Holiday Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maindee Holiday Cottage

Address: 4 Park Road, Builth Wells LD2 3BA, Wales (Formerly Maindee Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Builth Wells
Price Range: £40 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic town of Builth Wells, on the edge of the Wye River, Maindee Guest house has free Wi-Fi, free parking, and a garden with barbecue facilities. Maindee offers rooms featuring tea and coffee making facilities and a flat-screen TV with FreeSat channels. In the morning, a full English breakfast is available, plus options of 4 different cereals, croissants, toast with jams and marmalades, yogurts, juices, and a pot of tea and coffee. There is secure storage for bikes and sports equipment. A 10-minute walk away from the guest house, guests can find The Royal Welsh showground with its many events during the year. The Brecon Beacons National Park is just over 30 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maindee Holiday Cottage Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing