We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service 😃👍”

Cosy Corner Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Builth Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated on the corner of the main street running through Builth Wells, built in 1760, 'Cosy Corner Restaurant' is a small family run business serving freshly prepared food, with ingredients sourced from local butchers, bakeries and the weekly fresh vegetable market. Not your typical menu, but with the variety to please most tastes, from breakfasts served until 12h00, lighter meals such as; pizza's, wraps / Panini's, jumbo brie wedge, baked potato, hummus, cawl or try the Portuguese Trinchado (steak strips in a creamy piri piri sause). Our favourite lunch time meals range from; Chicken Schnitzel, Welsh Lamb Stew, Welsh Rarebit, Trio of Sausage, Thai Curry, Bean & Veggie Stew, Plaice, Home roasted ham, egg & chips, Scampi, Haddock Fishcakes, Ham & Cheese platter, Beef & tomato or Spinach & mushroom lasagne. Our Award Winning 'Welsh Black' Fillet or Sirloin steaks, are delicious, sourced directly from the breeder and cooked in our special basting with a choice of sauces. We also use the steaks to offer a Prego roll / Mixed Grills and Surf 'n Turf dishes. Keeping with our South African heritage, the "Bobotie & Sosatie" dishes have become a favourite, with people coming from afar to enjoy. Offering popular kiddies meals from chicken strips, fish fingers, burgers, omelettes to pizza's and cheesy pasta (under 8 years, meal includes a free drink or ice-cream). Offering Welsh High Tea from 2pm, but best to book ahead so as not to be disappointed (call: 01982552795). With a wide selection of cakes & desserts, we're sure to satisfy most sweet tooth's. Being a small and intimate establishment, if you have any food allergies - we can cater for most vegan, gluten free and vegetarian tastes. We are licensed, and offer red / white wine, beers, ciders & lager - but if you bring in your own, we'll just charge you £1.00 per person corkage. We open in the evenings, mostly only on a Friday night from 6h30pm and closing the doors at 10h30pm, but occasionally in conjunction with the activities at the adjoining show-grounds, we do open sometimes on a Thursday and a Saturday evening as well.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service 😃👍”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Great homely cooked food and a fabulous warm and welcoming service... Will defiantly be visiting here again. The spinach and mushroom lasagne is out if this world great choice of food and a great dessert menu. Also loved the plaque i bought there, I look forward to my next visit. Keep up the good work.

Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    39
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice place with friendly people”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is my first visit, i was visiting some friends in the town. I had a very nice moment, the atmosphere is great and the staff is very friendly, you feel like you are at home. The traditional Welsh cakes was very tasty, one of the best i ever had.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alric129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delightful, friendly, and choice of gluten free !!!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Visited this delightful tea room for the first time today - very friendly service. The new owners have only been here 3 weeks, but seem to be very experienced. I am a Coeliac, so must follow a gluten free diet. This was not a problem to them at all and offered me a good choice of main course and desert/sweet. My husband and I both chose the warm apricot and carrot gluten free cake and we were offered single, double, whipped cream or custard to accompany the cake. The cakes were individually baked and I had a lovely pot of tea served in a china teapot whilst my husband had the decaf coffee. A great afternoon tea, but next time will make sure we go lunchtime to sample the delicious main courses. Great welsh cottage feel to the place,

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 5HILARY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair G, Owner at Cosy Corner Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for the review, we have now introduced a gluten free apple pie and raspberry cheesecake - so we look forward to seeing soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Poor quality food”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is my second visit but this is the first time I have eaten here. Very friendly service and liquid refreshments reasonably priced.
However jacket potato was not crisped at all and the alleged butter was hard to see- add cold tuna with minimal mayonnaise and for £4.50 was too overpriced- the plate was too small and 3 small leaves of salad was all that adorned the plate.
My partner had a 'toasted sandwich' which was only dry toast with ham and tomatoes (cold) - again overpriced at £3.50>
If the presentation of food was improved I would not have begrudged the amount paid. The food was lack lustre. This passing trade will not be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KentDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair G, Owner at Cosy Corner Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Sorry to hear about your bad experience. We have taken over the restaurant as of April 1st - and we look forward to receiving your custom again in order to make up for your poor past experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“I love visiting this place”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have been here many times over a number of years and love it. A beautiful little tea rooms which serves the most delicious home cooked food-soups, main meals and puddings and cakes. We have never been disappointed!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ConnieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cosy Corner Restaurant also viewed

Builth Wells, Powys
Builth Wells, Powys
 
Builth Wells, Powys
 

Been to Cosy Corner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing